Diesel warm up
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 16:50
slyonnet
When you turn on your diesel engine on cold mornings (and more specifically on an old landcruiser) do you rev up the engine when trying to warm it up? The reason I ask is because someone in my street is doing that and I don't think it is any good for the engine. I believe that warming up at idle is good, but revving up the engine is detrimental. Am I right or wrong?
Sly.
Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:14
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:14
Reving any sort of cold engine is detrimental
Reply By: Willb - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:19
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:19
Hi, I think you will find it would be better to start the car and drive it gently untill it warms up.
Wll
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:31
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:31
My great hate in
camp sites - people idling their engines to warm them up. Not only does the process put fumes all over the
camp site, but it also puts acid in the oil.
The need to warm up engines disappeared about WW2 when selective fit systems were devised for all engine asssemblies; and with modern machining processes unpredictable clearances simply do not exist.
Further, if your engine is a bit warm you are tempted to drive fast from go, leaving gearboxes, diffs and wheel bearaings all running without the oil/ grease having a chance to warm up. Wrecks the car faster.
Diesel owners who are patient should turn the ignition on before putting their
seat belt on. Then start the engine - the extra time for the glow plugs to operate helps to start easier and reduce smoke. You get 90 seconds of glow plug operation (even thought the little light goes off after a few seconds), and that does much more good than running at idle.
So - let the glow plug heat for perhaps 20 seconds, start the motor then drive off gently till the engine temperature comes up. By then the whole car will be warmed up.
But if your neighbour has to rev the engine - it probably needs some work done on it.
Max
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:39
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:39
Max, you confirm what I was thinking. I don't think he needs to rev up the engine since it starts OK, although by looking at how much oil it leaves on the road where he parks and on the first few metres he does when driving off, he probably needs something fixed. No I think it is more a case of trying to make as much noise as possible early in the morning to bleep me off after I called the shire to complain about the excessive noise his son is doing during the day. Some people don't have any respect for others and unfortunately for me my neighbours seems to be the kings of that category.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 18:35
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 18:35
Agree. All you need to do is start it up, wait for the oil pressure to go into the normal range and get going, fuel injection dose not require to be warmed up and once the oil is flowing you are not going to damage it when driven normally. On a carbie car when cold maybe sit for 30 seconds to 1 minute (As they are not the most responsive thing’s when very cold)
As for sitting on the street and revving it. What is the difference between that and driving it down the street?
Follow Up By: Dion - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:39
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:39
Funny little things glowplugs. When I put my multimeter on them, coincidently the meter always returns to zero when the glowplug light goes off.
Dion.
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:00
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:00
That's interesting Dion. I have not checked, just took the word of the diesel specialist who did my injectors. I certainly get a much easier start with a few extra seconds before hitting the starter, and especially in cold weather. Maybe its vehicle specific?
Mine is an 80 series 1HZ.
Will check anyway some time.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:20
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:20
I agree with the theory of selective metallurgies.... except I know that if I let my TD42 warm up for a minute before I go, the engine doesn't feel like a cantankerous old horse for the first few kays. Maybe it's a problem then.....
Follow Up By: mfewster - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:33
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:33
Would others like to comment on the theory that glowplugs continue to heat after the light goes out? I would love to have this confirmed. I suspect that the glow plugs on
mine haven't warmed sufficiently when the light goes off. My auto electrician agrees - says his 60 series is the same and has recommended turning ignition off when the light goes out, then turning ignition on again and firing up the engine after the second bout of gloplug warming. On below freezing mornings I actually do this threetimes. The engine certainly seems to fire easier with this technique. Comments?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 22:43
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 22:43
Get another Auto leccy - He should know there is a module even in the old 2h motors that senses the heat and controls how long the plugs glow for. They certainly will NOT keep glowing with the ignition on as that would stuff them. My module crapped itself and I had a manuel button put in with the express warning to keep it presses for no longer than 10 sec. If your 1hz motor is not firing up straight away regardless of the weather you may have stuffed glow plugs or other problems. I leave
mine standing for 2 weeks and it fires straight up as have every work ute i have started in the dead of winter at 5.30am
Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 03:26
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 03:26
Toyota 2H's have a dual stage glow system, xtime at full heat and then an after glow period depending on ambient air temp, and yes turning the ignition on and off acouple of times makes for easier starts, as the first stage of glow is always the same time. Don't know about other diesels, 12HT's for one are totally different.
