Supercharged GQ...is an auto!!! How toughs the box????

Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 19:49
ThreadID: 24434 Views:1925 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
Gday again,

Just found out this supercharged beast is an auto. I will of course be pushing larger tyres ie. 33 x 12.5 MTR's. Are the boxes as tough as the manuals? If so, it's all good. Don't mind crusing around in an auto! Any experience?

Your thoughts and input would be appreciated...

Chris.

Reply By: Chaz - Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:24

Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:24
Chris,

It would be interesting to find out if the trans has already been modified, but if not there is plenty you can do to beef them up. Fitting a shift kit or valve body kit will improve it heaps as well as a manual lock up switch. As long as you can keep them cool, they will last, and they should be stronger than a manual.
Check these guy's in Victoria on what they can do, because I know they modify the Jatco's like yours. Some guys fit GU valve bodies so that they can lock their converters in first for improved engine braking. Nothing wrong with modern auto's for 4 wheeling.
Chaz
AnswerID: 118843

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 07:41

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 07:41
Thanks Chaz. I don't really want to have to spend money on it, that's all. I know the manual boxes in the GQ's are indestructable...well, just about anyway.

I'm really getting into an area I know nothing about...petrols, autos and superchargers. Maybe it is time for a change. Good for trips, that's for sure!

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 374038

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 14:37

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 14:37
Hi Chris,
Fitting a valve body kit or shift kit to your trans not only gives you quicker gear changes, but more importantly, it increases the line pressure in the trans to give you much stronger clamping forces on your transmissions clutch packs. This in turn will increase the load capabilities of the gearbox substantially as well as running cooler. I fitted my TransGo shift kit for around $150 including gaskets, and although it didn’t improve the shifts as much as I would have hoped, it does drive much better without as much slippage.
Unfortunately the GQ boxes won’t lock their converters in first gear like the GU ones do, but the valve bodies are interchangeable if you want that feature. See this LINK. The great advantage of having a manual lock up, is that your engine braking will be no different to a manual and you have the advantage of being able to go back to first gear at virtually any speed. On more than one occasion I have had to pull it back to first in an emergency braking situation at over 40kph, and the car just pulled up without even locking the wheels or over revving the motor.
Autos with these features have no disadvantages over a manual and you have the option to drive them manually if you like or just drop it into drive and let the trans do the work.
Petrol GQ’s go well and are bullet proof, good luck with it.
Chaz
FollowupID: 374105

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 07:17

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 07:17
Thanks mate. That was one of my concerns, hurtling down a hill because the box won't lock into 1st. Probably one thing I will do. My mate drove it yesterday and had a good look over it.

He said it's an honest truck that a 1 owner has driven for 15 years. Got one dint in the bonnett, and a small dint in one of the rear bumpers. Amazingly, no rust anywhere including the windows because the old bloke has been pouring fisholine religiously into it since new. Probably weighs an extra 500 kg's with hardened fisholine in the doors.

I'll now see if I can get down there and take it from there.'

Appreciate you input.
FollowupID: 374202

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:38

Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:38
Yea call Rodney at the auto trans link above, hes great with these things.. he does builds of boxes for companies world wide, hes in bayswater.

he has done work to my auto, changes much quicker.

the thing is, once you have an auto, you wont want to go back.. I dont!
AnswerID: 118847

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 07:43

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 07:43
So trucky, would you advise that this be done. Does it beef it up, or just make it a quicker shifting box for offroading? Do the autos allow you to knock it back to 1st when 4wheeling for slower descents?

Didn't know you had an auto!

Chris.
FollowupID: 374039

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:16

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:16
Speak to him. Trust me, he will tell u if its strong enough.

I had the valve body and temp gauge fitted, which I must admit, is VERY interesting while offroad in low.. Amazing how HOT the box does get while the converter is not locked. Even in City work, you can see it get up towards 100 degrees...

You can drive them like a manual if you like, as in knock it back to 1st, or what ever u like!

If you do go the Auto with a blower, its more of a worry downhills, since they produce more power from nowhere, its working against itself instantly. Rockhoppers would be a good idea.

As good as it sounds, I'd be happier if it was turbo for downhills...
FollowupID: 374053

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:19

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:19
I'll give em' a bell. That was my concern too, the whole going downhill at 50k's an hour. Even the GU sometimes like to run away on me downhill so I'd flick on the aircon to slow the rpms.

Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 374055

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:30

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:30
Just gave them a bell, he said the autos are like the rest of the vehicle, big and strong. He suggested the Heavy Duty Stage II Valve Body changeover if not already done. Apart from that, apparently will last the life of the vehicle with regular servicing. Thanks for the referral. I let hime know you guys referred me.

FollowupID: 374058

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:36

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:36
Hes a very kewl bloke, knows his stuff on autos. Hes also big bloke!

Builds most for Brunswick diesel etc for conversions.

He also wheels himself, although in a lower class of truck, an 80 series..

glad he set ya straight.
FollowupID: 374060

Reply By: trendy - Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:42

Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:42
Chris,

This GQ just gets better and better, if you hold off the bloke might put his $30 000 campomatic in the deal as well.(Just kidding) All jokes aside I hope it is as good as it sounds. I Don't know anything about the auto's sorry.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 118852

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 07:44

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 07:44
Gday Trendy,

Not so much of a auto fan to be honest. Like the manuals, keeps me occupied on trips and when 4wding. Glad my work vans manual!

Chris.
FollowupID: 374040

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 00:10

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 00:10
Chris, once u drive an auto offroad, you will never go back. Simple as that.
FollowupID: 374193

Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 23:34

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 23:34
Chris, one thing to think of with petrol auto GQ's is that the diff ratio's will be 3.9's and at 100kmh the engine will only be ticking over at about 1700 rpm (with 265/75 R16 tyres, approx 32") You will probably need a diff ratio change going up in tyre size to 4.1's or 4.3's. Truckster has changed his auto diesel ratio's from 4.1's to 4.3's running his 33" MTR's. He's happy he changed the ratio's I think.
Something to think of.
Regards Andrew.
ps Bruce, (truckster) it's a club meeting tomorrow night, I expect you to be there. lol.
AnswerID: 119034

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 00:09

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 00:09
yea I love my 4.3's and lockers :D

yea I'll be there, Nevill is bringing his Endless air for me. Im buyin it :D
FollowupID: 374192

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 07:14

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 07:14
thanks awill4x4...something else to consider.
FollowupID: 374201