Some electrics solved on GQ
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 17:55
Willem
Thanks to all for advice and especially Member GOB and Denny for emails and phone calls.
Replaced the Starter Motor with a generic one for half the price quoted by some suppliers.
The problem with the RH High Beam not coming on lies within the stalk on the steering column. I did lots of fiddling and got it working again but it is an intermittent fault and the sealed box which holds the stalk will have to be replaced. I am not game to take it to pieces :o)
Next problem to solve is WHY is the airconditioning not working? It is not cutting in so it must be an electrical fault. Sigh!!!
Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:07
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:07
Hi dad,
Seems that trip of yours must have been damn rough. Sorry to hear of the niggling problems your encountering. Id'm pretty sure the corrogations caused most of your problems too. Just as
well you did it in a GQ mate as i wasnt gonna come rescue you.....
well....maybe i was !
Welcome back Willem.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:12
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:12
Hi Son
Where have you been?
Yes the corrugations were bad. Have to replace front radius arm bushes as
well and do some work on the flywheel and clutch. Thinking about an automatic conversion. Will see..........
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 11:06
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 11:06
Willem I got a price on that Auto for you, $1250.
Give Greg at Escape Offroad in Blackburn a call for more info.
03 98770277
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:11
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:11
Thanks Trucky. Will give him a call.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 15:53
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 15:53
Trucky
Called Greg this morning. It is a gearbox out of a petrol GQ and my research indicates that only a diesel auto box is recommended for changeover.
Thanks all the same
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 09:27
Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 09:27
Same box, different bellhousing.
call halls4x4 wreckers they should have a bellhousing
Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:11
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:11
Willem,
The airconditioner fault may actually be a loss of gas.
Most refrigeration systems have a low pressure switch in the gas stream. If they lose the charge completly they'll refuse to run.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:14
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:14
Thanks Geoff
Yes I didn't see any movement in the little glass eye so it is quite possible that the gas has escaped somewhere along the line
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:27
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:27
compressor no go.... no movement of BUBBLES in sight glass
low gas ..maybe some bubbles or even lots ...but providing compressor runs
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:29
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:29
does the clutch engage? bridge out low pressure switch to see if clutch engages...if it doesnt probably another electrical fault?
Reply By: Stew53 - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 19:00
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 19:00
Willem
One way to see if the AC has lost its gas is to inspect all the joints on the hoses and condenser (the one in front of the radiator) and evaporator (the one in the cab) for signs of oil, as the gas comes out it carries some of the oil in the system out with it. If there are signs of oil you will need to get it repaired by somebody authorized to work on AC systems. If no
sign of a leak keep looking for electrical faults.
Stew
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:17
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:17
Thanks Stew. Will follow due process to find the fault. Other than that I will wait till summer, have it regassed and see how long it takes to leak out.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:30
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:30
willem ...cant do that these days...all gas leaks must be rectified r134a included! its law!
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:40
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:40
Now I am sorry I posted that Nudenut!!!!! LOL
Maybe I just go back to a car yard and swap the plurry thing over for something simpler. In hindsight my G60 was the car to have...just a bit dusty tho LOL
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 07:49
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 07:49
nah.....dont do that, you will be sorry...aircon is great ...it keeps you coool
Reply By: cmilton54 - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 19:23
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 19:23
Willem
Aircond could be evap core leak, check where
water drain goes through firewall if leaking evap may have oily look around pipe. Sometimes evap cores leak under expandtion/contraction and do not show oil leak. Some units have dye in system so it shows up under ultra violet light. if low gas low pressure switch would have cut power to compresser. unplug wire from reciver drier pressure switch and join with jumper wire to see if compresser cuts in. If clicks in low gas.
Charlie
Follow Up By: cmilton54 - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 19:32
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 19:32
Another possability is a high pressure dischage hose problem from compresser to condenser
1 Oily ends on hose, and wether ends will turn or move in hose.
replace hose.
2 Hose may have broken down from inside, split along its lenght internally. only way to find this problem is to cut hose. (Last Measure)
usually does not show oil leaks with this problem. Looses gas over days or a few weeks
Charlie
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:16
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:16
Thanks for your feedback Charlie. Will take a further look tomorrow. I would say probablyt the gas has leaked out somewhere as the truck has recently been over a trillion corrugations
Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:38
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:38
lets not get carried away...does cluch on compressor engage? if not bridge out low pressure switch ..if it has one, but only temporarily and at same time check sight glass for bubbles, does it go clear or remain bubbles?....if bridgeing out lp switch engages clutch then system is probably low on gas. if bridging anythig out keep the tie short matbe 2-3 mins at most.
also lots of other reasons...such as tx valve shutdown!...which will simulate a low pressure suction fault.
fist things first Willem...check if clutch engages and clutch ok?
ring me am wed till 11am as i am going pistol club arvo
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:49
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:49
OK Richard. Painting walls tomorrow but will look early am at bridging the whatever. The clutch on the compressor is not engaging. The little knob on dashboard works and has power to it. That is as far as I got today. Pulled the whole bloody dash out....what fun!!! lol
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:52
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:52
Didn't see any bubbles
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 01:43
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 01:43
Which pistol Club?? I have been a member at the Le Hunte pistol club, Torrens Valley pistol club (when they were still in Torrens Valley) Elizebeth Pistol club and Penfield pistol club and am currently a member of
Kalgoorlie-Boulder PC. I will be back in
Adelaide in a couple of weeks and will try and sneak down to Penfield for a couple of shots for old times sake.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 07:59
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 07:59
SA pistol and Shooting at Stirling
Torrens Valley is alive but as you are aware at Buckland
Park.
Penfield will be holding airpistol for Masters Games in Oct.
Where is Le Hunte?
I'm at stirling most wed and Sat.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:14
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:14
you will not see bubbles if the compressor is not turning.
clutch needs to engage first. if it does not, it could be due to system having very little or no gas. Thats why bridging out the low pressure switch will prove this as being a cause (if it is). The lp safety switch will be somewhere on the refrigeration pipework after the evaporator and is usually located within the engine bay somewhere. there is also a high side pressure switch and they may look identical.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 10:14
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 10:14
Clutch is not engaging. There is only one switch that I can find in the whole system. Cannot see any leaks on the system under the bonnet. Until later. Thanks for you help so far.
Reply By: Gerry - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 09:22
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 09:22
Willem, I had problems with the compressor in mine, although my problem was that it would not stop. Had a short in the loom between the pressure switch and the relay (under the cover on RHS wheel arch next to battery). Ended up running a new wire to bypass the loom. No prob's after that. If it isn't the pressure switch holding it out (indicating loss of gas), trace the circuit and find where the voltage ceases - might be something as simple as a crook relay.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 10:11
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 10:11
Thanks Gerry
I have just been on the phone to Nudenut, posting above, who knows a bit about these things and what he told me to do is not achievable this morning lol. I must check out the compressor which is under the alternator with the air intake pipe and spare battery in the way. So it will have to be up on the ramps and crawl around under the truck later in the week.
Anyway I don't need the aircon.....its only 8 degrees here lol