first time on a track

Submitted: Friday, Jun 24, 2005 at 23:55
ThreadID: 24163 Views:2324 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Hi to all,

I would like some guidance and tips if you can regarding the necessary knowledge for undertaking a track for the fist time. I have drove Hilux's in the UK and had fun on old mining slag heaps and fields etc but nothing as serious or as remote as the Aussie landscape.

I live in Perth and would be looking for something easy to tackle at first and take my apprenticeship from there. I have just bought a 2001 troopy to take the family and friends out for days and breaks, and would be looking for 'localish' tracks, the big journey's will come eventually.

I need to know about reporting to rangers of my whereabouts or whoever i need to tell, permits, good 4wd clubs in south perth or any reasonably priced training courses, the ability of my vehicle, and any other tips regarding jacks, winches, or anything. I'm new to this and willing to listen and learn from anybody with decent advice.

Regards

Dean
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Jun 25, 2005 at 08:12

Saturday, Jun 25, 2005 at 08:12
Dean,

The BEST advice I can give you is to join a club, preferably one that has a Driver Awareness Program built in to the joining process/fee. When we bought ours a couple of years ago, I wasn't keen on the club thing, but bowed to some pressure from my SWMBO. Honestly the best thing I have ever done! We learnt how to drive it, go on plenty of day trips and weekend camps, have made some very good friends along the way and most importantly we are still here in one piece!! Search the club listing on ExplorOz, or click here for the national four wheel drive association They have links out to clubs in each state on their home page and you may find there's one in your area.
Enjoy!!!

AnswerID: 117368

Follow Up By: Banjo - Saturday, Jun 25, 2005 at 10:14

Saturday, Jun 25, 2005 at 10:14