EO sticker vandals

Submitted: Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:35
ThreadID: 24743 Views:2758 Replies:13 FollowUps:43
!MPG:4!

I would be disapointed if I arrived somewhere remote (not likely in ther bus but...) to find that sime d i c k h e a d had stuck an EO sticker somewhere in the scrub.

I ask you to care for our country and plaese only leave light footprints behind.

I am proud to be an EO member and enjoy the people here.

Let's not gat a bad rep.

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:47

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:47
So have you seen one ??
Why are you worried ??
I have been known to stick one on the back of my Camper. Should I have not ??
AnswerID: 120491

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:58

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:58
The responces and replies in Post 24731 seem to imply that a fun thing would be to find them in a far reaching remote region.

And that if you find one somewhere remote and you don't want it there you can "just peel it off"

As for the question "can I put one on my camper?" I had a bit of a look at your camper in rig pics and checked out your choice of vehicle ... I don't expect to see you anywhere "remote" so I supose it would be ok.

iMusty
FollowupID: 375543

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:07

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:07
You may be right. as it's not a Coaster bus
FollowupID: 375546

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:27

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:27
IMusty I would'nt under estimate the ol' frontera mate, with a few inches lift (as vince's has) it'd go some very suprising places! I mean it'd be very similar to mine, coils rear and torsion bar IFS front, low range and plenty of power. I know from first hand experience that mine goes to some remote places... I'm sure Vince does too.
FollowupID: 375550

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:52

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:52
IMusty,

I can only second Jeff's sentiments.

Vince has travelled extensively with his Frontera as we have so don't be too quick to knock someone elses rig.

The Fronteras main weakness was the fact that in standard mode it sat too low. Like us Vince has done a suspension lift and once this mod is done, thay are more than capable. Ours has taken us accross the Simpson and to the Cape and a whole lot of other places.

Normally I don't enter into this stuff but you really like to push a few peoples buttons at times and I suggest you should think a bit harder before you type, as going on some of your past handiwork this isn't necessarily the case.
FollowupID: 375557

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:04

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:04
'I don't expect to see you anywhere "remote" so I supose it would be ok'

Geeze, opened a can of worms there boy. Isuzu's are very capable 4wd's and can't be compared to a coaster bus.

LEroy
FollowupID: 375563

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:09

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:09

Vince was being a numb nuts by asking ... err ahh "can I have one on my camper?" Uh Huh.?

He was being the smart ass. He gets what he deserves.

FollowupID: 375565

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:01

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:01
Dont knock the Isuzu Crew, The mighty Jack has been Many remote places, almost same set up as the frontera

FollowupID: 375577

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:12

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:12
Read the previous followup.
FollowupID: 375604

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:41

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:41
i Musty,
Thanks for all who jumped to the defense of the Fronteria.
IMusty you have posted the following,
?Vince was being a numb nuts by asking ... err ahh "can I have one on my camper?" Uh Huh.? ?
?He was being the smart ass. He gets what he deserves.?
To take you to task:-
1. I will let the insult slip, you are entitled to you opinion.
2. You then stated why I was a numb nuts and you could not even get the quote correct. What I said was -
So have you seen one ??
Why are you worried ??
I have been known to stick one on the back of my Camper. Should I have not ??
3. The above questions were real questions. I do not have time to read every post during working time and yours had caught my attention. I was simply trying to find out what you were on about. I had not read the post that had being put up yesterday. Like most normal people I follow the convention of reading from the top of the page.
4. If you feel you need to belittle other people, then go right ahead and get you fun where you can, but to me it seems that it is the sign of someone with deep seated personal problems
FollowupID: 375609

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:11

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:11
Jeez Vince.
Sorry mate.
The post was 4 sentances long.
You'd be better off just reading and not replying if time is of importance.
I dont actually believe you are telling the truth here though.
It's nothing personal.
I just dont like your type.
This follow-up was 8 sentances long, one punctuated, and a question.
Do you understand it?
FollowupID: 375614

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:01

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:01
This whole thread seems a little odd and out of character to me.

Don't read too much into it fellas. I read the first post then thought "what are you on about iMusty?" then read Vince's and thoguht "could point Vince" and didn't think anything bad of either of you.

