Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:16
scottywiper
Want to get some _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for the 80, for security reasons. Only a normal twin set, not worried about the fridge slide.
They are bloody expensive and my wife will murder me if I spend 2k on a set.
I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts about other options.
Would it be expensive to get some custom made and where would you go for such a thing?
Scotty
Reply By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:29
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:29
make your own or trade the wife in for a set!
Follow Up By: scottywiper - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:42
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:42
The wife option is worth investigating...but as for making my own, I am a handyman skills free-zone!
Reply By: Rod W - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:45
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:45
A few years back now I made my own to suit me 75 series. They are 2 metres long 250mm high. I used 12mm w/proof ply. I also did the sidewall panels. Total material costs only $900.00.
Reply By: scottywiper - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 13:17
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 13:17
Looking at some from AAA 4wd Storage Systems in Queensland.
Anyone heard anything about them?
Reply By: Member - Bob (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 13:41
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 13:41
Hi scottywiper
do a search on ebay for " drawer system " one there for $50 with %hrs to go
might fit / or modify as he has the measurement could be a cheaper way to go..
sorry I dont know how to do a link.
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 14:46
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 14:46
My mate recently bought a set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for his 80.. the usual _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx which are just under 300mm high and have 2 _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx side by side. All carpeted and look the part.. made of 17mm plyboard.
Cost him around the $800 mark from a guy at Morayfield Qld..
I have no idea what part of the world you are in but that should give you an idea of what you can expect to pay for a half decent set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx brand new....
I made my own as I couldn't bear the thought of paying heaps to have someone else do it for me and built a flash looking drawer system with fridge slide included for under $600.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:23
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:23
Scottywiper:
Email me direct at je45@bigpond.net.au
I have just taken out a set of twin side by side lockable _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx from my 80 Series and was about to put them on eBay. I need to get a different set now to accommodate a fridge slide.
Jack
Reply By: 120scruiser - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:28
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:28
Try these lot.
_Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx
I had a basic set for my 80. $1200 supply only.
I have now just bought a double stack on one side with the fridge on the other floor height for my 120 Prado.
Excellent quality and great price. Graham is also fantastic to deal with and will custom make. Very personalised and no I have no affiliation just received good old fassion service.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:21
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:21
I had one look at em and for 2 grand and 70 kg of extra weight and went straight to WA salvadge and bought a few of those plastic containers with handle locking lids for 10 bucks each and some _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx from bunnings (expensive 30 bucks for 2) now all my gear is in these and I just chuck them in the back if needed but for shorter trips they stay at home
Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 09:17
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 09:17
Yep Davoe, what I made up weighed 66kg's and I just looked at it as the weight of a person in the vehicle so it didn't worry me. Same with the bullbar its 60kg's, the rear bar is around 50kg's. I've got 3 fictitious people with me all the time. So if ya see me talking to me-self then ya know why.
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:53
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:53
Davoe,
Interested in the "_Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx from bunnings". Can you elaborate a bit more i.e. description, size, etc. Need another excuse for some retail therapy :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:36
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:36
Where have you been Rod - Thought you were lost in the Yilgarn or something! I have been doing a fair bit of wandering around the place on my weeks off
Yowie rocks tracks, Hunts
Pinnacles,
Wallaroo rocks and woodlines etc. Was hoping to catch up with you on your next trip maybe.
Gramps Not sure weather they would suit you they are plastic modular _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx that stack one on one probably about 400x300. I screwed one on top of the other and it sits at the passenger side at the back of my 80. There is room for one of those plastic containers with my
tools and recovery gear behind it and 2 containers along side it with other
camping stuff. Behind these 2 containers is room for 3 or 4 jerrys of
water or fuel. Vey tight Ar%^ed but unladen weight would be maybe 20kg max for everything and total cost is under 150 including jerries. Not fancy but it works and suits me
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:42
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:42
Davoe,
Thanks for the info. Always looking for new/better ideas that don't break the bank. Not worried whether it looks fancy, functional suits me fine.
Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 09:38
Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 09:38
Scottywiper sorry to steal your thread.
Davoe I've been just sittin here watching and working every now and then. Come the September LWE 24-26 I'll be back out to Faye
Bluff in the Die Hardy Range. I might have a bit more time off work and go over to the Helena Aroura Range as via Google Earth there is something near there that has caught my eye. Email me (home) on rod.watson1@bigpond.com if you're interested.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 00:41
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 00:41
Have done the math and that falls on my week off I will get in touch with you via email when i get back to work sounds Reeeeeel goooood