birdsville track

Submitted: Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 16:30
ThreadID: 24965 Views:1551 Replies:1 FollowUps:3
goodday all
does anybody know if the graders are making a move on the track yet as we have not entirely given up going to birdsville but towing the van up a badly rutted track after the rains isnt my idea of fun if it is still badly rutted next year will be on the agenda without the vans

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 18:21

Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 18:21
G'day Steve,

When we travelled the track almost 2 weeks ago (just after it had been re-opened), it was quite satisfactory; even for a c'van as long as care is exercised.

Of course, at that stage, there was water over the road at certain spots; quite a lot at Claytons Bore......quite easy to get through for a 4x4 as the bottom was very firm etc. However, that would have all gone by now.

Ruth might be able to give you an even more up to date appraisal.

Cheers mate and have a gr8 trip.

AnswerID: 121635

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 19:22

Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 19:22
goodday roachie
just reading your trip report??or mis report

some of the road reports say large wheel ruts and willem said the graders wwere waiting at marree to head out ,i dont need a perfect rd but can do with out any deep whell ruts to get caught in they can create to many hazards rollover chassis damage etc so at this stage only 13 sleeps to go we wait

looks like you had a good trip anyway

FollowupID: 376811

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 19:24

Friday, Jul 22, 2005 at 19:24
PS we want to keep going north after crossing the simpson and the wheel ruts appear to be towards boulia

FollowupID: 376813

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 23, 2005 at 18:22

Saturday, Jul 23, 2005 at 18:22
Steve, have no worries about the Boulia leg. We went that way after the National and your Nissan and the caravan will have no trouble.......... Say g'day to the lovely Ruth and Ian won't you
FollowupID: 376924