Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:48
Map reading is an art that is not learnt easily. I think that the OP is quite correct in wanting to learn map reading - a GPS will only get you so far. If it goes down, or you need to do some serious navigating in the rough country you will need a map and compass, and a knowledge of the basics.
Note
well - with this knowledge, once gained, you will have a far greater understanding on how and why the GPS works, and use it with far more confidence.
Best place to learn map reading is the local bush walking group - but be aware that they may use maps differently to you; however the basic knowledge is the same and you will be able to transpose.
My map reading comes from boats (Coxains Licence), though I have to say I am not that efficient at marine navigation (mainly due to the use of GPS), aircraft (Commercial Pilot's Licence), and Search and Rescue. I have a thorough knowledge of how the compass works in the area that I use it (note how I qualify that statement - for such a simple instrument it is remarkably complex in function, and highly effective once you understand it. I have to say that while I am knowlegable in compass use I have met people who have a life time using them (ships captains, compass swingers (adjusters) etc) and are true masters of the subject, and leave me for dead).
Now, where woz I (rambling again!)
When I was training people in SAR, I would give them a puzzle - get them to pot a series of waypoints on a map (pencil and ruler stuff here) using different ways of expressing coordinates e.g.:
º ' "" (degrees minutes seconds)
º 0.0' (degrees decimal minutes)
and then something actually quite easy
Map
grid references using AusGrid (from memory!)
The number of pilots, even old ones (not bold ones ;) who get this all mixed up was quite interesting - most did. The lesson learnt was that you had to be very careful what format the map reference was in - in SAR it could be the difference between finding someone and not finding them.
Most topo maps will have map
grid references and what is the really neat thing about them is that the reference also includes the map number. So it is then a matter of referring to the appropriate topo map. I understand that bushwalkers use this system a lot - and as 4bies we should have an interest in how they do that in case we get involved in a SAR operation, either as rescuers or the rescued.
Nw if you really want to have some fun, think about the differences between True and Magnetic north, deviation; compass error (and correction).
Quiz: how many km make up a second of latitude how would you measure it?
(Sounds like a useless bit of information but is actually fundemental to how deg min sec relate to distance and map reading, and gives a much greater understanding of how a GPS might relate to a map...)
/viz
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 23:03
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 23:03
While you are correct (I assume) in all you say I reckon you make it sound a bit hard for the average shmo. I have a Garmin Etrex which I use in conjunction with 250k tops for navigation, along with the maps and tracks of WA (qpa). Here How I do it
1) work out where I want to go using utm ups feed waypoints of turn offs and significant points of intrest into GPs
2) Use the Road atlas to get to
the spot wher I will be going off road (basic navagation)
3) visit waypoints (waypoints of tur offs is very important for finding overgrown tracks)
4) use coordinates from gps to plot where I am on the map if for whatever reason I feel the need
I plan to get a compass as extra back up but in most situations just having the map and a rough idea where Nth is should see you right if for whatever reason your GPS craps itself.
This brings me onto another point - Who has ever seen a gps crap itself, Not me, When walking I always carry spare batterys but even if you did get caught short a gps just doesnt go out you can periodically turn it on and check you are going in the right direction before it turns itself off at least 10 times before it becomes unusable.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 06:32
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 06:32
"Who has ever seen a gps crap itself, Not me"
G'day Davoe
Last year up the Cape ours bleep itself just near Gunshot and was rs for the rest of the trip.
Apparently needed more that a field fix on our return.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 06:50
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 06:50
arghhhhh stupid statement really this is the www someone somwhere has seen most things. Still reckon there a pretty reliable piece of electronics on the whole
Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 11:12
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 11:12
Gidday Davoe - first off let me say that I agree with you in that compass work is a little harder than switching a GPS on and that the average shmo (?) would find it difficult. GPS has opened up a whole new world for 4bies,
boaties, pilots etc, and very much increases safety by a very big margin. But IMHO the basics should also be learnt - when things go wrong, and they do, the basics are what will get you out of trouble, not a dead GPS unit.
I have seen some real interesting errors in GPS, in my case being near a thunderstorm. Batteries run out, and in one case a GPS was carried (a simple unit with no built in map function) by a person who got lost and had no way of knowing where "home" was because no coordinates had been entered prior to going on the walk - in fact the unit had was not turned on until that person got into trouble... Guess what got him out of trouble - a compass... (Guess who that person was? Not telling! ;)
I have used some amazing units in aircraft and love them. Makes flying "blind" a breeze, and makes approaches into airports so much easier. But I have a deep suspicion of anything electronic when it comes to protecting my life...
That
Lockhart River crash recently - the aircraft was conducting a GPS NPA at the time (NPS = Non Precision Approach). The Benalla crash also. Without speculating too much prior to the accident report, it would not surprise me if the GPS had something to do with the accidents...
/viz
Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 11:18
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 11:18
Yeah I cant help myself either Davoe, and since you use an Etrx, it relevant. My mate used his Etrex for ages on his property (initially for nav but later for laying
bore pipes after capping) and the side buttons on his cracked the rubber seal. One large dunking without realising the boot was cracked and it was toast!
Lucky I had my spare to send him so he could finish the job. But you are right...it is rare to have a GPS just fail but not impossible. But do you also have a paper copy of your waypoints or critical points? Even if you GPS doesnt fail, they can data dump, either by themselves or through human error and without a copy...or a good map and compass, you can be quite lost!!
Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:54
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:54
Quiz: how many km make up a second of latitude how would you measure it?
It depends what line of latitude you are on.
Its more closer to the equator and less as you approach the poles
Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 14:20
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 14:20
You are correct :)
If you were measuring your distance on a map, could you use the latitude markings on the side?
/viz
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:17
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:17
Member - Matt Mu (
Perth-WA) Interesting that rubber bit that goes round the etrex started coming off on
mine I glued it back on but it looked like the buttons underneath were additionly sealed - still something to keep in mind
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:24
Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:24
Oh and Matt MU I carry the 250k maps so if I lose coords I can just work them out again. I often dont actually punch them in just write down the co ord. As I said the biggest use I have with a gps is working out where turn offs are as the start of tracks are often obscured.
Another big use is when walking away from the vehicle. Now this worries me a bit as dense goldfields scrub usually obscures all reference points and you can miss your vehicle by 50m sometimes less and not see it
Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:05
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:05
Yeah Davoe worth keeping a
lookout on your Etrex, great little GPS BTW! As I said it was quite a severe dunking, he dived into one of his dams with it in his top pocket, so it would want to have been water proof....but alas it wasnt!