travelling with kids

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 15:41
ThreadID: 25219 Views:3994 Replies:18 FollowUps:20
Can anyone please give some simple advice on travelling with a 2 and a 4 year old over long distances.Any advice is appreciated but a vehicle d.v.d is not an option(unFORTUNE-ately).Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 15:49

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 15:49
We used one of the those $199 DVD players on our trip that we slung between the seats for the kids to watch. As they are not an option, try "I spy with my Little Eye"
AnswerID: 122997

Reply By: J.T. - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 15:49

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 15:49
sorry about the double question I made a stuff up
AnswerID: 122998

Reply By: Member Eric - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:20

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:20
Make up a storage box between them both with 2 hinged boards that can swing onto there lap . In the center have there pencils and plenty of paper , coloring books ect
AnswerID: 123002

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:55

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:55
i would love to see where you put one of them in your rig with all your gizmos and gadgets lol.
FollowupID: 378129

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:57

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:57
with mine you need a type of cargo barrier across the rear seat
then good quality earmuffs with inbuilt speakers that plug into the mp3 player
almost forget ...add a whip to the drivers console
FollowupID: 378130

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:49

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:49
the most simple advice i can give you is.
leave them with the inlaws.
AnswerID: 123006

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:54

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:54
i'm with you on this one....
or simply ...travelling with kids?...Dont do It!
FollowupID: 378128

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:58

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:58
i thing in your case is more a case of your kids not wanting to travel with you.
you know with that head and all.
i also wont mention thoose legs lol.
cheers matey.
FollowupID: 378131

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:01

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:01
you wer'nt supposed to say that...gee you know how to hurt
FollowupID: 378132

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:42

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:42
lucky you dont have feelings
FollowupID: 378140

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:12

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:12
i have broad sholders...i can take all the crap you throw at me........
FollowupID: 378143

Reply By: J.T. - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:56

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 16:56
all good advice,$200 for a Dvd player is bloody cheap.Would cost more emotionally to involve the inlaws.Dvd it is.Thanks all.
AnswerID: 123008

Reply By: arthurking83 - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:17

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:17
All things being relative, define long distance!
ie. To my kids; anything over 300Kms
To my wife; anything over 32.5kms
To me; anything that takes more than 24hours! :)

Just keep telling them "we're nearly there"
AnswerID: 123014

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:17

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:17
We've travelled with ours since they were toddlers. Both boys, they enjoy their gameboys and that keeps em occupied for long stretches. But really, a bit of commonsense and good old fashioned parental control doesn't go amiss. Don't give in to their every whim because you make a rod for your own back. We went away with another couple and they were stopping every half hour to give their little treasures a distraction (from a wee to a look at the horses) we eventually ignored their stops and just carried on, and met up when we arrived. They kept feeding them drinks all the time and of course it needed to come out the other end. We find if you communicate and try to play word games (spelling contests or I-spy). Gets a bit tedious after a while but helps. I suppose word games may be a bit beyond them at the moment but when you start them travelling at an early age, they get used to it. Just don't over indulge. On the other hand, don't be too strict, a thrashing every hour is enough.
AnswerID: 123015

Reply By: Moggs - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:27

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 17:27
Easy...Fernergan (sp?) or childerens Nurofen. :)

I have a 5 year old and a 1.5 year old. Longest trip they have done is 14 hours with about a 1 hour stop. DVD player saved us from going insane - as did the colouring books. Don't need a fold down table - a stable table does the job fine - and is also handy at camp.
AnswerID: 123018

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:30

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:30
Obviously you guys are from the Eastern States???

What the hell does that mean??? ...or have to do with anything.

Good luck to you and your kids enjoying 4wdriving and camping. Maybe if you save up a whole $200 one day you can treat them and buy a DVD player ;-)
FollowupID: 378227

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:32

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:32
Ooops...sorry, wrong place. I was just distracted by my good fortune and wealth to be located on the Eastern seaboard.
FollowupID: 378228

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:00

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:00
Never more than 500k per day .Stop every 2 hrs to let them run , lots of mind games , i spy , count wind mills , silly songs , lots of fruit creates the stop , travel by THEIR abillity not yours ,, when asked are we there yet ,answer with "where are we going, what do YOU think we will see " ,, create the game as you go along ,, PUTTING IN A DVD ECT DEFEATS THE PURPOSE could have stayed home ,, our 7 yr old loves to travel , he remembers big red from when he was 3,
AnswerID: 123022

Follow Up By: Moggs - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:21

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:21
Absolutely disagree that putting in a DVD defeats the purpose of travel. When you have young kids the idea is to get there as painlessly as possible and then enjoy 24/7 with the family when you arrive without the TV, toys etc - enjoying the outdoors as a family.

