Travel around Australia

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 20:27
ThreadID: 25081 Views:3173 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
G'day all,
My wife an I, both in our mid 30's are looking to travel around Australia for around 12 months. At this stage we are looking to tow a campertrailer of some description with a 79 series turbo diesel ute. We would like to work for some of the time to top up our funds. Any advice on campertrailers, and where to look for work and any other things that people in a similar position have found useful would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Jack

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 20:52

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 20:52
what do you both do?? big skills shortages in the goldfields and Pilbara working for 20-30 dollars per hour would certainly beat picking fruit for slave labour pay
AnswerID: 122186

Follow Up By: jack74 - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:00

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:00
we are both employed in the finance industry presently but come from a rural/farming background. Would look at almost any type of work.
FollowupID: 377357

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 00:55

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 00:55
my advice when you hit the big centers is put your name down at all the employment agencies, you might need a marcsta and health surveilance but they arnt that dear and easy to get. stacks of jobs both in mining and out as alot head to the mines leving shortages in the private businesses. There is at least 7 agencies in Kalgoorlie alone and the hardest part is choosing which job
FollowupID: 377398

Reply By: kat - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 00:38

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 00:38
hi jack!
When are you looking at travelling around oz?? My hubby and I are planning to travel for 12months in 2007 with our 2 kids(will be 11 and 7 then) but as we are planning to be in the snow fields in winter there is no way in hell we are sleeping in a tent of any sort!! We are planning on towing a 20ft caravan behind an 80 series diesel(when I can find a good one that is.... after I sell my current car too)
Have you thought about getting one of them pop out style caravans?? The comforts of home on a smaller scale and really light to tow(obviously not big enough for the 4 of us for 12 mths) and if its just the 2 of you it might be more comfortable for the 12 months.Maybe im just being girly(and young im 28) but just another option to look at.
As for work a grey nomad friend of ours told us if we wanted to find work in any town just ask at the local post office or roadhouse as they can always tell you whats around.
We are saving now to try to not have to work whilst on the road but if we had to my hubby is a painter by trade but has been working as a TA in the mining industry for 12 months on $30+ per hour.If you can rid horses there is a farm hand shortage out there and whilst the pay might not be great you still get to experience what oz has to offer.
Where are your located in oz?? Im here in WA and there is a recruitment agency which specialises in farm/rural employment.I am sure other states have them too.Maybe register with them.
GOOD LUCK
CHEERS
katrina
AnswerID: 122228

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 10:49

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 10:49
"as we are planning to be in the snow fields in winter there is no way in hell we are sleeping in a tent of any sort"
Wimp lol lol
FollowupID: 377441

Reply By: pump tec - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 14:35

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 14:35
Hi Jack my hubby and I and our dog travelled Oz in 2002 we are in our 30s and obtained heaps of work in WA which was where we wanted to work we left Qld and by the time we got to WA down round Albany and Mt Barker there was heaps of work in the wineries and nurserys . We were lucky enough to work for a great family at the Bandicoot Nursery in Mt Barker ! We towed a kwik camper and had a cruiser fitted out with a canopy to accomodate our dog... We camped at lots of State forests and free spots to save moula. As long as you are prepared to work hard and get your hands dirty you won't have ANY probs finding work. cheers Mrs Pump
AnswerID: 122294

Reply By: lloyd1977 - Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 15:22

Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 15:22
gday jack there are alot o f camper trailer joints around but be very carful at what you buy i can recommend a place they are in melbourne and they build a excelent camper trailer ill give you a phone number and ask for locky he would be more than happy to help you there number is 0397869113 they are called casuarina campers
AnswerID: 122871