Earth strap on nissan

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 23:20
ThreadID: 24211 Views:1555 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Hi all.

Just wondering where you would fit the chassis to body earth strap on the 1999 Nissan GU to stop the sub tank light coming on.
Can I put it anywhere or is there a certain spot to put it.

Reply By: sevo - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 07:15

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 07:15
Give me your email and will send pic of the location
cheers sevo
AnswerID: 117637

Follow Up By: Dwayne - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 09:34

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 09:34
Hey Sevo.
It is dtfazz18@hotmail.com

Thanks heaps.
Dwayne
FollowupID: 372983

Follow Up By: angler - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 16:39

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 16:39
Servo,

Me too please. gu2u2@hotmail.com

Pooley
FollowupID: 373055

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 00:28

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 00:28
Hi Sevo,

If you don't mind I would like a copy of the pic as well please.
carlislefamily@iprimus.com.au

Thanks in advance,
Hugh
FollowupID: 373117

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 07:23

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 07:23
Ahhh...

For a minute, I was thinking you were asking about one of those anti static straps, like the ones that touch the road. Was going to suggest to maybe try one of Willies mudflaps, with a bit of fencing wire....
AnswerID: 117639

Follow Up By: Chaz - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:56

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:56
Wolfie,
When are you going to update your website with a few pics of your trip?
Chaz
FollowupID: 372991

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:20

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:20
Not to sure, I have just finished reloading some photos which I had lost on a crashed drive. The other thing is my time, which I am finding at this time of the year, is at a premium.

My web site has also changed, I have my own domain name now, and web space ( 200 MB ).

iansblog.lonewolf.id.au

Wolfie
FollowupID: 373063

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:21

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:21
thats a bit unfair wolfie you know willem left this morning and has no reply
lololololol
FollowupID: 373064

Reply By: Chaz - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:54

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:54
Dwayne,
I fitted mine under the gear shifter area where there are a few threaded studs protruding out, and attached the other end to the gearbox crossmember on a existing bracket bolt. That way it's in the centre of the vehicle and up out of the way.
Chaz
AnswerID: 117661

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 19:51

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 19:51
G'Day Dwayne,

Just about to do this myself, was considering putting it from the battery tray bolt, where the original one is, down to the chassis near the steering box. Looks nice and easy and should work, I think!

Rolande
AnswerID: 117777

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 09:10

Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 09:10
Bit off subject maybe! ..Remember that on "jump starting",most of my vehicle manuals state to put (red) positive lead onto + positive (red) terminals of sender/receiver batts..However,for the (black) - jumper lead,clip onto sender (donor) batt terminal.but,do not put other cable clamp onto vehicle - neg terminal..Put that clamp onto a good"earth" point of the motor (the zinc plated lifting eyes etc)..Before putting above into practice,read the instructions for your rig.Mistakes can be expensive,or if out in the bush at the time,distasterous..Helps? RockyOne (Adopt the habit of fitting black earth lead first,then,the red one)
AnswerID: 118201