Submitted: Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:18
PeterDarwin
This is a little left field, but give it some thought
OIL!!!! It will never run out, no worries mate!!
I wish this were true!! But I do not think we are really comming to grasp with reality (myself inlcluded). I recenly saw a documentary called "The end of Suburbia" It was a little one sided but I still think its general message is true. It looks at how anylists are saying that we have already hit or about to hit the worlds peak oil production. This means that we are pumping the highest volume of oil out of the ground that we ever will be able to and after this comes the decline. Prices will rise, America will do anything in its power to keep its supply of oil. Big problems on the horizon, It is a very hard thing to face because it will change our lives dramatically and nobody wants that. Even if they are out buy 10 or 20 years it is going to happen one day.
I wrote this post because a friend of
mine in the USA sent me an email with pictures of the latest trend over there in utes, Ford F100's NO! F250's NO!! F650's, huge fuel gusslers, what are they thinking.
Check out this web site it explains int better than me.
link text
I am only putting this up here as food thought, not to blame, insult or scare anyone, after all I also drive a Diesel landcruiser. Do we really need these huge cars?? Remember the first car to drive up
Cape York was a Austin Seven in 1928??
Reply By: david cc130 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:53
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:53
Just remember, The Stone Age, didn't end because the world ran out of stones.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:58
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:58
You are right Peter. And it was a few years ago that annual production of oil passed annual discoveries of new oil. That is, known and recoverable oil
reserves have been declining for a few years.
Although there is more oil being discovered, it is at a much slower rate than in the past and is in more difficult (expensive)
places to recover.
Most 'experts' don't expect oil to ever go below $50 per barrel again. I think we are many years away from real long term oil shortages (as opposed to short term caused by war, terrorism, OPEC supply restriction etc), but we need to get used to high prices.
Remember though, a large part of the price we pay is tax. And there are cheaper alternatives like bio diesel and ethanol which are also from a replaceable source, but there seems to be no current government support for serious development or production.
Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:07
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:07
Most are saying we have 25 years of sustainable oil left at the rate we are pumping after that production and supply will go down real fast., Oil production hit it’s peak in most arias in the 1970’s and 80’s since then we have been using more than we have been finding, The main U.S oil supply (Texas crude) is basically gone.
What we need to remember is petroleum is not the only use of oil, practically everything we use in every day life part if not all of it comes from oil.
We will be right up a
well-known
creek if we don’t sort something out soon.
The big deposit they are currently searching for off Mexico (I Think) if they find it would only have enough oil in it to fully supply the U.S for 5 years, And that is one of the biggest believed to be left.
If you are not a little worried you should be
Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:17
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:17
I think the doomsayers on this are right. Check the current decline in sales of big 4WDs. Is this the end of 4WD life as we know it? It's not just 4WDing. Many little outback communities are beginning to question their long term viability. The dependence on diesel is massive for all kinds of
infrastructure in the bush. The government tax only brings our homegrown oil up to current international prices. When our oil runs out in the not too distant future, our economy will have gradually geared to the import cost, that is why the tax was brought in.
Personally, I'll vote for any party that seems to have some long term planning on this. (And none of them do, they are competing to lower taxes instead of spending it on future
infrastructure). Or beginning now to set up the infrastucture for a major move to biodiesel for example. Or natural gas. We have plenty of that to last a long time (provided we don't sell it off cheap overseas now, which is what we are doing. In 5 years current gas prices will look incredibly low and we will be kicking ourselves for having given the stuff away.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:41
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:41
Up the Doomsayers.
You are right about the GAS and Bio diesel it will definitely be playing a big part in the automotive sector.
Why are we flogging it off now, Because OIL, MONEY and GAS makes the world go around. It is all short and medium term thinking. The people who are making the money now aren’t going to be around when the Shi* hit’s the fan and if they are they will be too rich to give a stuff.
Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:46
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:46
i recon this stuff really should change the way we think, but it seems to have very little effect on how we live. Also dont know how true it all is, but one thing is for sure, we dont manage our resources very
well. If half of what this article say is true
http://www.lifeaftertheoilcrash.net
then we have an amazing, exciting (in a kind of negative way) and disturbing future untill we all end up working with our hands again.
Reply By: RobEG - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:56
Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:56
Yeah and then current technology kicks in. Synthetic engine oil and gas to liquids for fuel - when natural gas runs out underground in situ gasification of coal seams too deep to
mine anyway. Syn oil already at supercheap, Sth Africa been doing gas to oil for years and Russians and Linc Energy in Q have done the coal thing. In fact Linc r looking to do the coal gasification to diesel NOW and say can beat the moguls on price. Who knows! All might be a problem one day but not likely in this old mans time so better off spending time working out how to make enough money to pay 4 the stuff!
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 02:27
Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 02:27
oil has a natural price cap. the only reason it is used so extensivly as a source of power is it is the most cost effective way. if prices rise too much then other alternate sources of energy become viable such as australias massive shale oil deposits
Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:38
Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:38
And the reality is that it will and has started already. There is no going back now. For those that think there are alternatives it's not true. There is nothing out there to replace what we do with crude oil at the rates we use it. I'm not a doomsdayer but the next 10 or so years are not going to be good. If you have kids now they will bear the brunt of our parents era. The way the governments of the world are reacting (head in sand) to the enevitable oil issue is going to lead us to a collapse. Some predict as early as a decade or two. It's not if it happens it's a known now, it's just around the corner for us. Just hope someone starts leading the way very soon. Scary stuff.