recessed tail lights

Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 22:09
ThreadID: 24440 Views:2141 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
hi gang

i put on a rear wheel carrier over the weekend and am happy with what i have done but i have had a mate point out that i need to put a indicator and brake light on the rear bumper as i can get done in vic for not having the lights visible when near to the car as the spare wheel obscures the veiw when your close.

so no problem me thinks will hop down the shop and buy one of those recessed tail lights as i dont want to mount it directly on the bumper cos i know it will get broken when we are out.

well tried super cheap, repco, bursens and auto barn drew a blank thy had the front parker light and indicator but no brake light and indicator.

does anyone know where i can get one i tried ARB but wasnt any luck there either well since they sell the rear bumper and carriers i thought they had them.

have been searching on the web but no luck so far.

thanks for your assistance

gra

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 23:53

Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 23:53
Try a truck accessory place, www.hella.com.au , www.narva.com.au , try a 4WD wrecker for the model you have or similar from a Jackaroo, Pajero or similar are recessed into the bumper.

AnswerID: 118879

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 08:39

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 08:39
Just had to replace the flush tail/indicator light in the bumper on my 1996 pajero.
$130.00 new from Mitsu, and $70.00 from a 4WD wrecker for a new twainese copy. Had real problems getting one off a wrecked car. Rare as hens teeth.
Even the genuine ones arn't that strong. Caught it with something while packing.
Was thinking of making a bracket behind the bumper so I could mount a cheaper standard hella unit for about $30.00. But didn't have the time :-).
And put some mesh across in front for protection.
FollowupID: 374047

Reply By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 00:03

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 00:03
Just a thought.

Instead of going for quality go for cheap and nasty so it's heaps cheaper to replace when you do smack it.
AnswerID: 118880

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 00:48

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 00:48
I see you painted the bus purple and put some glasses on the front... I think it would be asseptable of me to say I prefer the zebra stripes... Now get to the naughty corner...
FollowupID: 374033

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:14

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 09:14
Oooh, someone needs to do some more woorking rather than sittin around watchinG the telly.......

Hell, how do I know this???????
FollowupID: 374052

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 13:28

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 13:28
G'day Gerhardp1,

if that's directed at me, my excuse is the night shift gremlins made me do it...

If directed at iM, I don't know what his excuse is... I think he may have a secret little crush...
FollowupID: 374097

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 17:27

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 17:27
I think it's directed at all of us - including me.....I like her style with the kids but she's not my idea of a female partner.

But we definately need to get out more, say six months holiday outback touring and the other 6 months on holiday in the mountains and by the sea.

FollowupID: 374138

Reply By: mcgra (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:28

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:28
thanks guys

its never that easy is it.

gra
AnswerID: 118962

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 08:18

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 08:18
Hello Gra.

When my brother bought his dual wheel carriers there were rececses fitted to take his existing lights of the old bumperbar. His was made by TJM.
Maybe you can do the same. My brother drives a 97 Patrol. Sorry, I don't know if this will help as I don't know what sort of car you drive.
AnswerID: 119051

Reply By: mcgra (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 09, 2005 at 02:12

Saturday, Jul 09, 2005 at 02:12
just a little update for those that may be searching at a later date.

i found a place via the web in tassie that sold a universal tail light.
comes with its own mounting bracket and did the job cost all of $45 bucks delievered to my door in one of those aussie post next day delivery bags.
has the indicator stop/tail light and the revevse also.

cheers again guy

gra
AnswerID: 119520