A pr*#k of a job!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:24
ThreadID: 25314 Views:3132 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Has anyone tried to replace the water pump in their 80 series Diesel Cruiser?? Last weekend I had the misfortune of the water pump buggering up on me as we were off to do a weekend of camping (water was coming out of the tell tale hole on the underside of the pump). I managed to get home, and thought since it is just the water pump that I would replace it myself, and while I was at it I would replace the thermostat and give the radiator a bit of a clean out. This is where my problems started..... First of all to remove the radiator - Take both batteries and trays out, remove the front grill, remove the headlights, undo the air cond condensor, undo the radiator top mounts, undo the bottom mounting bolts and mounting brackets, then pull the radiator out (on the old 60 series from memory it was just 4 bolts...). Once I got to the water pump I thought I was almost there, then I realised I had to take off the timing cover, timing belt, timing belt tensioner, and the top half of the timing belt backing plate (from memory again only 4 bolts on the 60 series - and about 10 minutes). While I was at it I thought I would remove the thermostat - I managed to round off the top front mounting bolt (hidden behind the air cond compressor and alternator so I had to take these off also). This is where I am at the moment - waiting for parts to arrive from Midwest Toyota in Geraldton (thanks to Adam in the parts department for all the help over the phone!!). What is the moral of this story?? - If your water pump is buggered on your 80 Series dont fix it yourself, no matter how much you might learn, it isnt worth it!!!
Drew

Reply By: crfan - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:31

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:31
You did it wrong dont need to take out head lights or touch the aircond condensor
or the batteries grill yes about ten minutes probaly about 3-4 hour all up
AnswerID: 123565

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:47

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:47
I was concerned about what I needed to take out, so I was constantly on the phone to Toyota and they confirmed everything as I was doing it - How can you take the radiator out without undoing the air cond condensor behind the grill - the top rubber mounts for the radiator have their nuts behind the condensor??
FollowupID: 378575

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:21

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:21
You remove the top radiator support middle section. It unbolts. If you do it the other way, your way its about 5 hours. You can do a water pump without taking the radiator out. Just remove fan and shroud and there should be enough room. I let the tyres down so its not as far to reach as well.
The timing belt is only 1 hour to replace from scratch and yes the bolt on the thermostat housing is a P*@%k.
FollowupID: 378585

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:37

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:37
Spewing!! If I knew that I wouldnt have wasted 4 hours of drinking time!! I wanted to take it out anyway just to get it tested in preparation for a 'quick' trip to Tasmania over Xmas. I still have the rounded bolt in the thermostat housing - I have brought a set of Metrinch spanners (hopefully arriving Friday) to hopefully remove it. I hope it doesnt break!!
FollowupID: 378599

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:38

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:38
I had a screaming bearing a little while back which I narrowed down to a bearing in the water pump. After 2 hours of stuffing around with the bloody shroud (like you say: batteries out, which means move relays, disconnect, undo the impossible to get at bolts for mounting the secont tray, get almost a crowbar in to move the air filter box enough to remove the battery tray....)bleepthat- I gave up and just as well. The cactus bearing wasnt even in the pump.

Its little wonder you didnt go see everyones friends at pilbara toyota. I reckon they would have fixed it in one day for a decent price.... with gaffer tape and some pop sticks.
AnswerID: 123567

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:48

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:48
....and the 200km trip to Pt Hedland probably wouldnt have done the engine much good!!
FollowupID: 378576

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:02

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:02
sorry- typo.... should have been Karratha Toyota.
I hope Mr Jefferies can forgive me.
FollowupID: 378581

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:32

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:32
Karratha Toyota isnt around anymore...
FollowupID: 378596

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 16:41

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 16:41
theres some welcome news.
Did they shut down or just change names?
FollowupID: 378615

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:19

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:19
Shut down as far as I know.
FollowupID: 378770

Reply By: crfan - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:02

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:02
24 yrs in the game have changed a few water pumps in my time
You should try a water pump on a Mondeo or a v6 Pajero.
AnswerID: 123572

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:23

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:23
And a V6 Mazda 323 or 626.
Great fun.
FollowupID: 378587

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:36

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:36
Or a VW beetle!!

You would be there forever trying to find it, let alone replacing it!!

Will
FollowupID: 378626

Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:39

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:39
Hello Drew

I hope the Metrinch works , but remember that the Metrinch principle requires an angular swing to 'grab' and this means that in a confined area you may not have enough room to turn the nut sufficiently for the next engagement of the spanner . You may have to use a stud extractor .
AnswerID: 123621

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:39

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 17:39
Hmmmmm Maybe I will stick with the GQ 4.2 diesel after all.

The waterpump gave notice in May while we were on holiday at Margaret River WA. After finding a new pump on a Saturday morning at the local auto parts place, I set about changing it.

The most fiddly bit was to remove/refit the plastic fan. The shroud has 4 bolts and lifts out nicely. To remove the radiator just loosen two bolts at the top, disconnect the hoses and it lifts out.

Two and a half hours later the new waterpump was in and the motor running sweetly. I must add I had a mate helping (he was mainly in the way though lol)
AnswerID: 123622

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 18:02

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 18:02
but all cars are built this way...from the inside out! not outside in!

geez it would be to easy if you didnt have to strip the outside first to get to the inside.......
AnswerID: 123634

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:17

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:17
Things could be worse...that happened as we were leaving Tibbaburra for camerons corner...700 kms back to the nearest yota dealer at Broken Hill, we took it out in the caravan park with the tools we had with us.....whilst we waited for the bread truck to bring the new one.....and that was on easter thursday arvo...
When we pried the top cam cog off it hit the rad and put a dint in it.......(some praying went on behind the scenes there)
AnswerID: 123714

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:21

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:21
I suppose I should think myself lucky - if (when) it happens again I will have the right tools and know what is involved... Hopefully that wont be in a caravan park somewhere!!
FollowupID: 378771