WA incidents

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 00:02
ThreadID: 24036 Views:3420 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Lets have an investigation - into how we can close places, or charge a fee (not the start of the story the middle down)

Elderly man killed in national park fall

The elderly man was part of a tourist group visiting Mitchell Falls in Western Australia's rugged Kimberley region earlier today when he fell, a police spokesman said.

Rescue teams were on Monday on their way to the Mitchell River National Park, about 350km north-east of Derby.

Once there, the team is expected to retrieve the body of the man, who is believed to fallen from one of the many cliffs in the area.

"The ranger supposedly has been down and ... has confirmed he is deceased," the police spokesman said.

No other people are believed to have been injured.

Details of the victim's identity and nationality have not been released.
His death comes amid an investigation into adventure tourism in WA.

Last week, fears were held for a tour guide and 10 of his clients after they spent a near-freezing night on a rock ledge in WA's Karijini National Park.

The group was found safe and well last Monday morning, but the incident prompted Tourism Minister Mark McGowan to call for an investigation into the adventure tourism industry in WA.

Premier Geoff Gallop offered his condolences to the dead man's family.

"I don't know the details of this tragic incident but obviously we express our sympathies to the family and friends of the person who is deceased," Dr Gallop told reporters.

The premier said a close examination of adventure tourism and wilderness tourism was required.

"The whole question of adventure tourism and wilderness tourism needs analysis, so that we make sure we have got the proper framework, licensing and accreditation in place," Dr Gallop said.

"There is a growth in adventure tourism, and people are wanting a more authentic, wilderness type experience - and that does carry dangers.

"We have got make sure we have got our industry working properly, and the minister is going to review all of the circumstances and the policies that surround adventure tourism in WA."

The 115,300 hectare Mitchell River National Park lies in some of the most remote and inaccessible country in Australia and is generally only accessible in the dry season from May to October.

Mitchell Falls, a series of waterfalls and pools culminating in a deep gorge, is one of its biggest drawcards.

Spate of tourist mishaps in remote WA
April 2, 2004 - An SES rescue worker is killed and four people stranded after a flash flood sweeps through Oxer Lookout at the junction of Weano, Red, Hancock and Joffre Gorges in the Karijini National Park.

April 20, 2004 - Two people die within 24 hours of each other, when a 25-year-old man falls to his death into Dales Gorge in the Karijini National Park, the day after a 74-year-old NSW man dies while walking in the Purnululu National Park, in the Kimberley region.

April 12, 2005 - Two men perish on the edge of the Great Sandy Desert after their 31-year-old Land Rover breaks down, and they then make a desperate 14km trek to find water in the blistering heat.

May 21, 2005 - A German tourist lays injured for almost 12 hours on a cliff face and is then airlifted to hospital after falling five metres into Hancock Gorge in the Karijini National Park. She tumbles five metres, breaking her wrist.

June 13, 2005 - Ten tourists, mostly Japanese, are led out of a remote gorge in the Karijini National Park following a frantic overnight search.

June 20, 2005 - An 85-year-old man falls to his death in the Mitchell River National Park.

AAP

http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/elderly-man-killed-in-national-park-fall/2005/06/20/1119250924768.html

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 00:30

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 00:30
What's your point?

S, happens and you cannot stop the unprepared.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 116639

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 14:02
"S, happens and you cannot stop the unprepared"

No you're right, but the government will be more than happy to rap EVERYONE up in the same peice of bubble rap so that we can't hurt ourselves...

So no you can't stop the unprepred alone, you just have to stop EVERYONE.
FollowupID: 372210

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 17:14

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 17:14
Jeff has my point 100% correct..

What do investigations usually come out with - 30000000 recommendations to stop fun, people enjoying themselves, to stop the 2 others from hurting themselves....
FollowupID: 372230

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 01:09

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 01:09
Too late charging has not stopped people dieing I was there in 03 and it was free including camping everything now it is 50 bucks. I think the biggest issue is with people getting hurt on organised tours coz that is not a good look where as with the diy tourist you can put the blame back on them
AnswerID: 116640

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 06:39

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 06:39
We are all going to die some time. Lucky bugger made it to 85 then dies in one of the most spectacular places in the world. Could start a trend- 'One way tourism'
AnswerID: 116646

