Submitted: Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:15
colski
My old man has a GU 4.2TD Patrol, does lots of caravaning and country travel. Had a bout of bad performance and economy and found the filter gunked up so replaced that and now heaps better. This got him thinking about getting better airflow into it.
He's thinking of putting on a
snorkel, how much benefit have people found from putting on a
snorkel (he does no
water work so no need for the height) and do you/should you also mate them with an after-market filter (eg K&N)?
Colin
Reply By: Andrew (Whyalla) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:36
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:36
A
snorkel will pay for itself pretty quicly if doing lots of dirt road driving and offroading. Performance gain is negligible if at all.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 02:41
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 02:41
How so ? I have done about 8000k since I put a new filter in and alot of that has been off road- dirt when i pulled it out for a tap out it certainly looked clean enough and acouple of taps and most of the dust gone. Maybe they may be of more benifit on busy dirt roads or when travelling in convoy. I am planning to get one one day but am a bit concerned on ripping it off in scrub - the last place I worked actually removed them before they got ripped off (cant get 79s without them anymore)
Will be over your way in a couple of weeks
Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 08:48
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 08:48
Stopping here or just passing through?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:53
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:53
for the Weekend visiting family I am sure you know them Ann and Pat
Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 21:06
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 21:06
yep, sure do
that explains why Pat is in such a hurry to get the OME fitted to the Playdo. impress the relatives
8-))))
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 21:36
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 21:36
I am looking forward to see how the other half go 4wding i have a 10 year old 80 with standard 1hz. Hoping i can have a look around some of the areas youse will be touring for the open day
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:03
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:03
The
Snorkel would help with dust but the power advantage is hardly noticable. You must still change the filter as regular. I blow
mine out after each dusty trip.
At this stage K&N do not make a filter for the GU.TD.
As the filter is easy to get at regular cleaning is a breeze excuse the pun.
Follow Up By: sevo - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:09
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:09
Gday Dodger,
K&N do make a air filter to suit GU patrols. I have one , its for sale as i have sold my patrol.
cheers Sevo
Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:14
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:14
Sevo , send details via member message.
Follow Up By: sevo - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:25
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:25
Gday Dodger,
I cannot send message as im not a member, send me your email and i will reply.
cheers Sevo
Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:17
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:17
Colin, Yes a
snorkel is an advantage particularly in dusty conditions cleaner air is a benifit to any motor. I personally have been everwhere in AUSY from
cape york to the bottom of TASSY and tranversed many dirt corragated roads in my travels all with
snorkel fitted my filter kept much cleaner so I would not hesitate to fit one, I have safari fitted to
mine.But if you want real performance then look at the advertising on the foram page mate it WORKS and is guarenteed.Hows this guys and I did not mention a name and that should keep some knockers happy?
Regards BILL ps I run a 80srs L/C t/d
Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:50
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:50
LOL, never miss an opportunity do you Bill. Oh
well, it must be pretty good since you devote so much energy to flogging the thing ;-)
Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:52
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:52
BTW Bill, if you travelled ALL of those roads with a
Snorkel fitted for ALL of them - how would you know if it kept your filter cleaner than WITHOUT a
snorkel?
hey...this throwing in a word in capitals is pretty cool :-)
Reply By: colski - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:47
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:47
Hi Sevo,
How did you find your K&N filter went for you?
Col
Follow Up By: sevo - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:27
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:27
Hey Col,
As far as performance gain , you cannot really tell , i got one so i can clean and not replace.
cheers Sevo
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:57
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:57
colski,
As the boys have stated bugger all difference in performance when fitting a
snorkel, but slightly cleaner air flow, tell your old man to get a price on a 3 inch exhaust, helps them breath heaps easier.
Browny
Reply By: colski - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:35
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:35
Yep, 3" would be nice. Like all things, have to weigh up cost vs add-ons and achievable benefit.
Col
Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 00:44
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 00:44
Colin
A
snorkel because it is up higher gets cooler air and is supposed to assist performance - that's the theory anyway.
I have a 4.2TD GU and I purchased a K & N filter for it. Two reasons. 1. Better performance due to improved air flow. 2. Huge saving in the long run by cleaning rather than replacing the air filter.
The two work
well together. On dirt roads I have an air sock which I put in the
snorkel. This helps the filter. (K & N do not recommend their filters for off-road). On the black stuff I take the air sock out or my performance suffers.
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 09:25
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 09:25
It was the same cost to install a
snorkel as it was to replace the airflow sensor after it broke. Can never be sure of reason of course, but when the sensor was taken out, it was dirty as one thing. So, I looked on the
snorkel as insurance for the next time.
Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 17:22
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 17:22
Hey Moggs, I have travelled our country far and wide befor snorkels were invented thats how I know the difference..Clean Air is great?????