4.2TDi Patrol or 4.2NA STD L'Cruiser with aftermarket Turbo

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 12:45
ThreadID: 24255 Views:3093 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
GU 4.2TDi Patrol or 100 series 4.2NA STD L'Cruiser with aftermarket Turbo

What would you go for if buying brand new and why???
What would make a better tow vehicle (1800kg boat)?

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:45

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:45
tt 12,

They'll both make top tow vehicles, make sure the aftermarket turbo job is a good one, being after market it might have a few more horses than the GU.

Which ever vehicle you like the most will be fine.

I'd pick the GU, but thats just cause I love'em....:-)

Browny
AnswerID: 117908

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:54

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:54
Why on earth would you buy a brand new Cruiser then pay to put an aftermarket turbo on it , and effectively say goodbye to any warranty ???
AnswerID: 117911

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 15:07

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 15:07
Hi tigertough12,

I looked at these options when getting my GU in 2003. One thing I couldn't get past was shelling out big dollars for a 4.2na cruiser, then spending more dollars only to then have no warranty on it. The toyota salesman told me if I put a turbo on then no warranty on the drivetrain as well as the engine.

While turboing has been done on the toyota 4.2 before, its not the best candidate for a turbo and there are numerous reports of blown/cracked heads and pre-combustion chambers from over boosting. I looked at turboing my 80 series 1HZJ but decided against it, went the extractors and 2 1/2" exhaust route instead. Reckon i got ~10-15% increase, but nowhere near what a turbo who have done.

I looked at the GU 4.2TD and 3.0TD and for various reasons went the 3.0TD. Its a decsion I have been happy with reckon I made the right choice for me, but there will always be those who prefer the 4.2TD over the 3.0TD. Either way, both are good vehicles.

As for the better tow vehicle, the toyota 4.2na is a snail, my van weighs 1.6T and while my 80 series 1HZJ would happily tow it, never a problem worrying about speeding fines! The 3.0TD tows SO much better than the 4.2na its hard to believe the difference. I reckon the 3.0TD in stock form tows better than the GU 4.2TD, but if you fit a big exhaust and dump pipe then the GU4.2TD would be the pick of the crop.

AnswerID: 117916

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 19:08

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 19:08
good onya' captain could'nt have put it better me self.
regards toohey
FollowupID: 373210

Follow Up By: babs - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:04

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:04
Here, here
FollowupID: 373665

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 23:54

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 23:54
Go the Nissan.
Ive bin there n done that.
have a 4.2td nissan with the turbo, pump and exhaust done. Result the 3 ltr jobs can out excelerate me but on the long hills the 4.2 can out pull them.
The van below weighs in at 1.8t. It handles it with ease even up and down steep tracks.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 117994

Follow Up By: babs - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:07

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:07
Hey dodger whats the power stats on your 4.2 now, have one myself new GU IV curious?
FollowupID: 373667

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 15:23

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 15:23
Increase of 20kw Power and 180 newts.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 373702

Follow Up By: babs - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 21:20

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 21:20
Hey Dodger, its babs here thats big power upgrade, would'nt that whip off the 3L t/d all round?
FollowupID: 373856

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 21:27

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 21:27
Babs ,
not realy as the big six will not rev as quick as the 3l four, it still needs time to wind up but the low down torque is great when towing.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 373859

Reply By: JamieMac - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 09:48

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 09:48
Agree with comments above re: Cruiser and aftermarket turbo etc. I have 2004 4.2Tdi Patrol. Was a slug off the line especially in comparison to the 3.0litre but it was fine when it got wound up. Then I put on a 3" exhaust and dump pipe. With that alone and no other work it is a much better performing vehicle without the warranty concerns.

The turbo/fuel pump mods may help further but once again at some risk to the warranty. Admittedly they are not likely to pick up on fuel pump tinkering but the machining out of turbo would get their attention if a rebuild was needed. However, I must was thinking about going down that path until I changed the dump/exhaust ($660 from MTQ).