Kiss and make up and get on with it fellas.

*Group hug* Mwah.

Smocky.

P.S. Written whilst in the middle of a bottle of Chivas Regal, so obsticles may seem fuzzier than they really are.
FollowupID: 375670

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:53

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 12:53
IMusty has this actually happened?
Let's not go on about bad raps too much, other 4wd forums seem to be obsessed with it at the moment. Sure everyone try to do the right thing, but let's just let everyone do their own thing and not harp on too much about the negatives... Sorry if I have a bee in my bonnet but I'm getting a little sick and tired of this reputation thing that's going around, there's enough politics in the 4wd clubs, let's not bring it here too.

Sure enough if there's a battle to be fought (ie Scruby etc) post it and let everyone fight the battle, but let's keep away from the "ooo I saw a car with an EO sticker going somewhere he shouldn't" crap If you know what I mean. Personally I feel I've always done the "right thing" so I'm not going to allow people like Scruby who keep the 4wd debate on fire make me look over my shoulder all day and tread of egg shells.

Just my 2c anyway! ;-)
AnswerID: 120493

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:11

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:11
Maybe Jeff I did not explain myself properly and for that I appologize.

I'm not talking about "vehicles" that go somewhere they "shouldn't" I am talking about just plonking a sticker on a remote sign as a fun thing to do. Some way to (Claim It). Oh ... we were here first b/s.

You havn't met me jeff, I'm just an ordanary bloke that tries to keep my country clean. Some would argue that I am not an ordany bloke BUT. BUT I still do try to keep my country clean : )

It is better for everyone to look after our Country by not placing PLASTIC stickers in the bush. Hey, come up with a bio-degradable paper one and some type of non toxic glue and I might have a different opinion. I don't know.

FollowupID: 375547

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:11

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 13:11
Ok, I've since read the post that obviously sparked this one (I read top to bottom, so yours came up first).

I know what your getting at IMusty and I can see your point, but I am also one that can see the fun in it too. Sure enough if you don't like the idea, then don't do it. I doubt that your going to find 5 million stickers all over the desert as they are only trying to find the most remote site.

I stick to my guns though, let's not harp on too much about what other people want to do, that's their business weather you or I agree with it or not. I do agree that cigarette buts, cans, bottles, etc etc etc are a nussance. (we always but our ciggies out in the car's ash tray when out bush or they go into the fire and get burned). But the reality is there's obivously lot's of people who don't share the same sentiment as I in that regard because any commonly used camp site I go to pretty much has one of these things, I try to not let it bother me, clean it up if it's bad and get on with enjoying my day. I don't harp on to others about what "I" think THEY should be doing, because I would get very upset if someone disagreed with something I was doing and did it to me.
FollowupID: 375548

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:32

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:32
Jeff if I do something you disagree with by all means let me know.

I'll give it unbiased consideration and change my ways if you have a legit point. I'll even ask other people to share their insights too.

I like growing.
FollowupID: 375582

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:46

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:46
Yeah IMusty each to their own, I'm just concerned about over regulation/legistslation, as I say I consider myself as someone who looks after the environment an trys to do the right thing, I just don't like to be dictated to by other people on how I should do it, a suggestion here or there is ok, but not a YOU MUST DO IT MY WAY COS IT'S RIGHT. If you get what I mean.
FollowupID: 375584

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 16:32

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 16:32
I do get what you mean Jeff. I really do.

I posted a reply to Mad Dog in 24731 and it's the closest I can get to really explaining how I see the subject.

"By placing a sticker there it's just like they are claiming ownership of it. Of the land. Of a part of the whole world.

Sing posts and management posts are (attempting) to manage the land, even if they don't achieve their goal. Or have a political agenda.

We are owned by the world. We are smaller that it. We are at it's mercy and I find it disrespectful and ignorant that we would even think we are equal to it. That is reality.

By leaving rubbish behind is saying I don't accept reality that it will end up a burden on someone or ... I don't accept reality that it will end up being a burden on the bush to cope with the extra chore of now adapting to the rubbish.

