Poor k's out of Cooper AT's

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:11
ThreadID: 24461 Views:2501 Replies:13 FollowUps:11
G'day,
Mate bought some Cooper AT's last year (not new model). This guy was running Kuhmos previously and decided to splurge on some quality tryes. The dealer told him he should get 80 000 ks out of them. So far he's done 24 500ks and only has 7mm of tread left!! Now, he definantly didn't get his tyres rotated at cooper dealers and he used them extensively outside of the city so the warranty is out the window. He went back to dealer and had discussion and was told only the 16 inch tyres would get those sort of k's (80000) . He's majorly dissapointed and says dealer miss lead him re the k's. He is totally computer illiteret so I offered to post this here for him.

Someone else has told him their coopers wore rapidly for the first half then the wear rate slowed quite a bit-but he had ST's. Doesn't look good and he says he won't bother with expensive tyres again.

Not sure if anyone can help and new model might be fine but he wanted to tell as many people as possible that Cooper Tires (they're TYRES!!!) shafted him.

Matt

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:30

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:30
hi matt,
ive been using coopers in both at and st for 7 years. done a lot of highway as well as off road and always found them to do the job even though the st's on my rodeo are noisey. as the dealer is local i drop in and they check and advise on pressures, rotation and wear patterns. i might not have got 80 k, running 2 sets and trading both regularly. but i would recommend the dealer and tyre.
i drive to the conditions and not agrressivly and as your story is second hand the true facts are hard to assertain.

regards peter
AnswerID: 118964

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:41

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:41
The guy is camped next to me. I'm currently working on same farm as him. Have known him for 2yrs. Saw him drive car away to get tyres fitted and saw him come back with new ones. This was last year whilst we were working working on same farm. I did not however check his odometer but wouldn't ask him either as he is a mate who has no reason to lie about this. 24 500ks 7mm tread left-true facts. BTW, tyres have worn evenly across width of tread and never left the black stuff.
Matt
FollowupID: 374146

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:43

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:43
Yeah the 15-inch are only warranted for 60,000k’s
I have had mine for 16,000k’s and there is bugger all wear on them.
The odd chip on some lugs from to higher tyre pressure (48Psi) on sharp stony tracks, But I am happy with them and would buy again.

Probably go ST as don’t like the look of the new ATR look’s too much like a road tyre.

Haven’t rotated them yet, probably this week if I get round to it.
AnswerID: 118966

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:51

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 18:51
Exploder,
16000ks and little wear sounds much more like it but only makes my mates situation more annoying. He says he's going back to the Kuhmos next time so I guess the damage is done but why his have worn so rapidly is the strange thing. In a recent 4wd monthly Kilner was saying how one of the sets of tyres was rushed over for the test and hadn't cured properly so thats why they were wearing rapidly. Wonder if all the tyres that we buy sit around for the required time to harden properly?
Matt
FollowupID: 374148

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:07

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:07
Yeah it is very strange it is possible he just go a bad set.
But as you say the damage is already done. Kuhmos are a good tyre we have them on both the car’s Fairmont, Accord and have got good mileage, the rear set on the ford look a bit balder. Gee I have no idea why that is.

But when it came to the Explorer I herd the Kuhmo AT’s were bit week strength wise off road so put on coopers instead.
FollowupID: 374149

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:20

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:20
Another fella I'm working with reckons he get 90 000k's out of his Kuhmos! Must have rock hard compound, they don't have that much meat on them new so thats alot of k's. I got 80 000k's out of my last set of BFG's and sold them 2nd hand for $350. Mate only bought the coopers as he tows large van on country roads, wanted more peace of mind I guess. I know it will sound like Iwork for BFG but I have amate who owns petrol station/workshop in St George QLD and recently put the new BFG MT's on his ute as he has customer who have 80 000 k's on them and still going!! Sounds unbelievable and sure its 3rd hand but I have set on my van to swap onto car when wanted so sounds good to me! Again I have no reason not to believe him but who knows. Don't laugh at this but he reckons one of his customers reported 120 000 k's out of his BFG's-sounds like poo to me, think of this as similar to the economy thing-everyone wants to say there getting this or that but who do you believe-not many!
Matt
FollowupID: 374152