Reply By: Member - Matt- Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:12

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:12
Basically Truckster, you can't save people from themselves. I was an Adventure Tour Guide and have seen some incredibly stupid behaviour from the punters. Some have the idea that 'cos we're in a national park we'll be safe, like standing on a tiny ledge covered in gravel outside the look out rails at Joffre, all for a better photo but not considering for a minute they could slip or the whole lot gives way.We would go thru the "Miracle Mile" and have other people start following us with no idea of where or how long we'd be gone for, they were like a dog following you home, you tell 'em to go back but they refuse and watch from a distance until you complete a section, then follow again. There was German guy who did a forward dive from @3m into pool that I'd told him was shallow and don't dive, he surfaces and says "I dive shallow". Some girls didn't like peeing in the bush during the day so would try not to drink!!! They were fully aware of dehydration but were embarressed to pee. Whilst waiting for the water level to drop at the Victoria River bridge, we took the OKA back around to have a look at "the old crossing", every one was fully aware about the possibility of crocs, seeing that the water was so high and they could be moving around. A young girl with out saying a thing, jumps out of the OKA and walks off into the waist high grass to get a good photo of the truck... I could see her life flashing before my eyes...
You can not make the out doors idiot proof
A seventy year old man breaking his hip at Kmart doesn't get a mention, but do it at Karijini and your story will be beamed around the world, followed by an inquiry by a bunch of red tapey boys who've never even been to the park.
With regards to the lost tour group at Karijini, you don't really get lost in the gorges, but you do run out of day light, and the nights can be beyond cold. I think the guide made a good decission by staying put at night, 'cos if any thing happened while trying to climb out in the blackness, the media would have gone to town on it.I'm sure that the guide knew if he could get the group back to camp, the size of the incedent would have been halved, and it would take a big swallow of pride to sit there all night. I have talked to some one at Karijini who used their illumiating watch to find hand and foot holds while climbing out at night time... unprepared again
When you go on an adventure, don't complain when you get one
Cheers matt
AnswerID: 116677

Follow Up By: bundyman - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:35

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:35
Absolutely spot on Matt.

Where is it going to end.....???

Hughesy
FollowupID: 372183

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 14:31

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 14:31
Matt,
I agree with all you have said, my only bitch is that when 'S' happens then some self important petty official makes a big song and dance and then the pollies want to legislate to prevent something else happening even if it's the persons own fault.
Isn't it about time we were made responsible for our own actions.
Well that's my gripe.
Regards Dodg.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 372219

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 17:16

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 17:16
"Isn't it about time we were made responsible for our own actions."

Dodger = 100% agree.. thats my point.. they will have a $2,000,000 investigation, come up with recommendations, and charges, to protect 1 person out of 10,000,000 that are safe
FollowupID: 372231

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:47

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:47
Slow day again Mr?

As most have said...you cant save people from themselves.

I watched Japanes tourists at Albany walk outside the safety zones to get a better photo of The Gap. Fall in there and you are history.

Having recently travelled through many National Parks in WA I would consider them very well managed providing the opportunity for all kinds of activities. Tourism is Big Business in WA and SA and NT and people are like ants in the popular places. Accidents are bound to happen.

When coming out of the bush after seeing isolated vehicles in the outback one is staggered to walk in to Yulara Village to see coach loads of tourists swarming all over the place.

Not much is closed in WA as we were able to access all the places on our list.

So don't hit the PANIC button yet and abort the flight. There is lots to see out there.
AnswerID: 116687

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:56

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:56
G'day Willem,

are there any barriers at the Natural Bridge now? I remember being stunned as I watched a Father position his kids (three under ten) on the Bridge, then walk back off it to a distant spot for a "great" photo. I was too shocked to speak.

The Gap? yep, one of my favourite "buzzes." I could stare at it all day marvelling at the power of the waves and the "what if" factor! The Torndirrup National Park is certainly a beautiful yet frightening spot. Those Salmon Holes have claimed lives by just a quiet surge up those enticing sloping rocks......

sorry all, reminiscing.........
FollowupID: 372189

Follow Up By: cloughie - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 15:17

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 15:17
We were in Karijini recently. Could not believe the lack of safety railing when you consider how dangerous this place is.What railing there is, is old and ricketty.Only time we saw a ranger was the one who tracked me down( TO THE BOTTOM OF A GORGE MIND YOU ) because i accidently knocked over a campsite marker whilst reversing in the CT. I did the right thing and dug it back in but it was not in deep enough. The gorge where the group went missing should only be open to tour groups that can prove their abilities to explore and guided by an experienced ranger. Afterall you just cant roll up and climb Mt Everest.
FollowupID: 372224

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 17:20

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 17:20
We charted a small Cessna and flew over the Gap and Natural bridge, the piolet had some fun and took us totaly 90 degrees over the gap, it looks very different with your nose pressed against the glass at 1000 feet!