By sticking a sticker on a post not placed there for the sticking of stickers is saying "I don't accept reality" I think I am bigger than the whole. "I am bigger than the world"

Which of course we are not.

It is arrogance. It is rude. It is little. It is certainly as you point out, not me."

Jeff, we are reliant on each other in this world. It is a fact.

We co-exist. People with each other & People and the bush/natural.

And even re-reading what I write to Mad Dog it sounds like I am waffling on. BUT when you cut to the guts of it, what I am saying is essentially what you are saying.

BUT with a slight twist.

You feel like you are being dictated to by people BUT... I am being dictated to by the natural world, NOT people, because the scrub/bush/natural won't cope with plastic. It's an indisputable fact.

I accept that man, by being a nuisance to nature (and mans individual role) in attempting to prolong the life of parks and wildlife etc, man is in fact assisting the decease not increase. I.e. man is part of the problem.

For me though Jeff. I used to get caught in the way people did the 'talking' TP me. If someone spoke to me (say badly) I'd fight them. Now I let them speak badly, then "I" think about the message and act in the way "I" think is appropriate. The way I think is appropriate is the "world must be first".

Hey btw I aint got all the answers but I reckon I'm coming from it from the right direction. Only time will tell.

Regards iMusty

FollowupID: 375591

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:11

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:11
Sorry to cut in guys.I agree with Jeff WA,but lets not fall out with each other over it.My sticker is on the back window of the school bus.Jeff about 1pm on Sat.will do a bbq etc...,Carl is coming ,Did you ask Benny?
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 375613

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 00:59

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 00:59
Jeff M,

We both knew these stickers were bloody dangerous from a previous thread thanks to the venerable Mr Scruby. Looks like we've got iMusty with us as well :-)
FollowupID: 375694

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:35

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:35
Ahhhh iMusty...but 'tis a culture to put stickers in extraordinary places and a good way to get free adfvertising. Something for nothing.

Now if the sticker does annoy you then having the visitors book there must also annoy you...or the signpost denoting a place...or a gate in the middle of the Outback, or a fence line.....lets remove them all!

It has been happening for years and no, the stickers generally do not blow off and take forever to biodegrade. Some stickers have been on these edifices for years. Maybe you should take your bus for a run and take a look.

You can refer to me in terms that suit you but it is like water off a ducks back.

So, get a life, eh?
AnswerID: 120502

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:54

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 14:54
Ah Ha ... Willie!

So you're the bloke responsible for all the "Tom Wallace Cycles" signs painted on all the old dead trees, water tanks and dunnies etc .... GOTCHA !!!

Always wondered who it was ... now I know
WILLEM THE DEFACER strikes again

LOLOLOLOL
FollowupID: 375576

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:25

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:25
Willem...

By opening you big beak you display that things for you are anything but “water off a ducks back”.

It's graphiti to me. Nothing less.

I think it is offensive. You have the right to think otherwise.

The visitors book is not offensive, nor the gates, fences or the legitimate signposts.

A fence line is put there by rightfully owners as are gates in the middle of the outback. You might wanna have a proper look around the next time you're out there.

OH it's been happening for years so it MUST be OK.
Oh BILLY did it too. That's a childs argument.

FollowupID: 375580

Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:03

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 15:03
Hello - what have I started! woops. Ok I was just pointing out/reminding fellow punters that sticking stickers on public or private property (without permission) is vandalism by simple definition (even if the person doing it is having "fun"). You can not argue this fact. Whether you choose to do it or not is of course entirely up to the individual. I will be instructing my children that vandalism is not appropriate behaviour (they don’t know any better as yet)...though on the scale of 1 o 10, I suppose sticking stickers on signs rates Zero compared to what else they could get up to. It was just a thought. No big deal - lets get on with it...

AnswerID: 120503

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 16:38

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 16:38
IMusty you raise a very good point.

I've been at the Madigan Blaze tree (Camp 16 in a remote part of the North Simpson) twice in the past year.

Since last year, a 4wd accessory company has constructed a chain around the tree (good work!) but they have spoilt it all by putting their company's advertising all over a bronze plaque, and their company's "no bullsheet" logo stickers everywhere else. It is all "in your face".