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:29

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:29
Am I missing something!!!!!! at 7mm surely they are not even half worn and he has nearly 25k already they should wear slower and handle better from now on as the lower tread will squirm less that is why those hq racers used ducaro tyres with 75% of the tread scrubbed off
FollowupID: 374156

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:37
Davoe
Doesn't sound so bad when you say it like that! Spose if they slow down he should see 50k, still crap for whats really a road tyre but not terrible I spose.
FollowupID: 374157

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 21:35

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 21:35
Same story here for my A/T's

37,000km and down to 5 or 6mm. They started at 11mm and legal minimum is 1.6mm. I would say they are going OK

Muddy
FollowupID: 374170

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 17:38

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 17:38
I put BFG ATs on the Lexus in Birdsville Easter 2003. Since then 80,000 km and they are starting to look like I need to budget for some replacements in the next few months. I'll be getting the same tyre again.

I did two major trips on Cooper STs in the Discovery and the amount of wear is quite alarming for less than 20,000 km. Luckily I use the OEM Michelins when I'm not doing trips, otherwise I'd be well into my second set and the vehicle has only done 43,000 km.

The point is you'd expect the increased weight and grunt of the V8 would wear out the tyres sooner than the much lighter and less powerful diesel. The opposite seems to have happened.
FollowupID: 374296

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:08

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:08
I've got the new ATRs. Do about 80% bitumen and 20% gravel and off road. I'm happy with them so far, but early days.
An interesting point of KM guarantees (regardless of brand). I understand that they only apply if tyres are properly rotated at least every 10,000 KM. Is this a 5 wheel (inc spare) rotation, or a 4 wheel rotation (spare not rotated). The difference is almost 20%, so can not be ignored. If you use the set for 80,000, each tyre will only do about 64,000 KM.

Interesting point. I don't know the answer.

I rotate my wheels (not the spare as I have alloys on the 'Lux and a steel as spare).

I didn't buy the Coopers for the warranty. I got them because they are good tyres and I could get them in the size and load rating I wanted. Couldn't get BFGs to suit (265,70,15, 112 load rating) even if I wanted them. If I'm not happy when they wear out, I'll try something else next time.
AnswerID: 118970

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:25

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:25
Interesting re spare, would make big difference. The warranty was not valid in this case as he didn't get the rotations done and book stamped or whatever you do. I understand the warranty is only valid if bought (used ?) in major city?
FollowupID: 374154

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:29

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:29
G,day Troopy Tracker,

Don't know what your mate has been doing with his, but I've got 16" ST's with 16000k's up so far including Cape Melville via battle camp, which I travelled doing around 90kph weighing at around 3t, so I haven't exactly been easy on them, also Palmer river with part of the old packhorse route out which even the locals will tell you is hard on any tyre, and returned via The lynd, hughenden and muttuburra, all dirt. I just went out and measured mine, the fronts are 11mm and the rear are 10mm, not bad I thought. Okay so I probably won't get 80thou. out of them, but IMO tyre choice isn't just about longetivity, it's also about puncture resistance and traction on high speed gravel and wet bitumen, and in basic low range 4wd stuff, ie. safety for the occupants.
I have had BFG AT's on my previous car, also had muddies and bridgestone duelers in the past, at this stage will replace this set with coopers.
I'm not saying these tyres are "THE BEST", It's simply a comparison and my opinion, there may well be others just as good, we also don't know how your mate drives, V8 supercar style around corners? Go-to-whoah style between lights? All adds up to drastic reduction in tyre life.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 118974

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:41

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 19:41
Pezza,
Mate has 15 inch tyres and as someone else said the warranty is different between 15's & 16"s. He drives a N/A 1HZ so V8 supercar style driving isn't on the cards. Anyway I've been in car with him driving and I'd hardly say he gives it a hard time braking cornering etc
FollowupID: 374158

Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 20:02

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 20:02
I have 15" coopers on my Discovery - just covered 100,000 km in mixed driving and have about another 10-20k left in them. Wear has been consistent over the life of the tyres.

