tyres for rodeo

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 23, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2441 Views:3160 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
on my rodeo iv'e currently got 205r16's.I was wondering wether i can increase the diameter and hight of the tyre with out to many problems.
Do seals blow? How incorrect will the speedo be?

Reply By: OziExplorer - Saturday, Nov 23, 2002 at 01:00

Saturday, Nov 23, 2002 at 01:00
Changing tyre sizes is always a compromise. Personally, I never do.
Tyres diameter is carefully matched to engine performance and gearbox ratios. You will always suffer some sort of detremental effect to the performance or fuel consumption.

As for the speedo, that is not an issue, as you can normally buy a gear fairly cheaply to correct the speedo. If you look at where your speedo drive goes into the gearbox, you may find it has four positions on it with different gear teeth numbers. You change the gear and then rotate the plate to the new position.
AnswerID: 8878

Reply By: peter - Saturday, Nov 23, 2002 at 01:00

Saturday, Nov 23, 2002 at 01:00
hi beauges,
on my rodeo i have fitted 31x10.5 r15 they are wider than standard and give a height increase of 10mm over standard. ive done extensive offroad including cape york no problems, only slight touching on rear inside gaurd on crew cab but only at extreme suspension flex. always wondered about speedo but have checked and if any negligible.
hope this helps regards peter
AnswerID: 8882

Follow Up By: Beauges - Sunday, Nov 24, 2002 at 01:00

Sunday, Nov 24, 2002 at 01:00
would 225/75 r16 fit on the standard rims are these tyres inreasing the hight.
If not do you know a suitable size that will fit on the standard rim
FollowupID: 4414

Reply By: rodeoowner - Sunday, Nov 24, 2002 at 01:00

Sunday, Nov 24, 2002 at 01:00
Hey mate. I did a lot of research when buying new tyres for the ute.

If you want to stick with the standard wheels, you can go for 215-85-16. These are the same diameter as 31" tyres and will give you an approximate lift of 15mm. The other option for standard wheels is 235-85-16, which are the same diameter as 32". I reckon that these would be too tall for the Rodeo though.

225-75-16 tyres will fit, but are the same diameter as your current 205R16.

The 215-85-16 size is fairly rare. The only brands I could find are; Cooper, Hankook, Kumho, Kelly and Toyo.

I ended up going with new 15x7 wheels amd 31x10.5x15 tyres. The wheels are the Sunraysia style in the 'Navara' offset. These cost me about $40 each. Mine do not rub at all, even when on full steering lock. I have a flat tray so no worries there either.

If you go with the 31" tall tyres the speedo will read under about 3%. ie, when your speedo reads 100kph you will actually be doing 103kph.

I haven't found any negative effects at all.

You will find that you can usually buy 31x10.5x15 tyres cheaper than any other size because it is so common. This is the biggest plus to changing tyre size, along with getting the extra width and height.

Hope this helps!
AnswerID: 8912

Follow Up By: Beauges - Monday, Nov 25, 2002 at 01:00

Monday, Nov 25, 2002 at 01:00
Rodeoowner
Thanks for the great info,I've been asking around for a while with tyrefitters and fitters at work haven't been much help.
You have answered the question thats been in my head for ages.
Beauges
FollowupID: 4434

Reply By: Rockhopping - Thursday, Nov 28, 2002 at 01:00

Thursday, Nov 28, 2002 at 01:00
To Beauges
Did you get your tyre problem sorted?? What did you end up fitting/ I've seen rodeos on standard 16x6 rims with LT225/75R16 and they looked ok.
AnswerID: 9073