Submitted: Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 16:06
Jarrod
Hi all, Im headin south from
Melbourne to Tassie, puttin the cruiser on the boat, in two weeks. Gunna be there for about a week. I have a few ideas of what to look at but in your opinion, "WHAT SHOULD I NOT MISS?" ive done searches on the
forum, got some great ideas from here, but would love to hear any current ideas, and things that may be better than others, this time of year?
Oh - I should have mentioned, ( Stupid me!) My cruiser Is Very capable and
well equiped for 4x4 ing, and i plan on
camping - no facilities required.
The other thing is - What maps ( for use in Ozi explorer) should I be looking at ? I prefer 1:25k for 4x4 work, is there anything available? - If anyone has some Maps, that I might be able to "review" - I can lend you some of
mine (whole state at 1:25,000, melways 2005, CFA maps) if you need to "review" them.
Thanks in advance,
Jarrod.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 16:37
Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 16:37
Get the Chris Boden book 4wd Tracks in Tasmania (Off Road Tasmania)
Montezuma Falls is a great little drive will kill about 1/2 a day but it will be bloody wet and bloody freezing down there at this time of year, i think you will find a lot of
tracks closed due to Snow and the Winter conditions in general.
Finally 1 week won't be enough, I spent 3 weeks down there in January, 4000 plus Km's and all I did was scratch the surface, you need 3 months.
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 21:24
Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 21:24
G'day Jarrod,
Gotta agree with John, we spent 3 weeks there in a motor home and still missed a lot. Want to go back for a month in the 4by to see the rest.
Highlight of the trip was a trip to seal rock and Maria Isl. with a small operator working out of Triabunna, 0430 start, but awsome day!
The 'remarkable caves' while at
Port Arthur is also
well worth the walk, as is
wineglass bay on the Freycinet Peninula.
The drive through Hellyer gorge is not to be missed, the huon pine forest airwalk, the
Bay of fires, bush walks at Cradle maintain, mate you could fill a book.
The whole state is one big picture post card, there are spectacular
views and something of interest no matter where you go.
We found the "Lonely Planet Guide to Tasmania" a wealth of information and wouldn't go back without it, as it's information leans towards backpackers and people on a budget, full of free and cheap
camp sites and tours, aswell as the usual touristy stuff.
Enjoy your time there and you may as
well start planning your 2nd trip there now!
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 22:59
Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 22:59
Man,not even us Tasmanians go
camping this time of year.
Reply By: rihearn - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 05:00
Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 05:00
West coast from
Arthur river to
Sandy Cape 4wd track, difficult rating.
Arthur River to Corinna is an unsealed track over some nice scenery and you can
camp in the old loggers
camp at
Corinna, it was a bit cold in April when we camped there. It was nice in the morning with the mist on the river though.
Montezuma falls is nice and the wet will add to the challenge a little but probably not too much. It was wet when I did it and we saw a territory in at the end, though he did mention he'd knocked a few thousand dollars off the value getting there.
Theres a nice 4wd only access c'site at
Bluestone bay at Freycinet,
well worth a look and free. The bay at the bottom of the track is nice and secluded.
For a c'site free of fees and facilities, Lake Gardiner at
Moina is great
Reply By: Boo - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:52
Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:52
Hi Jarrod,
Can only second what everyone else has said, we spent 10 days there and barely scratched the surface. It also depends on if its just yourself or if your a family group, we took three kids with us and so tried to find things for adults and kids, however we found that wasn't as difficult as we had thought it may have been. We had thought that
places like Port Authur may not have interested the kids all that much, but we spent a whole day roaming around including the cruise around the islands and then did the ghost tour in the evening and the kids are still talking about it a couple of years later. If your travelling through
Bicheno on the coast then get yourselves on the
penguin tour, it was fantastic, while your roaming around their nests the penguins are wondering past you, right between your feet. However I would suggest you take plenty of warm clothing, we were there in January and it didn't get about 18 on a good day. It was snowing on top of Mt
Wellington when we were there and that was summer.
We plan on returning for a longer visit when its just the two of us to see what we missed the first time.
Good luck with the
camping!!
Kerrie