04/05 gu patrol

Submitted: Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 21:58
ThreadID: 24031 Views:2160 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
hi all,
who can tell me what the difference is between the 04 build date to the 05 build patrol wagons?
nissan have an offer of $3000 free fuel for 04 build date wagons but they're still 05 compliance plated
thanks craigg

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:11

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:11
Both the same body shape?
Then go the 04, $3000 of fuel is $3000 in your pocket..

then again, resale on 5 will be better in long run.. you could probably squeeze dealers down to the same $, or $3k of fuel anyway
AnswerID: 116625

Follow Up By: craigg - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:18

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:18
yes i was thinking that but i'm told that both vehicles are plated 05 when they hit aussie. so the resale should be the same ,shouldn't it?
craigg
FollowupID: 372143

Follow Up By: craigg - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:24

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:24
tried the squeeze but deal is from nissan .
ie on 04 build got some extras plus few grand off and 3k fuel
on 05 build got some extras plus few grand off but no fuel on offer
FollowupID: 372147

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:27

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 22:27
Dogs testicles to the fuel offer, hit them for $$ off, or accessories instead.
FollowupID: 372148

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:50

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:50
In the good old days the age of the vehicle was determined by the compliance plate - in terms of resale value - not any more it is build date. So a 04 vehicle is in effect a one year old vehicle - when you sell it, it will be valued as a 04 car even though it is a 05 complianced car - so I would be looking for heaps more off than $3K worth of fuel - if that is the best deal you can do - go the 05 car. However if the intention was to keep the car for a long long time where resale value is not an issue go the o4 but with heaps more discount.
FollowupID: 372175

Reply By: Chaz - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 01:15

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 01:15
craigg,

If you remember back late last year, the government anounced a reduction in import duty on imported vehicles after the 1st of January 2005. I can't remember the exact amount, but I do remember them saying something like $3000 reduction on a $50000 vehicle. For this reason, the 2005 models should be cheaper, and Nissan wants to flog off the 2004 ones or they'll be stuck with them.
There is no difference in the car itself, only the price.
A mate of mine (4X4Treker) just picked up a 3.0L STL (05 Model) for under $54K on a lease, so there are good deals to be had.

Chaz
AnswerID: 116641

Follow Up By: bob2 - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:06

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:06
Chaz,

The reduction in import duty didn't apply to 4X4s.
FollowupID: 372170

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:43

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:43
Bob2,
Sorry, I wasn't sure of the facts. I thought is was on all imports.
FollowupID: 372174

Reply By: bob2 - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:02

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:02
craigg,

We traded our 2002 3.0lt turbo on the new model a couple of weeks before we left for Tassie.

With 150km on the clock we left towing our full van 20’ Heritage fully loaded.

We travelled a total of 4,453km in 3 weeks and used 639.3lts at a total cost of $747.25 and averaged 19.68MPG or 14.36 L/100kms. Approximately 3000km was at a low average speed in Tassie, top speed was probably 70KPH average was maybe 60KPH. Lots of hill work. Travelling up from Lake Paragana and through the Gog Range there was even some first gear work.

Things I liked:

I was surprised at the economy. It was 2-3MPG better than the old model.
The extra 12v auxillary sockets in the console.
I liked the warm up switch, which increases idle to about 1200RPM when in neutral.
The larger external rear vision mirrors didn’t require extensions and they both had the same magnification. (On the old model, one had magnification and one didn’t which made reversing using the mirrors difficult.)

Things I didn’t like:

I didn’t like the alarm that sounded when the driver’s door was opened when the engine was off and the key was in the ignition. I had that alarm disabled at the free 1000km service in Smithton.
I also didn’t like the new position of the sub tank switch; it is hard to see when both the new 12v auxiliary sockets are in use.

Differences between the models:

Must have different chassis because old towbar wouldn't fit.
Colour coded flares and bumpers.
Rear step is intergrated with bumper not ally.
More compartments in consol for storage etc.
AnswerID: 116654

Follow Up By: craigg - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:17

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:17
sounds like your pretty happy with your patrol and nothing realy wrong with it . you would have driven right past our house ,we live on the beach at wynyard tassie.
craigg
FollowupID: 372258

Reply By: craigg - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:43

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:43
well guys
i've gone and done it now (wiping sweat from brow)
signed up on a new 04 build ST 3.0,alloy bullbar,spotties,towbar,alloy roofrack,bonnet protector,rear air guide,tinted windows,mats,$3,000 free fuel,hard wheel cover,cd,dual airbags 7 seater etc etc. Everything i need (almost) to keep me happy for the next 15 years?
all the above was $58k less my trade in of $8.5k = $49,605 changeover
i worked out with a few of the prices they were offering on various vehicles that the real tradein value of my car was $6k so i assume i would have got the deal for around $55k-$55.5 with no trade in
i think this is a fairly reasonable deal and got really good finance at the dealer 7.05% fixed for term of loan, you gotta be happy with that,bank only offered 8.75% and i have all my business with them? mind you fees were couple hundred more
now al i have to do is wait for delivery
the end !!!!
craigg
thanks for all your help
AnswerID: 116789

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 03:01

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 03:01
craigg,

Well done mate, you won't be sorry. Make sure you have enough cash left over for a dtronic, and you'll have a top rig.

Chaz
FollowupID: 372295

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 23:51

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 23:51
Craigg, well done. I hope you have as much fun with your 2004 build as I do with my 2000 build 3.0 auto patrol. A few things to note... the CD player doesn't like bumps in the road and may skip a bit. The rear coil springs are cheap to replace and this is all I have done to improve the ride and level it out when the C/T is hooked up, and the rear doors don't seal real well so a bit of dust may get in when up north, mine leakes a tiny bit if left out in heavy rain.

All in all a mint off road vehicle, and it eats hills and open road.
AnswerID: 116822