Then the visitors book, which has entries dating back to 1986 has had umpteen pages taken up with stickers from two of the popular 4wd mags. They use flowery terms like "Expedition" for their trips to make them look like heros. These guys are DREAMERS!

This sort of advertising is bullsheet!! There companies are turning the Madigan Blaze tree into a billboard. This is different to the age old habit of placing business cards into a jam jar, or a small aluminium plaque on a post.

(NB I haven't seen exploroz stickers abused in this respect)

AnswerID: 120510

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:29

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:29
And you walk into a long drop to see 20 VB stubbies all in a long row like that was a feat to knock all them off.

But I can almost forgive that, because I was drunk once and I didn't know what I was doing.

But being a grown man and behaving like a juvenile is just a mystery to me.

I bet these very same tossers whine at the politicians acting like juveniles too.

It’s a mystery alright.

I don’t understand this sticker fetish at all. ???
FollowupID: 375606

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:36

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 17:36
Hi Phil,

just interested in your canopy, what weight to you think you at when you on a trip, ie fully loaded???

FollowupID: 375608

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:24

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:24
Austravel,
Just estimating as I haven't been over a weighbridge, and I think this is pretty honest for a remote desert trip where my wife goes too :-))

Vehicle 2100kg
+ 2 People 150kg
+ Fuel etc for big trip 280kg
+ water for big trip 140kg
+ bare canopy 180kg
+ extra accessories and spares, swags 200kgs
+ fridge, food etc 150kg

Total 3200kgs
GVM is 3300kgs.

I try to keep the weight under control - the stuff I build is light.

FollowupID: 375616

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 19:52

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 19:52
Thanks Phil.
FollowupID: 375639

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:48

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:48
What about the vandals that took a chunk out of the tree in the first place???
FollowupID: 375665

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:54

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:54
BTW Phill dont be srprised if you get a shock when you go over the weigh bridge I used to add what the stuff weighed like you do but there is an extra lump of lead stuck somwhere and I think its called Toyota undecalling weight of vehicle. Exploration utes i have used simular to yours are generally close too or over gvm BEFORE you put anything in the back. My 80 series lightly loaded came in at a tick under 3t!!! I magine if I had all the gear you had
FollowupID: 375667

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 10:04

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 10:04
"What about the vandals that took a chunk out of the tree in the first place???"

Hi Davoe, I know you're just having a bit of fun, but in 1939, Cecil Madigan turned a worthless tree into a piece of history. It's now priceless, and needs to be preserved, even though the blaze is grown over.
FollowupID: 375708

Reply By: Member - Ray - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:57

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 18:57
iMusty,
That's not a soapbox sticker I spy on your raised roof is it?
(sorry mate I just couldn't resist it. No offence intended.)
AnswerID: 120528

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 19:00

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 19:00
Oh offend offend.

I don't mind.

It's all in a days living.

Good gag, well recieved : )

take care
FollowupID: 375622

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 20:29

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 20:29
iMusty
Take nothing but photos, leave nothing but footprints, whole heartedly agree is a GREAT catchcry. If the visitors book can be stickered then OK with me, (expedition 21st century????) but not on our landscape or landmarks which we travel long distances to see and marvel at.

There are many pubs to leave your monika, undies, bras, stickers, stubby coolers, hats etc. Make a donation to the RFDS and the walls, ceiling and any other place within are yours to mark, but please not on our enviroment. Stick it, take a photo and then remove the sticker. Post it on the wwweb as a photo. Don"t leave it as an act of vandalism for others to participate in.

We all (I'm sure) pick up others rubbish, It would be a shame for me to have to remove "rubbish" in the way of a EO sticker from a place of interest/history.

