Koala Brand Camper Trailer

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 15:55
ThreadID: 24108 Views:6467 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
I am looking into purchasing a second hand camper trailer. I have only been researching this for a few weeks now. I want to use the camper trailer to travel around Oz up to the Kimberleys and Around the Cape etc. I have a dual cab Holden Rodeo. I am looking at purchasing a Koala brand Camper trailer but have found it very difficult to find any information on these. They are made in Bundaberg Qld. Has any one had any experience with these? Would A Holden rodeo be enough to pull it? Would a roof top tent be a better option? How important is a Tregg type hitch?

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 16:17

Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 16:17
Hi Kalyn, I have a Koala Camper Trailer for 3 yrs & have found it suitable for my needs. It has been on the beach (Noosa North Shore) & other trips north of Brisbane. Also been out through Flinders Ranges & the Corner Country. I've made some changes to the original trailer,ie second battery, 80l fuel, 12v water pump, 12ft awning, another gas bottle & inner spring mattress. I'm about to put brakes on it & upgrade the springs & axle.
Not sure where you live, but they also have a show room in Brissie (Slacks Creek). I have a 2002 Rodeo dual cab & all works well.
The roof top tent - I don't know
Tregg hitch - I just have the standard "ball hitch" & I have not had any problems.
Anything else you want to know just ask or email me.

just crusin & smelling the flowers

1. At Halls Creek (Is he really lost?)
2. East of Cameron Cnr

AnswerID: 117079

Follow Up By: Kalyn - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 08:19

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 08:19
Hi John

Thank you for your reply. You said you are going to up grade the axle and springs....what to? What do you think is needed. I want to go from Tasmania up to Nth Queensland.
How important do you think brakes are on the trailer?

Thanks Kalyn
FollowupID: 372977

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:19

Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:19
Kalyn,

I tow two different trailers one has a tregg coupling and the other a ball.

I have had both off road the one with the tregg is my camper and has been to some pretty amazing places the other is a light weight 7x4 box and has been for one run through a 4x4 track at Menai (sw Syd).

I have never had a problem with the tregg coupling but the ball has been replaced on the other trailer. I broke it and the trailer jumped off. Not fun, I would recommend the tregg coupling. As for the Koala I don't know it. I have a Trak Shak and have not seen anything that comes close to it for what I do with the family I have.

AnswerID: 117093

Follow Up By: ozidave - Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:24

Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:24
Duncs, sorry to steal the thread, but i'm looking at getting a Trak Shak for the family incl 3 kids. I gather you are happy with it. Are there any options , modifications or other things you'd recommend for a Trak Shak?
cheers,
FollowupID: 372571

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:36

Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:36
Hi Duncs and Ozidave, sorry to jump in, we have a TrakShak too, bought it second hand, and love it for our family [2 kids - 4 & 5] Al at the moment is putting water tanks underneath, is installing a 70Lt Waeco, a front box to accommodate solar panels, and is putting a drawer system in it to save his wife's back...hahhahaa...it's a great unit.

Lyn
FollowupID: 372573

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:43

Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 17:43
Ozidave we have a TrakShak and 3 kids and they are great. There are a load of modifications you can get done that aren't even listed on the site. Feel free to ask for more info off thread if you want.

Glenn
Ps gday Lyn!
FollowupID: 372575

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 18:02

Thursday, Jun 23, 2005 at 18:02
gday Glenn!
FollowupID: 372576

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Jun 24, 2005 at 17:57

Friday, Jun 24, 2005 at 17:57
As I said earlier mine is pretty much the way I bought it (new in 1996).

I have never put tanks underneath it cause I have never seen the need and having dragged its guts a few times I am a little scared of leaving some expensive gear either lying on the road or hanging from the underside of the camper. I also like the idea of not losing all my water if I do manage to get a hole.

That is just me. If buying new get them to put in as many windows as possible.

That's all
FollowupID: 372717

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Jun 24, 2005 at 18:14

Friday, Jun 24, 2005 at 18:14
I think now they come standard with those huge tropical windows, that go to the floor. I agree with you (Duncs) about the water, plus its a lot easier to take jerries off for recovery, or even keep your drinking water and water you get thats just suitable for washing seperate.

The best modification we got was the added height to the "suitcase" part. It amazes me everytime we pack it up with all the bedding and pillows in place.
FollowupID: 372722

Follow Up By: Kalyn - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 08:21

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 08:21
Hi Dunc

Thank you for your reply. How expensive would you think it would be if I bought a second hand trailer with a ball caoupling and got it changed to a treg type? Is this possible?
FollowupID: 372978

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:03

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:03
Hi Kalyn,

It is a simple job to swap them over, they are usually bolted on.

I would only be the cost of the Treg which I couldn't even guess at as I have never bought one except the one that came on the Trak Shak.

FollowupID: 373059

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jun 25, 2005 at 13:12

Saturday, Jun 25, 2005 at 13:12
The follow ups were getting too long.

The other thing we have added is an extra single mattress.

I bought a piece of high density foam rubber and the wife made a callico cover for it. This is what we use for the third child to sleep on. It goes either in the little cubby under the fold out section or just on the floor if I am not putting the cubby on. They have modified the cubby now and it is much better than the original.

Even with the extra mattress and bedding ours still folds easily.

Helping to fold the Trak Shak is something my kids have done ever since we got it. My youngest was only two back then, she helped fold it by sitting on top next to the catch while Daddy did it up. She is even more help now. It's the oldest one who I have more trouble finding when there are jobs to be done now.

AnswerID: 117394

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 09:02

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 09:02
Hi Kalyn.
The only reason for the upgrade is the weight. The adjustments I've done to the CT has put the total weight well over 750kg so require brakes if only for insurance purposes & will upgrade springs etc to a higher weight load rating. You'll have no problem with Tassie to Qld, as I said I did a lot of rough dirt roads last year & had no problem. I'm doing Tassie next year & will take the Koala over on the boat.
just crusin & smelling the flowers

1. At Halls Creek (Is he really lost?)
2. East of Cameron Cnr

AnswerID: 117646