When kids are 5 years old they have no interest / ability to enjoy the scenery or the actual travelling part of the trip IMHO.

So, families like mine have a choice - don't go as the travel is too hard with the kids - and then miss out on the great time we all have camping. Or, go, and try and make the 'getting there' bit of the holiday as painless as possible.

I really hate the "if you are going to do that...may as well stay at home" mentallity. Each enjoys the idea of 'getting out there' at different levels. No-one has the right to tell others how it should or should not be done. Everyone is different, and the main aim is to actually get the kids somewhere where you can be a 'family' without the day to day stresses of home.

With all due respect Alloy CT, pull ya head in and don't be so self righteous.
FollowupID: 378144

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:02

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:02
I agree with Alloy .... if the purpose of the trip is a very long drive so you can look out the window at the scenery...... the the kids miss out when watching a DVD.

Fortunately we have a different purpose.... to travel to new places and meet new people and explore new places. The drive is not our purpose so a DVD player in the car doesn't affect our purpose.

I guess you should not have books and pencils and games for the kids or adults in the car as it might distract you from the tedium of the driving part of the trip.

I am rich in sarcasm tonight!! Late night last night me thinks!

FollowupID: 378154

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:07

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:07
I'm with Moggs. For the kids the journey is not part of the fun most of the time, it's the destination.

Alloy, let your kids choose the destination for your next trip and see how you enjoy 6 hours in the local playground.

You might want to take a DVD player with you I reckon.
FollowupID: 378155

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:26

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:26
Obviously you guys are from the eastern states...

DVD players are great if they are within your budget (they are pretty cheap now).

The kids don't spend the entire trip watching them anyway, just when they are getting board with seeing the same scenary for the last 5 hours it gives them a break and allows you to keep on truckin.

I have a 7 year old and a 9 month old and they travel very well and LOVE 4wding and camping.

FollowupID: 378225

Reply By: Casnat - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:15

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:15
There's a few articles on this subject on this site under the "On the Road" tab at the top of this page

Trevor
AnswerID: 123025

Reply By: Pud & Barb - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:20

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:20
We sling a bag over each front seat that doubles as a strorage bag and a table, (K-Mart). A DVD player each, (2 kids), one that plays music as well,(own head phones is a must for parents sanity). A munchies bag. A diary, puzzle, maze colouring books etc. We have travelled with them since babies, now 8 & 10. We live in Yass and have been up the centre a couple of times, over to Broome, Cape York, and most recently the Simpson where they had their own DVD's and we have all survived. Your own set of head phones to block their noise out is a great idea as well. Good luck.
AnswerID: 123026

Reply By: tildo - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:28

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:28
totally agree with alloy....we have 3 boys....now aged 12 , 14 and 17, and have had camping holidays with them since they were in nappies often travelling up to 10,000 klm....and we have never seen a problem with having lots of breaks.....you seem to see more ....if time is a problem.......maybe people should not try to take on so much
AnswerID: 123029

Follow Up By: ev700 - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:23

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:23
That is a good commsense approach

We start reasonably early and only travel a few hours in all each day not counting the stops.

Children ache all over if made to sit in the one place for long periods and the fact is that we should also take better care of ourselves by taking less time at the wheel fixated on the narrow black strip.

What is there about Australians that we seem to value distance travelled over enjoying the trip?
FollowupID: 378157

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:48

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 20:48
it isn't an "Australian" thing. A lot of us have time constraints which means we have to get the journey done as work commitments permit. The whole thing is commonsense. Yes, silly songs, I spy, coluring books, reading books, conversation, whatever their current toy/gameboy or similar. It's never been a problem for us. I do think too much indulgence encourages the demands and "I wants" as we've seen with others. Before we went to the Whitsundays in two consecutive 11 hour days drive, we put it to our kids (now 9+11) "will you be ok in the car for two long days or would you like to go somewhere nearer but the water will be too cold"? They surprised us with their answer that "it'll be worth it when we get there". Must say as well, there's a nice family togetherness on these long trips.
FollowupID: 378158

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:55

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 18:55
Maybe try changing the seating positions every few hours ? Plenty of games and drinks. Play I spy etc .
AnswerID: 123035

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:09

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:09
I tried that once Footie but Kiralee (3yo) couldn't reach the pedals when it was her turn in the driver's seat.
FollowupID: 378241

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:14

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:14
Don't worry mate. In no time at all she'll be the one driving and telling you to shut up in the back seat :))
FollowupID: 378242

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:30

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:30
When I didn't have a back seat she knew where her place was!!!!!
MPG:4!
FollowupID: 378245

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:31

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:31
!MPG:4!
FollowupID: 378246

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:36

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:36
She's a cutie....but dont let that fool you. Lock the keys away the moment she can say the word "boy". :)))
FollowupID: 378247

Reply By: Bootha - Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 21:53

Sunday, Jul 31, 2005 at 21:53
G'day J.T.