Andy
AnswerID: 120555

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:53

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:53
stickers and more crap.
whats the go first it was dishwashing liquid(not you imusty) and now stickers.(yes you imusty lol)
when are enviromental greenies going to learn to shut there mouths and keep them shut.
as most people have a brain they dont need enviroMENTAL heros harping on about whats good for the enviroment and whats bad.
most but not all people realise that that driving of the track and running over plants ect isnt good/pouring oil down drains ect isnt good so on and so on.
if you dont like the sticker remove it but remember if you drove to the place where the sticker was found you have already stuffed the enviroment with your driving.
geez get over it.
AnswerID: 120571

Reply By: locallaw - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:02

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:02
Gidday All,A few years ago a friend of mine (who ownes a business)was going to put a sticker on the rear door of the local police van.As he crept up to the rear of the van (the ossifer was in the pub) he didnt see the large german shepherd in the rear.That dog went absolutley crazy and scared the living crap out of him.If it could of got it would have eaten him.This happened at Laura on the way up the Cape.We had a good laugh over this episode.
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 120576

Reply By: govo - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:25

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:25
GOD...I LOVED THIS POST...BEST FRIDAY FUNNIE I'VE READ IN A LONG TIME
AnswerID: 120585

Follow Up By: govo - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:28

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:28
o..by the way.............i saw a dropped mintee paper today.......discusting....it's moments like these......(:
FollowupID: 375678

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 13:24

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 13:24
i hope you picked it up
FollowupID: 375727

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 13:40

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 13:40
Yeah you can recycle it as toilet paper.
FollowupID: 375733

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 00:00

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 00:00
Considering I sort of started this mess with the comment about a sticker on the sign at Windy Corner (Talawana & Canning) I'll repost my response here as it's probably more appropriate.

>>PASTE/
Jeeeessus, I opened a can of wrigglys there.

Let me put a different spin on it from someone who has been there and seen it.

This sticker pales into insignificance compared with the following list of items found on the Canning Stock Route

Burnt out Land Rover
Burnt out Ford Explorer
God knows how many 44 gallon drums
90kg gas bottle
Remains of at least 3 trailers
Remains of 2 motorcycles
Remains of a carry me camper
Murray Rankins Trolley
Signs: new, old, burnt, historic,
Jars to leave messages in taped to sign posts
At fuel dump: bull bars, roof racks, tyres, jerry cans etc.
Toilet paper - for the love of Pete girls bury it. It's sand - digging a hole here is as easy as it gets!
Remains of wells

Consider the following
***Does writing a message on a well lid for the safety or information of following travellers constitute grafiti - or should the well lid not be there in the first place?
***Does the fact that recovering the wreck is more than a new vehicle is worth mean that it is right just to leave it on the side of the Canning?

Don't get me wrong, I grew up in National Parks in Vic as in a NP family. I beleive that impact should be minimal but this EO Sticker is inoffensive compared to the alternatives left by others.

Personally I think the greatest act of vandalism on the Canning is the appalling well restoration of Well 3 by Foothills 4wd Club using Waratah mesh fence, gal strapping, teck screws, treated pine posts etc. I admire the intention and the effort but travelling north to south it was SO disappointing to see this and the Chamberlain tractor club efforts at well restoration. I'd rather see them left as ruins. At least they have character.

The sticker harms no one or thing on the partially burnt Windy Corner sign on which it was left, no more than the message jar that is also there.

Have a look at the pics here and then decide for yourself. Click on the rather obvious link at the top of THIS PAGE (LINK).

PS iMusty, I admire your grafiti in the content of your post (the rotating doover). Should I wish to deface further messages (tongue firmly in cheek) how do I insert images into the body of a message - when I've tried in the past they ended up as links?
AnswerID: 120596

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 00:17

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 00:17
Yeah Jeez!!! Dave got to agree with IMusty, Its bad, Gunna lose sleep over that sticker.

FollowupID: 375691

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 11:26

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 11:26
!MPG:3!

Like this?

It's easy. If you're a member when you post, reply or follow up at the bottom of the box you type in (the one i'n typing in now) you get 3 options.
1. For links
2. For images
and another next to the Members box
3. Add Gallery Picture.

If you click Add Gallery picture it will take you to your gallery. You Gallery is the six pics you can load.

Simply click the pic and a small text message will apear in you post saying iMPG;3 or the like and when you actually submit the post, reply or followup the pic will be there.

There are a few drawbacks in doing this though.

First drawback is that you can not now remove the pic from you Gallery space for about a month.