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:50
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:50
I like to see the temp guage needle move off the bottom of the guage before moving off by letting it sit on idle.
But then I live at the top of a
hill so the first kilometre or so is down
hill and I am not loading the engine up either.
Always like to take it slow and steady until the engine is
well warmed, and the gearbox starting to warm up.
My 2.8l diesel pajero has the oil cooler in the side of the block in the
water jacket, so I assume that the
water when warm would help warm the oil a bit faster too. The oil cooler used to be external on earlier models, but not sure if they had a thermostat in the oil system.
Oil is Penrite 20/60 hpr diesel, so very conscious of the 20 and 60 figure, since it will be 20w at cold and when warm at 70deg c - 60w. So I imagine it also depends a little on the oil being used.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 18:17
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 18:17
I'm with you John, I like the oil to be a little less of a vegimite state before I start lugging off, ESPECIALLY when I'm fully loaded with my
camping gear!
I start the car up 5 minutes before we leave, I start it, put the kids in then start taking down the annexe and putting the
water tap away etc then close up the back and drive off slowly.
We don't
camp near other so I don't care about the fumes.
If it's REALLY cold and my batteries are REALLY flat, I'll run it at idle for a couple of mins, then hit the high idle button and let it rubble away at 1200rpms or so. (acutally that's what the book says to do).
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:43
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:43
John and Jeff,
as others have said this practice is unnecessary and wasteful of fuel. Best way to warm the engine is to drive without excessive revs or excessive loading. If you could prewarm the whole donk and sump electrically, and prime the oil system so that it is pressurised before the engine turns over you might achieve something. But cold idling just introduces crud into the oil.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 00:18
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 00:18
John, I think you would find that the oil warms up at least as fast as the coolant as it is spraying under the piston crown, which heats up within seconds of the engine starting.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:58
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:58
Fair enough, I guess I started doing it when I owned the rocky (cast iron block and head diesel). If you just hoped in that and put the engine under load you could hear it all slopping around, nasty loose rattle sound, ever did that at idle or when warmed up.
I reckon I'll spend the 20c of diesel to let it move the needle of the edge of the guage when it's cold, even if I am being pedantic or doing things ass about, it just makes me feel better! ;-)
Reply By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 18:28
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 18:28
Best bet is to let it warm a little, heat will change the viscosity of the oil - and allow times for all oil galleries to becomes flooded with oil - NEVER rev a cold motor or drive it hard as you will cause premature wear AND OR damage to your rings / cylinder wall due to lack of lubrication
cold mornings -- start - jump out - wet windscreen to get rid of morning mist - lock front door -- then jump in and drive away -- usually takes a few min - and enough time for all working parts to become warmer and lubricated
Frank
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:28
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:28
For your answer you need look no further than your freindly owners manuel
"Engine should be warmed up by driving, not on idle. For warming up, drive with smoothly turning engine until coolant tem is within normal range" Unquote. Not my opinion but Toyotas on how to warm up a cruiser
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 11:00
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 11:00
That's interesting, in the surf .PDF manual I have it says to run it at high idle (use the idle up switch) before driving... I guess that's written for Japanese COOLLDD climate though...
Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:48
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:48
TO ALL diesel users;; I dont have to worry about fumes when I start my 80srs cold because there are NONE and its done over 450000klms,and to boot it starts first compression,you will all learn one day.
From you all know who
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:51
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:51
the B.S is getting way to thick now NONE you say.
Well in that case for a demo could you atach a hose pipe to the exaust put it through the window sit in vehicle with all other windows up and then post us the results in 2 hrs
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:56
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:56
Hi Davoe, if I remember correctly I am sure that Bill S is the one that told vitara that you dont need to change the oil until the oil filter starts to block up then you know it needs changing and he also owns a falcon that has done about the same klms as his cruiser and has only changed his oil about 4 times and also has a diesel I think he said navara has only changed the oil twice in that to. Need I say anymore Glad I'm not buying any second hand vehicle's off him.Anyway Davoe have a great day.
Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:22
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:22
Davo you have the auspicious position of being that one in the crowd,theres allways one,as stated all will learn one day,
Happy motoring BS
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:30
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:30
you have made a ridiculous statement and i have asked you to back it up if you indeed last 2hrs in your cruiser i will gladly help myself to as many fitchs as you can fit on my vehicle. And if going by other posts i am not the only one in the crowd. I wasnt fooled by tax effective schemes, I was not fooled by the add that assured me if I text 1900XXX their are hot women waiting to flirt with me, I was not fooled by the letter that said I had one the lottery just send 25 bucks. Neither was I fooled by Hi clones. There was a guy on here a while back who did just what you did and dribble crab at any oportunity about Bi tron - He isnt around anymore aint that a surprise just another in the Loooooooooooong list to promise alot make their money from suckers and dissapear
Follow Up By: warthog - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 23:12
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 23:12
Davoe, the pipe through the window response was the most appropriate advice I have read on this
forum for some time and I got a great laugh out of it. Thankyou, keep 'em coming.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 00:19
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 00:19
Hmmmmm 2hrs is up and havnt heard back! I wonder if he was dumn enough to try it
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 03:39
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 03:39
Hey Billy boy if you are still alive could you explain to me why if there are 1000 vehicles in Illiwara alone and you have sold so many units since the TT story you cant keep importation up then why oh why on this website with massive coveredge NO-ONE admits to having fitted a Fitch EXEPT f4 phantom who said consumption appeared to go up. Could it be for the same reason people dont ask for their money bac, they are to embarrased at being had. Or no - wait let me guess I reckon it could be more insiduos than that I bet you spin them some kind of a line like " Takes a while during the breaking in period, actually consumption can actually go up breifly - should take 2-3 months max and you will be reaping the savings" and then after that when they realize it actually doesnt work its like sorry mate shoulda returned it in the first 30 day s- SUCKER!!
Reply By: Lyds - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:49
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:49
My little 3l TD patrol has a "heat" button that puts up the revs in order to warm things up. Hardly a rev tho. It turns off once you put it in gear.
Also, since having a dtronic fitted, it seems to get off to smoother starts.
Reply By: Kazza055 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 22:51
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 22:51
Doesn't idling a diesel with no load cause glazing of the motor. Besides that why waste fuel when you can start up and drive away sedately for the first few minute.
Bob Cheers
Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 00:38
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 00:38
Well, I'm sitting in my Jackaroo with the laptop at the moment, thought I'd see what type of fumes my Jackaroo TD puts out when cold. Started it up about 12.00 a.m., pipe in through the window from the exhaust, its now 12.05 a.m. and nothing, hang on...... wait a minute......feeling abit dizzy but that could just be because I'm tired, no feeling a bit sick now,, ooh what's that pain in my chest......aaaaaaaarrrrrrrggggggg
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 02:14
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 02:14
shoulda had a fitch, Not only would it have saved your life but also serviced your missus, fixed the kids lunches and then talked to your wife when you got home giving you time to watch the cricket and drunk beer in peace
Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:29
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:29
During my time with GM Research we did a huge amount of work on quantifying this one!
Truly - the very best way is to drive away at slow revs under a light load the very moment oil pressure is established. The worst way (but one) is to let the thing warm up off-load - the very worst is as that except also revving it hard.
Engines need to run hot to burn off acid build-up. Thus do not even think of removing the thermostat except as an emergency action.
Collyn Rivers
Reply By: Jackman - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:54
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:54
You know whats great about this site, so many people with so many different opinions. If only we knew which ones are right or wrong? lol
Reply By: cmilton54 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:24
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:24
With my diesels if weather warm and driving no load dont normaly warm up.
If cold sometimes warm up for minute or two.
if cold and towing caravan normaly warm up for minute or two.
Charlie