Intercooler? What? Why?
Submitted: Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:38
Dan
What exactly is an intercooler and how does it work? Have read apost saying that it increases power.
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:43
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:43
Intercooler fits between turbo and engine and is designed to cool the air which has been heated by being compressed in the turbo. Colder air is more dense and more air- more oxygen- more power
Intercoolers usually just pass outside flowing air through a radiator which has the hot air inside and works just like the radiator cools the hot
water around the engine.
Follow Up By: Dan - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:48
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:48
Do you know if you can buy them in a kit or something and fit D.I.Y.
If not where to get one fitted. Im in W.A
thanks
Dan
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:57
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:57
im not sure if you have autobarn in w/a same as repco ect but here in
bendigo autobarn suplie heaps of diferent intercoolers.
Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:00
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:00
Dan
Just bash intercooler into Google and you can get all sorts of gadgets.
They are often fitted with turbos so search for after market turbo people and see if they have them.
I think you would need a turbo first!!!!! and you will have to customise the air intake duct. Look at some factory fitted ones to see what's involved. Check out Toyota or Nissan or whatever. The intercooler is the gadget that see sticking out of the bonnet of the later Patrols.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:02
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:02
Dan - you may be shocked to find out what they are worth...... expect to pay around $1,500 for starters.... and then you get to the good ones.
Maybe look around some wreckers. Pity they know what they're worth though.....
Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:12
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:12
Yeah they are not cheep.
I know a bloke with a supercharged commodore who is about to put an intercooler on it. Why= because he is pushing the supercharger from 12 to 18PSI boost. The cost of the Intercooler installed is $3000 now that’s not cheep.
Ask yourself is it required as if you are only running factory setting the power increase with a intercooler will be very minimal.
Follow Up By: Dan - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:32
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:32
Alan, i've got a 2.8td rodeo, from what i've heard about the power increase it sounds like a good thing! Just looking into it, the price , hassles etc.
thanks
Dan
Follow Up By: Dion - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 23:34
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 23:34
Dan,
an intercooler on a 2.8 is a wonderful thing. If I have been driving at 110 km/h with the cruise control on, and slow down to 60 km/h remaining in 5th gear, when cruise is re-engaged (still in 5th from 60), she pulls like a bloody train. Putting the intercooler on was the best I've ever done to me 2.8.
Dion.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 00:22
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 00:22
Dion, cant see how an intercooler would make stuffall if any difference in the situation you describe. At those low revs I would have thoiught that even putting your foot down there would be almost no boost until the revs picked up a fair bit. In which case the intercooler would be doing nothing. Intake airflow only heats up when boost is being produced, and there isnt much until boost gets to 10psi or more really?
Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 07:48
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 07:48
Dion's car is most probably still pulling 1600 to 1800 revs at 60km/hr in 5th, which is where the turbo starts spooling up. So if there is heat from the turbo compression, the intercooler is making a difference, especially as it gets to 70 or 80km/hr. Sound right?
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:15
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:15
bloody turbo's...dont work till they start spinning ...and when they do they over-run.....:-)
now, positive displacement blowers dont do that...all extra power is available even at idle
Follow Up By: Dion - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:46
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:46
At 60 km/hr in fifth gear, engine is doing 1720 rpm, already in it's power band so the turbo is pushing a reasonable amount of air into the engine. When cruise is re-engaged or foot stomped at those revs, there turbo has no catch up to do. The before and after the intercooler fitment certainly proves quicker acceleration. (the intercooler takes five minutes to remove and less than five minutes to re-instate turbo to inlet manifold pipe).
Dion.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:53
Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:53
check out www.are.com.au all your answers are there
Reply By: Territonnett - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 00:19
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 00:19
Dan
There are 2 kinds of intercoolers, Air and
water the later being more efficient. Denco are surposed to be good, I don't know if we can get them over here in
Perth. www.dencodiesel.com to at lest see what you are looking at!!
Ton
Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 07:44
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 07:44
Trying to work out why you would go to a
water intercooler?
Doesn't this put more load on the engine radiator?
I suppose you could go for a larger
water pump and radiator to dispense the extra heat. Seems a bit crazy, transfering the heat to
water, then to air any way.
From memory, the early tubocharged subarus (pre WRX) had this arrangement and it was always causing radiator and cooling system problems. They ended up going air cooled in the WRX.
If intercooler temp is a problem, and you don't want a bigger intercooler, why not do what my 2.8l pajero has, and put a fan behind the intercooler with a thermostat? The fan comes on at low speed and temps above 25 to 30 deg C ambient when the engine is working hard.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:18
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:18
unless it has own
water circuit? as the
water leaving the radiator would be warmer than ambient?...would'nt it?
or does he mean
water injection (atomised) into ....this is a common method of keeping the turbo discharge cooler.
Follow Up By: Grungle - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:23
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:23
A
water (glycol) intercooler is an independant system with its own mini radiator. Does not utilise the engine cooling system at all.
A water/air (glycol) intercooler is more benificial at lower speeds than an air/air but can be more expensive (4wd systems have one for $1600). Air/air can be cheap and nasty to expensive but efficient. There is a lot of engineering know how to correctly match an intercooler to a turbo.
If you look on ebay there are a huge number of intercooler available and most quite cheap as
well. Typically you can pick one up for around $300 but then you have to mount it and then plumb it in. The plumbing is not cheap and can cost as much if not more than the intercooler due to the use of custom bent pipe and silicon joiners.
If you do your research then you will find the equations that help determine things like airflow and thermal efficiency of radiators so you can source an intercooler that will best suit yout setup.
