A few pix

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:47
ThreadID: 25105 Views:1611 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
A few pix from my recent sojurn west of Alice.

" Hope you enjoy these

Footy

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:00

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:00
Nice pictures Footy. Hope your knee is better now
Nothing worse than not feeling 100% when on holidays
AnswerID: 122322

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:04

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:04
Thanks George. Taking pix was interesting as I borrowed the missus's digi cam. Point and click. No effort required, and pleasing results...much to my amazement. It was all new to me :)
FollowupID: 377509

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:12

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:12
Great stuff Footloose. Hope you're well and truly mended. May need to carry a bash hat for corrugations in future. Can't trust those seat belts forever. But then again, a sunroof might look good on the truck ;-)
AnswerID: 122327

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:21

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:21
Gramps, it was the first physical workout I'd had in years. Can't say I want to repeat it...was too busy getting back to the Tanami to take many pix of that bit.
FollowupID: 377512

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 08:56

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 08:56
Footloose,

You probably have everything under control by now but make sure you talk to your quack about your experiences on this trip. Better to suffer a short suspension of freedom for a few tests etc than risk a lengthier one. At our age it pays to cover all bases. My apologies if you think I'm prying.
FollowupID: 377643

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 09:28

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 09:28
Gramps, you're right of course. No you're not prying, as you might know when you get a bit older things start to go wrong. The trick is not to ignore them but to live with them. I have a few serious medical probs but I'm lucky that they kinda slow me down rather than prevent me from doing things. Thats why I had to wrestle with the tyre, a younger bloke would have done it in quicktime.
Thanks and take care
FollowupID: 377653

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:19

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:19
goodday footy
nice pics and story
pity about the aches and pains
liked the poetry to

AnswerID: 122330

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 17:23
Hi. Yes they are still a bit of a mystery to me, bush fever ?? Took me a week to unload the vehicle...and I'm still not all that with it. I must be crook as I found myself thinking ...hmm maybe August/Sept I could go again. :)))
FollowupID: 377513

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 18:18

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 18:18
Gday Footloose,shame you didnt get as far as you wanted to,beautiful country out there.Still sounds like you had an adventure anyway.
AnswerID: 122338

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:10

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:10
Hi Nick, yes its fantastic country there. Next time .......
FollowupID: 377557

Reply By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 18:32

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 18:32
good onya footloose,top photos
regards toohey.
AnswerID: 122343

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:08

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:08
Thanks mate. Didn't really know how to use wifes new digi camera. Good thing is they are built for dummies. I have the old Cannon stuff, but by the time I set it up the shots gone.
FollowupID: 377556

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 19:12

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 19:12
Great pics, Jim

Mate, get a set of Speedy 16 inch tubeles steel rims and some good rubber and you will forget about punctures. I changed from splits about a year a go and now wonder why I was so stubborn about it before.

I can relate to the knee problem. It seems to come with mature age lol

We passed through the same country west of Alice in April. It was as dry as an old camels' fart and the flies drove us insane but the experience and the scenery was worth it.
AnswerID: 122361

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 19:16

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 19:16
Hi Willem, yes I was reluctant but now thinking seriously. One of the locals arrived in the rain to borrow a wheelbrace. He'd just driven a troopy 17K on a flat tyre...tubeless ! The rim wasn't even square !
FollowupID: 377533

Reply By: motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 19:33

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 19:33
Quite an adventure! Great pics - thanks for sharing it with us.
AnswerID: 122367

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:12

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:12
Thanks Motherhen. Its given me enough stories to tell until the next trip :)) The people, the places....
FollowupID: 377559

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:03

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:03
FL great story and pics. Strange how you get these sudden injuries without reason. Copped a similar injury in my foot while at Uluru a few years back sudden pain in my foot and unable to walk without bad pain for over a week. Went as quick as it came.

Again good store and photos.

AnswerID: 122380

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:06

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 20:06
Thanks Dunc. Yes it was wierd, as it kept me awake one night. As in serious pain. I couldn't stand, had to crawl to the loo. But it just kinda slowly came good.
FollowupID: 377555

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:57

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:57
Jim

Great photos. A lot of familiar country. I love the one of the range in the distance with the vegetation in the foreground and the blue sky with cloud.

I think you better start planning your next trip right now.
AnswerID: 122414

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 06:46

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 06:46
Bob, I already have :)) Aren't you supposed to be in that area soon ? If so I'll be very interested in how you find things.
Pix were just get out , hold camera and click (and hope). In my case they were secondary considerations, but I've done too many trips with too few photos. Digital cams are the best thing for me since sliced bread.
FollowupID: 377627

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 08:47
Hey Footy,Sorry 'bout the sor leggy..Try rubbing Go-Anna oil into it..Don't drink it or you'l start stelain' eggs and climbing trees..Love the pix & story..Does that mean there is a little "sadist" in all of us?.."least you had the courage/determination to keep riting/photographing..Good thing about digital photography,our skill level should improve quickly as we can see results instantly and do it all over again,better..Better take a "roof top camper" on your nex adventure..Have fun..RockyOne!MPG:6!
AnswerID: 122481

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 09:22

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 09:22
Rocky, tried the "Go Anna" oil trick at 3 ways. Made it much worse. Wierd, as this is usually magic stuff
FollowupID: 377647

Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 11:03

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 11:03
Hi footloose glad your back safely and feeling better, sounds like that knee gave you hell. All's well I hope and you are preparing for another adventure. Loved The poem great stuff. Take Care Vitara
AnswerID: 122508

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 12:38

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 12:38
Thanks Vitara. Yes the knee was pain with a capital P. Had a kidney stone last year, same degree of pain. The wierd part is that it just went away by itself, and I'm wondering if I damaged something unknowingly. I guess that might explain it.
FollowupID: 377693

Follow Up By: vitara - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 13:16

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 13:16
Hi Footloose,yeah possibly you might have nealt down and twisted it without knowing.Do you suffer from any form of gout that is very painfull and just comes and goes or maybe a bit of arthritus (not being a smart ars@) as I suffer from both and am only 37 Arthritus in my wrists and get gout in my foot and I'm not a big drinker. The gout is very painfull sometimes I'm lucky if I can walk on my foot. Get it more after summer from water skiing. Any way what ever it was lets hope it doesn't return again. Take Care Vitara
FollowupID: 377701