Supercharged Eaton on GQ TB42 Patrol...Advice

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 09:09
ThreadID: 24368 Views:12551 Replies:5 FollowUps:25
Gday all,

My main experience has been in the world of diesel and turbos (glad I'm not buying diesel at the moment $1.17 in Brizzy) so I'm looking for a bit of advice.

I'm currently looking at a GQ Patrol TB42 manual white with bullbar, hayman reece, steps, roofrack. It has 111,000 genuine k's with log books (private sale). The old fella who owned it used a turbo engineering in Victoria to put on a M90 Eaton supercharger running 5psi, the same on the Holden Calais. Haven't seen the receipts but apparently cost 8k to do the job(obviously want to see them). Runs a 350 Holley (easy to work on) and has gas which is mandatory whilst running Holley's...no good offroad otherwise.

It is one owner, apparently seen minimal offroad work and fisholined since new. Looked good in photos, have plenty of people to look at it in Vici so I'll organise that soon. They want 12,500 or nearest. Reckon it's a good deal?

Cheers guys and gals...

Chris.

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 09:57

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 09:57
G'Day Chrisso,

Mate sounds fine but what are you going to do with ya self if you dont have to do eng mods............?

You'll have to put all of your time and effort into a six inch lift with some rock crawler gears etc.............:-)

Browny
P.S. Fitted the new 2inch Kings & Konis during the week, the rig doesn't look as tuff anymore but still looks good.
So to all, now have a nearly new 4 inch EFS kit for sale only done about 4000k
AnswerID: 118523

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:31

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:31
Might have some change left yet mate! ;-)

Still can play with maybe putting an efi kit on, needs 3 inch exhaust and extractors. Tickle charger up to 8psi maybe, then your right mate, got the 5 inch kit ordered..well actually free, the missus did some bookeeping for our mate that you met (fourby store) so getting suspension, lightforce, snorkel and compressor for free. (She did a few hours there, that's for sure!)

Still not positive yet till it's looked at but feeling pretty good so far. Then I get to put on the rest...but over an extended period. Bl$$dy renos!

Chris.
FollowupID: 373689

Reply By: trendy - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 09:57

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 09:57
Chris,

I would not be at all suprised that the supercharger cost 8k, I looked at supercharging a diesel 100 series and they would not even start the job without 7k deposit and the rest when they finished the job how much more depended on what probs they encountered along the way. Good mob to talk to at Brendale here in Brissy can go back through my homework on the process to get the mobs name if you want. Don't know prices for this vehicle but that sounds attractive considering what's been done to the vehicle. Good luck.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 118524

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:33

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:33
Who were you talking too at Brendale...are they the street behind southpine road with the dyno?

Would appreciate some info. Don't know alot about superchargers...

chris.
FollowupID: 373690

Follow Up By: trendy - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:33

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:33
As nudent said under this, CAPA are good for knowledge but that's std call for us. The mob at Brendale are Stealth Superchargers on Kremzow Rd PH: 38811018. I did not deal with them as I went down the road of GU turbo 4.2 as opposed to charging my 100 series, so I can't tell you if they are good to deal with but they did know their stuff.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 373695

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:56

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:56
Thanks mate...had a look at the capa website...they get impressive figures using M90 on GU 4.5. 145 pre to 245 post charger.
FollowupID: 373697

Follow Up By: trendy - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 15:37

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 15:37
For sure it is a serious power increase but that was one of the problems I thought I might run into with the cruiser, as I was already haveing gearbox problems in standard trim, so imagine what an extra 50 or 60% power would do to the gearbox.
Trevor
FollowupID: 373704

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 09:45

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 09:45
As far as I know the gearbox in the TB42 is the same as the TD42...correct me if I'm wrong. If it is, I have no concerns. I was running 14psi with 165hp in a previous GQ with no probs.
FollowupID: 373765

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:50

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:50
14psi boost? it would have needed a spacer between the head and block to reduce the compression ratio a bloody big bit
FollowupID: 373791

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 18:07

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 18:07
turboon the last GQ, not supercharger nudey...remember, I know noooooossssssing about superchargers!
FollowupID: 373813

Reply By: Nudenut - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:05

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:05
i thought the blowers on holden were a belt driven turbo (impeller type, meaning not positve displacement) where as the Eaton is a positive displacement. Could be wrong but.....

If you need info try talking to capa
AnswerID: 118527

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:34

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 10:34
Dunno nudey, that's why I'm askin'.

Reckon it'd go good? Only driven a TD42 with belt driven supercharger. Went pretty good.
FollowupID: 373691

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 16:30

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 16:30
Gday the m90 Eton is a roots type blower, where as the capa is a turbo supercharger....lp gas 1 in Melb used to fit the to cruisers...he wanted 8k back then...probably did patrols aswell ...one things for sure, it wont be legal with a Holley let alone the supercharger, dont try to boost it up unless you intercool...and be careful you dont exceed the max rpm of it by regearing for boost or you will blow it up.
Id be looking at a minimum of efi on that...
FollowupID: 373709

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 18:20

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 18:20
where as the capa is a turbo supercharger? no its not capa is the name of the company..it sells both belt driven turbo superchargers and roots type...maybe screws also?
why wont it be legal?

All it has to do is meet exhaust emissions...one has not increased engine capacity by fitting a supercharger or turbo for that matter
FollowupID: 373719

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 20:24

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 20:24
Nudenut
Never seen anything other than a centrifugal (turbo) supercharger made by capa... hense my response...the Eaton is definately the positive displacement type....
With regard to the emission test, yes, the carbi has changed, so it will need one of them....do u know how much that would cost??? 10k i heard....even fitting a unichip to my cruiser is not legal without one of them....because it puts the motor outside the perameters it was tested at originally....but we r splitting hairs here...alot of mods arnt strictly legal.
I remember reading in overlander some time ago about a white gq on gas/supercharged...wonder if it is the same one...
FollowupID: 373734

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 09:47

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 09:47
All I know is it has been fitted by Turbo Engineering, comes with roadworthy, has engineers certificate with sale and receipts for install.