The second. the pic needs to be less than 50K in size to upload so if like me you wanted to put a pair of pants you'd need to either find a pic small enough or make your pic smaller in size to be 49.9K. Well it's not really a drawback but a bit of a hassle as I dont know how to make them smaller. I email pic to a friend and say "make this 49K".

try one.

Just reply to this post and you'll see the option at the bottom of the text box.

have fun.

iMusty.

FollowupID: 375716

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 12:30

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 12:30
Just a small correction there Dave

Windy Corner is at the start/junction of the Talawana Track and Gary Hwy, 56km south of Wau Wau Bore and the Veevers Crater turn off.

And yes, I will admit to putting an EO sticker on the post at the intersection of Talawana Track and the CSR
FollowupID: 375721

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 13:47

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 13:47
and we wont say anything about the geocache's littering the country
FollowupID: 375736

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 18:18

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 18:18
Thanks iMusty,

Wondered what the Add Gallery was about but hadn't tried it - when you can't go back and edit messages like on some other forums major stuff ups are embarrassing.

I guess before it burnt that windy corner sign - or what's left of it - must have had an arrow on it. I just assumed that it was stating a location rather than a destination.

And as for Ray, I don't know if your comment was serious or tongue in cheek but the defining difference between a geocache and litter to me is that you can see the litter in plain view, and it was discarded by someone who was careless, thoughtless and lazy, it is unsightly and serves no purpose.

If you can see a geocache there is something very wrong - and it won't be there for long either! There's nothing more annoying than your geocache being muggled. Geocachers go to extraordinary lengths to hide well thought out and executed caches.

There are 183273 active caches in 215 countries.
In the last 7 days, there have been 128318 new logs written by 22876 account holders. Caches are generally placed with a maintenance plan in mind for their upkeep and removal if necessary.

FollowupID: 375767

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 17:44

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 17:44
iMusty, I've got to take you to task here.
In an early follow up you said 'I'm just an ordinary bloke'.

Biggest fib I've seen for a while. I don't think there is anything ordinary about you!!! Extraordinary I'd say, but got to luv ya.
AnswerID: 120660

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 17:58

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 17:58
Placing an EO sticker or any other in the scrub is NO different than the graffitti perpertrated by spray can in most parts of Aus ,,, lets get real, its blatant vandalism and should be treated as such, how would you like it if some toerag spray painted the EO symbol all over YOUR HOUSE. laugh now ,was only a bit of fun.
AnswerID: 120662

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 20:57

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 20:57
I've always wanted to catch a vandal.

Now that they're putting their hands up so brazenly it will be a whole lot of fun to eventually meet.

Time ticks on.

And now, it is just a matter of time.

FollowupID: 375780

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 21:10

Saturday, Jul 16, 2005 at 21:10
Are we talking about yourself, taking your vehicle onto tracks that are not suited causing damage to the track.
"Thats Vandalism"

FollowupID: 375782

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 00:46

Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 00:46
It'll be real nice to meet you John.

That'll come around too.
FollowupID: 375803

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 00:59

Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 00:59
So you enjoy applying labels to others, but when they are applied to you you get upset???

Oh thats right your Mr Perfect! no environmental damage caused by you.

Meet you, you really think I'm worried about that?

FollowupID: 375804

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 10:24

Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 10:24
No I don't think you're worried.

You're to stupid for that.

FollowupID: 375823

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 11:46

Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 11:46
It's very dissapointing to see you guys carrying on like this on the forum. How about taking it somewhere else.
FollowupID: 375833

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 12:33

Sunday, Jul 17, 2005 at 12:33
You are correct Ray, it is disappointing to see someone launch an attack at another individual with the character and personality of that individual held in the highest degree by those of us who know him personally.

Especially when that attack is launched by an individual who by his own admission holds matter of the environment and the law in the greatest of contempt. Lets face it "People in Glass Houses etc etc"

Its further disappointing when that same individual then gets his knickers in a knot because someone calls him to task over his admissions and attitude and then responds with irrational comments that are tantamount to threats.
I guess that really shows the true character of the individual.

Yes Ray I believe you are correct and he should take it somewhere else.

FollowupID: 375837