There is no doubt that an intercooler is a great addition with gains of around 10-25% typically but if you have a mechanical diesel then tuning it properly and increasing boost will yield far better gains. If an electronic diesel then rechipping or piggyback computer.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:03
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:03
It's all very
well advocating a boost increase and fuelling up to suit but that is very much a twin edged sword which can cut both ways, as an increase in fuelling often results in increased exhaust gas temps and any fuel increase without monitoring exhaust temps is fraught with danger.
In my opinion an Exhaust Gas Thermo Gauge should be the 1st accessory added to a diesel as it is an excellent way of monitoring driving style versus road conditions.
I've built a number of intercoolers mainly for the ricer brigade but below are some pics of the latest one I built and fitted for a GU TD 42. I went top mount as I think it's a good compromise in that it's
well protected in case of an accident, it's less likely to get blocked with mud and gives excellent throttle response in comparison to the larger plumbing required by a front mount system. If maximum power was the requirement a front mount is the best option, but let's face it we're talking about 2500-3000 kg diesel trucks here, not sports cars
Regards Andrew.
[ View Image]
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:06
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:06
Very nice :)
Where did the airbox go?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:11
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:11
air filter goes behind left headlight, they use the precleaner type from either GQ or GU.
You should see some of the IC Andrew makes for the gino crowd in their skylines etc.. MMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:13
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:13
Hmmm, I don't know where image number 2 has gone, I'm getting an error report, I'll try again.
Chrispy, it uses the standard GU air filter assembly, the plumbing for that is the large black tubing going forward on the passenger side.
Regards Andrew.
[ View Image]
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:14
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:14
So, they use a cylindrical filter in what WAS the cyclone off the inner LHS guard?
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:17
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:17
Whoops - I got some of the old lag going here. :( Sorry
Yep - I get it.
Tell you what - I'd give my left one to be able to weld alloys like that. Beautiful job. Bet Gino appreciates the quality :)
Follow Up By: Dan - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:48
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:48
Can u make me one? pleeeeez!!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:52
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:52
image #2 is missing the G off JPG
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:06
Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:06
On another subject, I found that blue air compressor hose get's too hot under bonnet and will eventually let go. (burst). I find 10 Bar High Pressure 3/8th fuel line much better and fit's all the standard BSP connectors.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 16:38
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 16:38
looks nice Andy, good shroud as
well, have you got a slimline thermo under it, or just using ram air flow through a bonnet scoop ?
What ballpark coin for that unit ?
cheers Brad
Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:30
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:30
Thanks for the comments Brad. It isn't setup with a thermo fan, the shroud underneath is a bit close for one to fit. It's a copy of DTS's intercooler except I'm using a thicker core and a better constructed core custom made for me by Adrad radiators in
Adelaide. This is the 2nd one I've built for a GU and it uses the Nissan scoop and a seal made by DTS (damned expensive bit of rubber there). I haven't really thought of building them as a business it's just something that interests me and as I'm a specialist Tig Welder it's something I enjoy doing.
I'd really like to build a water to air intercooler as a project, doing away with having to cut holes in bonnets and Adrad build this absolutely beautiful core for water to air applications. I have no idea what that core would cost yet though. They use the same core for oil coolers and has been pressure tested to over 500 psi, more than adequate methinks.
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 18:59
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 18:59
Cool mate, it looked like a quality core from the pics, have you checked out the Purple Pig for a price on making up a suitable seal instead ?? they do heaps of custom moulded gear and stock a massive range of rubber seal extrusions .
I take it you have checked out PWR's range of barrell coolers and heat exchangers with pumps etc. good quality gear. Is this similar to what adrads core looks like or is theirs a flat core like the Vortec air/liquid exchangers.
I keep looking at the various oil/fuel & oil/air coolers on the turbines at work but they arent big enough for auto use :-((
see ya Brad
Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 21:52
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 21:52
Brad,
check out water to air intercooling
This is the best info you can find on water to air intercooling anywhere. Also
check out the water to air setup on Heath Lawson's GU ute on the same page. See their 1st version and then their new one. That is the core I would like to use but I wouldn't go as far as the custom inlet manifold/plenum mods they have gone to. Heath's truck is putting out nearly 200 k/Watts at the wheels on a TD 42 diesel, absolutely stunning.
I had a look at Purple Pigs cattle dog but it doesn't seem to have anything suitable for what I needed and the DTS seal was a moulded seal as
well.
I'm not a big fan of PWR's water to air barrel units as their shape is very inefficient to maximise the number of tubes through the core. Also the Adrad cores are much better built in my opinion (I've built intercoolers using both PWR and Adrad) That being said, I prefer PWR's radiator cores over Adrad's.
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:42
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:42
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm doughnuts.....
Some great gear on there Andrew, must be a fairly impressive fuel pump feeding that beast!!
They certainly go all out on the r&d and it shows with those sorts of results.
Look out if i ever come into the cash to trick up my baby, i'm coming your way LOL :-))
see ya Brad
Reply By: spondo - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:30
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:30
hey hey g'day dan
if your in
sydney or more specifically the west heres an ol mates website that makes intercoolers to suit. they're into turbo charging and intercooling bikes as
well as their own dragbikes but also do cars or anything else that walks in for that matter, could be worth a try.
www.sandrpro.com
Follow Up By: spondo - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:01
Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:01
hey hey bugga
just reread the thread and noticed your not that close to
sydney....... oooops, but they have done jobs for interstaters previously, a couple being from
perth.