baby boomers

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 20:35
ThreadID: 24598 Views:2875 Replies:3 FollowUps:15
anybody see how many were on the road on sixty minutes tonight (1st decent segment theyve had on for a while) and some of the places they were visiting hopefully wont be long and the missus and me will join them

THE SKI CLUB YOU BLOODY BEAUTY

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 20:42

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 20:42
Hows that photography course going MR? Still happy with it?

luck has it, my new boss is a pro photographer :(
http://www.markheydon.com.au/
AnswerID: 119687

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:22

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:22
goodday mate
finished course was worth the money learnt a fair bit
will the new boss teach you though
is it full time work

FollowupID: 374773

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 22:02

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 22:02
no idea
but I have found out that the 300D is the same as the 10D, but is de-tuned! You can actually "HACK" the camera to make them the same!!!! Save yaself thousands!!
Check DPreview forum for the "RUSSIAN HACK". Some russian figured out that they are the same camera, but one is detuned!!
FollowupID: 374789

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 20:49

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 20:49
Yeah good show, All that red dirt made my eyes water and the WA sunset well
I was on my way upstairs to start packing.

AnswerID: 119689

Follow Up By: pojo - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:15

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:15
where is barnhill station ?
FollowupID: 374770

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:25

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:25
goodday pojo and john
pojo i think it was up the top of wa not real sure but looked ok to me

john have been packing all day getting ready to go but its not enough yet only 4 weeks in 4 weeks

FollowupID: 374774

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:30

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:30
Barnhill was were the bowling green was ????? if I'm not mistaken.
As Steve said top of WA behind Broome??? if I understood correctly.

Steve I meant I was on my way to pack for good, not just a few weeks or months (I wish) LOL.

FollowupID: 374776

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:48

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:48
Barn Hill Station is about 70km south of Broome. Enter via the Great Northern Highway through the brilliant red dirt road.
Three years ago (when last there) there was limited 240 volt power, no electric kettles etc. Basic ablution facilities, very basic shop supplies.
Absolutely majestic coastline a short distance away from the park and of course the bowling green.

Wal
FollowupID: 374785

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:54

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:54
Thanks Wal, I knew someone would set us straight.

By the way, How did you go at the bowls ?
Pity it does not have a golf course also.

FollowupID: 374787

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 22:34

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 22:34
G'day John

I remember hitting Barn Hill on our first serious caravan trip in the second week of our big trip from the south west of WA in those days. At that stage we were in the lets hurry up and have fun mode and honestly didn't do the place any real justice along with the previous 2000 km. Not long after that we learnt to slow down and smell the roses. I will eventually get back to Barn Hill one day and have a go at the bowling green.

Wal
FollowupID: 374793

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 23:17

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 23:17
just returned from Barn Hill. Our last holiday spot camping in WA. Spent 4 days there. We arrived when the rain hit the area flooding parts of Broome CLosing the Gibb RIver ROad, MIddle Lagoon etc as well as the Tanami and the Plenty. The day we arrived we drove in rain from about 300ks sth from Cape Karaudren. Had to drive in red mud and in some places water to get to the place. Was only marked by a white tyre on the side of the road about 20 -30ks north of Port Smith. When we arrived they told us they had received 7inches of rain since 3am we arrived late in the day. We had to set up in the rain great when u are setting up a camper trailer. The place was magic and yes we were there when they did the 60minute showi n fact when they showed people fishing on the beach right at the start of the show
we were there-definately not the Grey NOmad age group. There certainly was the bowls in fact they had a competition while we were there. They had to wait till the rain stopped. While we were there they had some deals on. Pizza delivered to your door by quad bike at $12.50 more than enough for 2 people. Roast night on a SUnday 3 course meal all u had to do was take your plates and table. Soup first course, roast pork and beef and heaps of vegies in fact one meal really was enought to feed 2 people and as they had a chef son saving to go to Uk - he may wish he wasnt going now- things like vanilla slices, sausage rolls, laminigtons, scones, erc sold each day at 9am - and they sold out quickly -to help him save money for his travels. The beach was magic for walking, fishing we caught salmon, whiting, something big which I couldnt get to the beach because the reel was unable to cope with the size of the fish and 1 shark. People were walking just to collect the shells. The rock formation was magic - they didnt show that on the show. Would advise anyone to put it on your to see list.
Jenkie

FollowupID: 374796

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:29

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:29
Did I hear right that the industry is worth 10 Billion dollars a year!!!! A new caravan built and sold in Australia every 14 minutes on average???

Wow - If this keeps up imagine all the great new facilities that will be built to cater for all these travellers over the next few years.

I am 36 now and retire in 24 years. I love roughing it in the scrub at the moment but by the time my turn comes around to travel in grey nomad luxury then I hope there will be still some wilderness left to see but also some comfy van parks and facilities from which to base myself to see it!

Muddy
AnswerID: 119696

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:32

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:32
Sundowner Muddy they are now called Sundowners.
Grey Nomad appears no longer politically correct.

FollowupID: 374779

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:34

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:34
Hahahahah,

I don't think the bloke sitting at the table was to worried about political correctness! "We are answerable to no-one!"

Muddy
FollowupID: 374780

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:39

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:39
I reckon he is right, and good luck to him.

It would not worry me to be addressed as a Grey, Pink, Black, Blue or spotted Nomad if I was sitting on the beach in WA, I wouldn't give a $hit either.

FollowupID: 374783

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:59

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 21:59
Did I hear right that the industry is worth 10 Billion dollars a year!!!!

1) dont believe everything on tele
2) how do they decipher vans sold to nomads compared to families?
3) see 1
4) The pension must have gone up in recent years - $10bil? LMAO.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A new caravan built and sold in Australia every 14 minutes on average???

1) dont believe everything you see on tele
2) where are the billions of caravans that are second hand? If there are that many, the second hand market would be as full as a babys nappy/
3) see 1.
FollowupID: 374788

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 22:45

Sunday, Jul 10, 2005 at 22:45
Hmmm Truckster,

I worked it out. 14 minutes per van = 37,542 vans a year. Not inconceivable across the whole country when we are at nearly 1 million new cars a year and 200,000 new 4wds a year. If they have average price of $20,000 then there is $750 million. Each one needs a Toyota Landcruiser to pull it. Say $30,000 average spend (including second hand market) and there is another Billion. then they might spend up to $30,000 a year living out of it and doing stuff and fueling up the Toyota. Another Billion.

And then there are all the others already on the road spending say $10,000 a year on trips around the block - maybe another Billion $$$

So maybe 4 Billion a year if you are optimistic! Not quite 10.

Yep - Don't believe everthing you see on TV. Is still a lot of money though!

Muddy
FollowupID: 374795

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Monday, Jul 11, 2005 at 07:04

Monday, Jul 11, 2005 at 07:04
I was amazed at how most males interviewed rejected the term "grey nomads", all the women photographed were certainly not "grey" lol. The name doesnt bother me but Sparky objects to it.

We made a sea change for our semi retirement but enjoy travel so far only in short bursts. We are happy with the Troopy and Oz Tent but we are at the younger end of the scale and who knows what we might trade up to in the future, at this point of time the kids are not worrying so much about their inheritances being spent, rofl. They might change their minds if they watched that show.

Carolyn
- a free spirit and enjoying every moment - call me what you like.
FollowupID: 374806