Trailer shockies – another angle?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 09:43
ThreadID: 24042 Views:4701 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hi guys,

Made the decision to fit shock absorbers to the trailer and being an inquisitive mind got to wondering about the mounting angle. Appreciating that a lot of variables are at play with this question just wanted to focus on the angle.

Not being an engineer I have worked out that a shockie mounted perpendicular to the axle would work a lot harder than one mounted horizontal, which would provide no dampening at all. I’ve looked at a lot of trailers and there is no consistent approach, this I presume has more to do with lack of knowledge, cost, available parts used rather than optimum performance. So based on this, I presumed that the closer I get to a horizontal position the less dampening will occur.

I want to deal in only a forward or rearward angle installed on a standard leaf spring system. It is a retro fit and some aspects are fixed (such as the mounting possibilities). It occurred to me that at some stage the angle becomes so fine that dampening becomes minimal.

My questions are is it beneficial to have even minimal dampening rather than none? Is there a point of zero value (say that a 45 degree angle offer a 50% dampening – only guessing, sure it is more complex than this)?

Anyway any input would be appreciated.

Kind regards
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 10:56

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 10:56
Why not just fit rebounders to the leaf springs and forget the shocks??
AnswerID: 116671

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 13:49

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 13:49
Hi Moggs,

Your probably right and I am a believer in the KISS principle. But a notable ex GMH suspension engineer member of this forum convinced me on shocks. Took some convincing I'll tell you but his argument was a good one that I could not ignore.

Kind regards