Gazz
AnswerID: 118981

Reply By: 4X4Treker - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 20:31

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 20:31
I had Kumo's on my GQ Patrol and in one twelve month period destroyed 4 tyres on the rough stuff so I went to Cooper ST's 10R15's and never looked back no more punctures and good road holding both on and off road. I did just over 40,000kms on them and they are still at half tread depth but have now been put onto my camper trailer as I have new Patrol but will be putting Coopers on the new Patrol as soon as I can, Cooper for me have been great where as I would not recomend Kumo's as in my experience they just dont cut it off road.

Treker
AnswerID: 118987

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 21:05

Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 21:05
With 7mm left, given they probably only started with 10 or 11, and he can get down to 1.6mm before they legally need to be replaced, I cannot understand the problem.

He should get another 34000 out of them at least (as Dave said they wear less as the tread has less "squirm"). It's simple maths (not math, I'm not a Yank).

Tell him to let them run out their time and see how they go.

I think he is worrying about something he doesn't need to.

AnswerID: 118995

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 07:27

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 07:27
I completely stuffed my first set of Cooper AT's at only 25,000km's from memory(lots of Pilbara rock etc). Went back to the dealer, no questions asked, new set fitted on the spot straight away. Sold them off at 70,000km's with more than legal tread on them after a hard life.

I think I copped a bad batch first up, simple as that. Bought a set the new ATR's in 305/16 I was so impressed with my last set. They are light years ahead of the old AT's in every respect so far, but it's early days yet.
AnswerID: 119043

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 08:37

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 08:37
I have sworn off coopers for the same reason, poor milage for the $$$ compared to other tyres.

Ran 235/85/16 ATs, older style.
Went through two sets - 8 tyres.

Have run Coopers ATs, Toyo OPATS, Firestone ASRs, Simex Roadtrekker. All getting about 50,000 to 70,000. Current Simex might be a more.

Got between 50,000 and 60,000 out of the Coopers.
I did the right thing and got them balanced and rotated every 10,000 by a coopers dealer.
They gave me a discount on the first set towards the second set on a prorata basis.
But of course it was calculated on new RRP price (full price) for the 2nd set, not the slightly discounted price of the first set. About $150.00 to $170.00 each for the 2nd set of tyres.
After the second set went the same way, I went and bought another make for the $170.00, and saved my $44.00 to $48.00 every 10,000k.

Not bagging the tyre, good grip in most conditions for an AT, good overall except for the chipping on development roads, and the high wear on bitumen with a full load at 100 to 110K. Checked with the local coopers agent as why, checked tyre pressures and everything else and all OK. Always found the dealers honest and straight forward.

I also noticed at the last 4WD show that ATs are not recommended for extended dirt road use, and the milage guarantee for the 235/85/16 has been amended from 80,000k back to 50,000k.

Just doesn't seem to be a tyre that suits my car.
AnswerID: 119054

Reply By: Member - Michael- Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 13:02

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 13:02
TroopyTracker
I've got Cooper 265/75R16 AT's on my Patrol and they have logged up 75k (60% bitumen, 40% offroad) and still have 5mm of tread, I rotate the four road wheels every 10k and check tyre pressures at least once week. I'm happy with them and will be replacing them with Cooper AT's again. The ST's are guaranteed for 80k, the AT's for 60k
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 119100

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 15:40

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 15:40
I'm not going to repeat my story again - it's in the forums on similar threads.

I have dealt with Exclusive Tyre Distributors in Qld on a minor issue, as has Pete who I just did the Canning with and both us have ST's.

For things that would have other manufacturers telling us to get stuffed it's wear and tear, Coopers offered to replace our tyres.

I reckon they wear well, have great grip in a wide range of conditions and terrain and offer aftermarket service second to none.

When I dealt with them I described track conditions under which the damage concerned happened - and it was off road (plus I don't drive in the city hardly ever) and they had no issue. Dealer doesn't service either vehicle either - Pete does and the dealer knows who he is and what he does, so maybe that helps.

I'll buy another set. No problem. Great tyres & great service.

AnswerID: 119124

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 16:19

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 16:19
Thanks for all the replys, will get mate to read thread tonight and see if he wants to ask anymore questions. Gotta say 50 or even 60k out of a set of AT's in this price range seems poor to me when others (even cheapies) manage plenty more.
Matt
AnswerID: 119131

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 16:48

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 16:48
what did he get in the ened
AnswerID: 123984

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 19:48

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 19:48
Wont know for a while yet!!
FollowupID: 378973