Albany's georgous ain't it. I was born in Mt Barker, my dad lived in Albany for years, and my family has farms all around that area, you just gotta love it down there!
FollowupID: 372233

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 18:00
Hi Bushfix

No there aren't any barriers stopping people from walking on to Natural Bridge. The pathway ends at a barrier lookout though and you are supposed to use common sense and not wander off the beaten track. Common sense is not always prevalent though :o)

Hi cloughie

I was in Karijini about 7 weeks ago and the places we went to were well guarded by sturdy railing. This included Fortesque Falls, Joffre Gorge and Weano Gorge.

Hi Jeff M

Yes we enjoyed that part of the world very much. So green it hurts your eyes! Spent a night at Point Anne in Fitzgerald NP and saw the whales blowing their plumes of spray in the bay. Quite remarkable plant life out there as well. Drove the Hamersly Heritage Track through Hopetoun and on behind the dunes to Esperance.
FollowupID: 372238

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 19:20

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 19:20
Clougie- rickety railing? I dont remember that.
I do recall plenty of signs warning about fall risks and rock falls proceeding beyong the designated touristy lookout posts, tracks and areas though.
The ranger there- only one full time ranger there as far as I'm aware. I only saw him once in the 3 days I was in karijini, and I congratulated him on his efforts to cling to a bloke for long enough to ride out flash flooding a few days earlier.
FollowupID: 372248

Follow Up By: cloughie - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 18:35

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 18:35
The track down to Fortescue Falls had rusty iron tube secured by concrete filled rusty 200ltr drums.Water had eroded the dirt from under the drums and they were rocking when weight applied. Further down the same track there was ringlock fencing secured by a couple of bent star pickets. I call this rickety. We were there in April.
FollowupID: 372435

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 18:57

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 18:57
I accept your info cloughie. Due to physical restraints I was not able to climb down to the Falls and have no knowledge of the conditions down there.

I did see European backpackers tourists walking to the fall in thongs. Silly buggers!
FollowupID: 372441

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:36

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:36
When I was up in Karijini 2 years ago a similar thing nearly happened to us (Getting stuck down a gorge all night. (Would off been nobody else fault but)

We went parst a Sign saying (Do not proceed unless you have climbing gear, Notified a ranger and have a map). But being young and stupid we thought will be right. WE all had climbing and abseiling experience and had gear back at the 4WD but though we will give it a go any way.

Got through some pretty dangerous sections and down waded through some cold-water before not knowing which way to go, as it was getting close to dusk we turned back.

Now on the way back me and a mate both slipped and to the shock of the 4 others we fell and luckily ended up in the water below us. (As I felt I was beginning to go, as you do I claw at everything to try to save myself before plummeting into the water. With the help of the others and some spider walking up a wall we managed to get out. The rest of the climb along very smooth and now slippery rock thanks to my now wet boots, was extremely neve racking, and a few times I feared for my life if I slipped.

Now the point of this- as we got back pars the warning sign 2 British back packers were going down the same way. Me and a mate both dripping wet, I said to them don’t go down there without adequate equipment it is very dangerous and me and that bloke have just fallen when negotiating a section and were lucky not to have been injured.

There response was oh OK, as they continued down basically ignoring what I had just said, At that point both me and other friend stoped them and very sternly advised agenised going down there as well as pointing out the warning sign to them again, then they finery turned around. Joining us for the walk back to the top.

Now what people have to realise is these placers are remote wilderness reserves and there are huge dangers involved when visiting if you don’t obey the signs. I would hate to see placers like this with guide rails all over and fences stoping people exploring, Now we did not use common sense and almost payed the price for it, but is that the national parks fault HELL NO. We sore the warning when entering the gorge and the agene when proceeding into the high level section and ignored it.
AnswerID: 116786

Reply By: Niko - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 00:20

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 00:20
I know for a fact you are wrong about Red Tapeys not going to a National park..... I have seen them wandering around wearing their Italian suits in Kings Park in Perth CBD. :O
AnswerID: 116826