I will have more of a look into it. Was done in Victoria.
FollowupID: 373767

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 10:20

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 10:20
CAPA do not make turbo's or superchargers...they make and assemble kits for a lot of cars using roots type and belt driven centrigual impellor type (turbo) superchargers.

the impellor type are Powerdyne, Vortech and Paxton...maybe others too!

Eaton is roots type as you say and then their are the screw and vane types which are also positive displacment...not sure if CAPA use these though...mazda use a screw type on the MX5 i believe calling it a ??????(miller comes to mind?) cycle engine.

Prices available at Capa for kits...not cheap...but one gets heap of grunt....whats grunt worth???? a 2-3 max 5 psi boost will give lots and should be very economical too boot....
as for emission tests all one needs to do is get it tested if one wants to proove its legal...its as simple as puttting on a dyno and measuring/analysing the exhaust gases....

In all practicality, a blower, if set up correctly, will reduce exhaust emissions...and its not hard to do....it aint rocket science
FollowupID: 373769

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 10:28

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 10:28
Eaton, Toyota Landcruiser 4.5L, 3 stage eaton, 5psi boost. 215kw
$ 7,998.00 including gst hahaha mmm that makes it $7270.00 for ABN holders ....my 100 LC is a company car hehehe
FollowupID: 373770

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:12

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:12
Nude,

Thanks for the writeup. You keen for a bit of a powerup hey, not bad power in the LC, you'll be frying up those tyres before you know it!

I like the fact they don't run much boost and run much cooler than a turbo. The downside is the cost.

Chris.
FollowupID: 373783

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:46

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:46
yep expensive...but so too are some of my sports and the toys needed....shooting and flyfishing.......

and i wont even mention the other one ...you know ..the one that costs mega er i mean giga or should that be terabucks...all i know is she aint cheap to maintain

but i keep thinking of doin it....blow the cruiser that is
FollowupID: 373789

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:49

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 13:49
Sounds like a nice car...considering it has engineers certification, it should be legal etc etc
I looked into the superchargers mentioned earlier, and ended up putting a Safari turbo on my 4.5 cruiser....being intercooled, it probably runs cooler than an unintercooled blower setup.....but lets not get tangled up on the theory side.... 5 psi will have turned the gq into the equivalent of a 6.5 turbo diesel chev with better $$/100kms considering the price of gas...
If it were turbod, it would be closer to a GTR sort of power delivery....thesame goes with the vortec supercharger, which builds flow/ boost rather than has it all at idle like the Eaton.
Its the torque that is mind blowing...i dont know what the blower achieves, but Safari quote 540nm for mine
FollowupID: 373790

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 14:01

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 14:01
Dozer, superchargers can dlever the same as turbo depending on what one needs to achieve or should i say want

superchargers (positve displacement types) dont lag or overshoot like exhaust and belt driven turbo's...this is probably their best advantage....

agree, its the torque that is mind blowing...had a 998 mini with a Wray blower (rotary vane) years (and years) ago...could take off in top without slipping the clutch

540nm....has got me thinking even harder now...wonder if i could smoke up all 4, or take on a subaru? mmmm

FollowupID: 373792

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 14:47

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 14:47
I had to part time mine....you couldnt drive it in the wet without loosing traction at the front....pity the viscous tranny doesnt have it in the middle of the centre diff....
FollowupID: 373797

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 18:10

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 18:10
Dunno bout you guys but I'm getting a little excited bout all this power chat. Keep ya posted what I decide on, meant to be getting pics today of the beast, then my mate will head out and have a look through the week.

FollowupID: 373814

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 19:21

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 19:21
chris
put in dyno b4 and after...i want to know!!!!
Positive displacement is best way to go...no lag and heaps of torque with low revs not like turbo which needs to be spinning 10k rpm ? , (meaning engine will be ticking over too) to give heaps of grunt.
a 4wd requires high torque at low revs...well at least one that is doing real serious off road duty. that way you can have higher torque at idle whereas a turbo cant do this...and this (turbo cant give high torque at low revs) also applies to those belt driven centrifugal turbos...

dont forget to let us know now!!
FollowupID: 373820

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 11:25

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 11:25
Wondering if its the same one that was on Ebay few mths ago...

Working on $8k for the conversion, your gettin teh car for $4k, which aint bad, but TB's and LPG (heads), aint a good combo..

If it did suck, you could flog the blower setup for $4-5k, Grand for the TB, and go a 350 chev without much more throw at it...
AnswerID: 118530

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:12

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:12
Yeah, probably same one trucky, saw it there then followed it up a few weeks later.

Good point mate, it should go alright surely! Just the economy you would have to worry about...

Thanks.
FollowupID: 373692

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:24

Saturday, Jul 02, 2005 at 12:24
economy and TB42 should never be used on the same page.
FollowupID: 373693

Reply By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 00:58

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 00:58
Goodmorning Chris,
There was an "80" 1HZ fitted with a "Sprintex Supecharger" which lived in Meekatharra for a couple of years about 4 years ago, it then moved to Newman and was apparantly very good to drive on the 1700km return trip to Perth. Look at the web for Sprintex Supercharge.

Best of luck

Jerry
AnswerID: 118603

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 09:48

Sunday, Jul 03, 2005 at 09:48
Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 373768