Jamie Mac
AnswerID: 118013

Follow Up By: babs - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:13

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:13
Hey Jamiemac im a bit slow, whats a dump pipe?

Cheers Babs
FollowupID: 373668

Reply By: trendy - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 13:13

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 13:13
Tigertough12,
As an owner of both the vehicles you mentioned I feel the better option is to go with the vehicle you don't have to modify mechanically to get the job done to your satisfaction. The cruiser I owned from 99 - 01 was a sound vehicle allbeit slower than my current 4.2t patrol. the 5th gear has been a problem for towing parties in both vehicles but the patrol also has a habit of running very WARM (even hot) when working hard.
In summary If you can live with a non turbo cruiser power wise I would be more tempted to go Toyota's way because of their better warranty backup (I have had heaps of trouble with Nissan) and less vehicular problems. Not saying you will be trouble free with either, but if you do have trouble Toyota will be more obliging in my experience. Having said that I will not be changing my now sorted and worked 4.2 turbo Patrol. Confused? Me too :-)))
For me I just needed more grunt for towing BIG loads.
Good luck and kind regards
Trevor.
AnswerID: 118053

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 22:24

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 22:24
bugger the new vehicle they are a rip off If I was getting new vehicle I would be looking at a 3 year old one (heeeeeeps of them) save a packet and you dont lose your new car warranty when you whack a turbo on it
AnswerID: 118155

Reply By: tigertough12 - Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 14:39

Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 14:39
Went fowles auctions (melbourne) yesterday and there was 9-off 4.2NA STD L'Cruiser (02-03) with 55000-78000km on the clock and all with the following extras:
Bullbar
Winch 12000lbs
Tow Bar
Cargo Barrier
Snorkel

All got sold for between $28000 to $32000

I must say that is awesome value, all you need to do is add a suspension lift, new rims + tyres and a fridge.

Is that great value or can I get better or should I be mindful of getting it from the auctions?

ps. thanks for all your replies
AnswerID: 118265

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 15:26

Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 15:26
gotta make sure they are not miners but the bb and winch would suggest not but could be exploration vehicles. That is ok as the utes do the grunt work and the bosses cruise around town and out to the leases to check up on the plebs (plenty of highway miles) could also come with plugs for fridges and power cords for hf radios. Best value you can hope for would be first successful bid after the dealers give up
FollowupID: 373440

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 16:06

Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 16:06
HI ALL , Whats the gaff about warranty if you own a TOYOTA you dont need warranty because nothing goes wrong,nothing has gone wrong with mine in 500,000. No clutch change No injector pump change. After market turbo fitted at 300,000klms but 30% boost only PERFECT==
AnswerID: 118275

Follow Up By: tigertough12 - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 14:52

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 14:52
Bill, what brand turbo did you put in it and how much did it set you?
Also, did you change your exhaust as well?
FollowupID: 373592

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 16:56

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 16:56
Hi Tigertough12. Fitted a garret turbo purchased from a local shop fitted myself and changed the muffler and bigger system 2.5" goes great. your welcome
AnswerID: 118431

Reply By: babs - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:28

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 23:28
Hi Tigertough 12, man i know what your going through. Just sold my 02 hilux 4by and was tossing up over cruiser or patrol, same scenario std 4.2 cruiser or 4.2 td patrol (new). All the guys on this sight helped me heaps, thanks again guys, I went the GU td 4.2 can't compare std 4.2 96klw/280nm to Patrol 4.2td 116kw/360nm ....Mate I love it...Plus Nissan has the free give aways at the moment. Check out my story more recently heading (4.2 GU IV YEEEEHAAAA) I put it to the test.
9hrs driving from Sydney to Vic some big hills pretty much fith gear the whole way, did not drop under 110klm even on the steepest hills occasionally dropping bak to fourth still maintaining that speed... YEEEEEEHAAAAA!!!!! (was not towing but had vehicle loaded normal camp gear etc.)
AnswerID: 118503