New Nissan Pathfinder - what do people think ?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 19:34
ThreadID: 24564 Views:2857 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
I saw one yesterday - don't look too bad; fully independant suspension; 3 row seats; Diesel (well done Nissan) & available in auto aswell. Didn't like the rear seat though - not much cushion for your back & why do all wagons have fold down arm rests in the middle - seems stupid to me as the centre passenger in the rear gets one hell of a uncomfortable trip - the Prado & all the other makes have the same problem. The Ford Territory if you ask me has the best seats for comfort but it is not a 4WD. Quality of finish on the inside of the Pathfinder is questionable - have a look at the centre storage bin between the seats - looks flimsy - the clip would not last long if you ask me. I might be bias as I'm a Toyota fan - but they cost heaps more. Anyway cannot wait for the tests.

Reply By: apwaddo - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 22:33

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 22:33
Had a good look and drive of the 6 speed manual diesel. i reckon they are on a winner. Performance is best in class - feels very solid and goes well. Don't reckon you should even use the word Territury and Pathfinder in same sentance - they are not even close. Look out Prado owners!! Just can't yet work out why they are so close to Patrol in all areas though, maybe time will tewll they aren't as they start to break!
AnswerID: 119505

Follow Up By: Beddo - Monday, Jul 11, 2005 at 17:57

Monday, Jul 11, 2005 at 17:57
The only thing I liked in the Territory apart from the storage area was the seats - very comfortable.
FollowupID: 374878

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 22:48

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 22:48
but why do they go with tiny engines and try and getbleeploads of power out of them? 2.5 with 190kw?
AnswerID: 119507

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 22:56

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 22:56
Struth, more highly strung than Ned Kelly. Fart into the intake and it'll drop 50Kw :)
FollowupID: 374601

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:09

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:09
You sure about that Bruce, just looking at the website:

Take your pick from the 198kW 4.0 V6 petrol or 128kW common rail turbo diesel engines. Both deliver exceptional power and torque and can easily tow up to 3,000kg
FollowupID: 374602

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:21

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:21
na Im not sure, but thats what someone was sprouting in the thread the other day
FollowupID: 374608

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:21

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:21
butr i can assui9re u that the cab sab is goin down well 2nite
FollowupID: 374609

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:23

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:23
oh well as they say, don't believe everything written on internet forums.
Nevermind, we are having fun eh!!!
FollowupID: 374610

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:24

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:24
onya Bruce, I'm stuck at work for another 30min
FollowupID: 374611

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:12

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:12
Nice styling, looks real good, much better than the ugly Prado.
AnswerID: 119513

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:14

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 23:14
Lacking in fuel capacity though, only 80 litres.
FollowupID: 374604

Reply By: lukasz - Saturday, Jul 09, 2005 at 11:05

Saturday, Jul 09, 2005 at 11:05
In Europe new Navarra is also available and it looks exactly like new Pathfinder up to begging of the second doors. I think it looks good. From what I remember the tray in all versions is slightly longer than before.

Have a look here
AnswerID: 119538