My wife and I have similar aged kids and used to be driven insane by the end of a 6 hour trip to Grandmas. So we lashed out and purchased a dvd player from Aldi for about 200 or 250 dollars and it has been worth every cent. Now the only argument is which movie they watch first.
AnswerID: 123074

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 10:53

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 10:53
Hi J.T, we've got 2 kids aged 4 and 6.

We actually bought them a DVD player each and I know there is a lot of talk about DVD player's, but we use it as an event during travel. For example, we'll travel for 2 hours BEFORE they can watch a movie. Or when we are travelling down the Hume Hwy with not much to see, that's when we'll let them watch a movie.

Itinery is very important as well. We plan plenty of lengthy stops. We don't just stop for 10 minutes. For example, when travelling to Melbourne, we might stay overnight in Gundagai and we'll stop for an hour or 2 in maybe Goulbourn. Stop at a park, let them have a run around etc. Then on day 2, we'll stop at Albury for an hour at a park and have lunch.

I agree with what was said above about not travelling too far in a day. Our limit is probably 500-600 is a day, otherwise it just isn't fair on the kids. As it is, that's 6 hours or more sitting still in a seat, which is tough for adults!

The DVD's cost us about $250 each eand they each have headphones. It means they don't fight over what movie to watch. There's a photo of the set up in my profile.

Also, depending on where you are going, sometimes the journey is interesting, some times it isn't. We went to the snow and the kids loved looking out the window. When we're driving from Albury to Melbourne along the Hume, EVEN I have trouble not falling asleep :-)

Cheers and enjoy.

Jason.
AnswerID: 123112

Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 13:07

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 13:07
I have one word for you...DVD (or is that 3) we have a 2 & 6 year old. The DVD gets them in the car they get bored with that after one DVD and then sleep for a while and then wake up and want to look around and have a chat. We have cut the " Are we there yet's down by 80%"

DVD is cheaper than panadol in the end ( for the driver)

SKinny
AnswerID: 123127

Reply By: Member - Chas O (NT) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:25

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:25
Im a DVD fan as well but we have travelled Tasmania Perth return in 2000 with a 2yo before DVDs.
Wiggles tapes (now CDs) and books on tape as well as the wild life windmills where amusements while driving.
Plenty of yummy low sugar food and drinks.
Stops on wake up or soon after.
Stops when you just want to keep driving!
Stops every couple of hours at playgrounds in the park or Macdonalds!!
Carry a ball for the times there is no facilities (soccer, throwing, catch)
We had a station wagon at the time and a bench seat so, luckily, we all sat up the front (with the back full of gear) this made entertainment easy.
As a bloke it was frustrating at first, especially with all the stops and not driving past 3pm on the first couple of days but by the end we put in some big days with no problems.

Now with the DVD I have also purchased a cheap inverter and with a battery pack a x-box games consol can be used with the DVD. This has entertained the kids well for the last 18 months traveling over 50000km.
It does not mean the kids dont get bored! I dont blame them on some of the epic drives we have done lately.
What I have noticed is the kids now rely less on the DVD player and spent more than 50% of the time checking out the scenery and talking to me.
AnswerID: 123146

Reply By: kat - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 23:43

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 23:43
Hi!
looks like its all been said before me but I will addin my 2 cents! Ive got 2 kids 9.5yrs and 5 yrs
We travelled to Exmouth(14 L O N G hours from home) a couple of months ago and all i can say is THANK GOD for dvd players. i got mine for $229 with all teh bits and bobs. What a fantastic investment. We left home at 8pm at night(heh they sleep better in the dark) and they watched their first movie then slept for a couple of hours then watched another one...slept etc. I am so glad we did it at night(even though I was totally xhausted by the time we got there...lots of coffee stops on the way) coz when day broke at Canarvon(breakfast stop) the rest of the trip was boring... all the kids got to look at was spinifex...spinifex....spinifex...ooooh ant hill....spinifex...etc
we drove home during the day(left Exmouth 7am to avoid the BIG roos) and all I can say is I know the definition of HELL now! Daylight means limited sleep and lots of tantrums!!! And that was just from me and my hubby!LOL
My advice is if you have a long uninteresting drive..travel at night and seriously try for a portable dvd player.besides even though I am sure your 2 year old is smart but games like eye spy are not really suited to him.
CHEERS
katrina
AnswerID: 123260