Which 4x4 twin cab to buy?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:05
ThreadID: 25490 Views:7413 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Hi all, I need your experience, I am in the market to buy a 4x4 twin cab, but am confused as to which make/model to buy. I am leaning slightly towards the Holden Rodeo but would very much appreciate your input.
I do have plans to go off road, but the vehicle will be used mostly to and from work, I travel about 100kms a day to go to work so would also like input regarding having the vehicle fitted with LPG...can it be done, should it be factory fitted or after market etc?

Cheers John

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:11

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:11
do a search on Rodeo and LPG as this was discussed recently. It's generally not recomended but there was a new flash directed injetion setup which was talkeda bout.

Leroy
AnswerID: 124589

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 14:32

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 14:32
Holden do have a recommended LPG system. Go to their web site. It does reduce rear clearance and the spare wheel has to be relocated to the tray. The Rodeo is, compared to other dual cabs low on power but a number of people in the forum have them and find even towing that it is not a major problem. Having regard for the looks of the Hilux which I believe has ruined its desirability and the bad reviews regarding the flexing of the body on the Navara the Rodeo or Triton appear to be the choice. The sneak photos of the new Triton appear to put it in the love or hate the looks category. It is hard to understand car body designers. Take for example the "slater" looking Falcon. It lost Ford a hugh market share that they are now only just be catching up with after they gave it a face lift. I think Toyota are going to find the same with the Hilux and Mitsubishi will find the same with the "new" Triton. Ho Hum who are we to say. Mind you if I was a car manufacturer I would not ask Journos to comment on new cars. They just suck up. Why not ask you and me what we think before they go to production.
FollowupID: 379514

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 14:57

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 14:57
Ok guys my curiosity has been aroused. Where can I see these sneak photo's of the new Triton, please.
FollowupID: 379667

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:27

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:27
August issue of 4X4 Australia magazine page 10. Aug issue is last months and this months is September! I know I am getting on but the editor thinks its wonderful that they come out a month early?????
FollowupID: 379673

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:36

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:36
Thanks for that. I suppose if I'm curious enough I'll have to cough up the dough for a glossy magazine full of really bad advertising and rose coloured journalism. Either that or wait until my next trip to the doctor's. They always seem to have the copy you're looking for . . . if you look hard enough.

And you're right - they do take a macabre delight in trying to make us feel a month older than we really are. Thank goodness they're not annual publications.
FollowupID: 379675

Follow Up By: Member - Johno (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:36
Wombat here is a picture of the new 2006 Triton from the back!MPG:3!
FollowupID: 379708

Follow Up By: Member - Johno (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:42

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:42
..... and from the front!MPG:4!
FollowupID: 379711

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 22:06

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 22:06
Thanks Richard & Leonie for your insight into the 4 major twin cabs and you are right about the new Hilux (hasn't got the tough looks of the old model) and thanks Johno for the pics of the new Triton, I have also had some bad feedback about the Navara, so it seems like the Rodeo is looking good.

John.
FollowupID: 379723

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 11:21

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 11:21
Wow! Thanks for the pics Johno. Suddenly the styling of my two year old Triton looks very dated.
FollowupID: 379747

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 12:48

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 12:48
So you'll be updating to that thing Paul ?...lol...choke...choke
FollowupID: 379760

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 12:58

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 12:58
I really like the look of it from the back Ray - not sure about the front. Unless the new Triton's a lot bigger and much more powerful than the current model our next truck will have a little blue oval badge on it.
FollowupID: 379762

Reply By: arthurking83 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:29

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:29
I have a '98 V6 rodeo on gas that is used as my work vehicle.
I got it with 100K klms on and I've now got it up to 340K klms.
I am now having problems with the valve seat recession, because of the gas. The vehicle has been spot on in every other aspect.
It gets a bit of a caning every now and then ;) you have all seen how motorcycle couriers like to drive/ride and I still can't seem to get used to being in a car now :(
( I used to be a mcycle courier until I had to get scraped off the road 8 years ago!)
The only problem I've had was a seized handbrake cable in 200+ thousand k's in 3 years.

4WD ability is questionable though (maybe better with decent tyres??)
One time I was following a mate up a steep incline with a huge exposed tree root half way up. In his patrol MQ SWB, he made it look efortless. The rodeo lost traction as soon as I hit the tree root, and there was no way up, only down :(
Suspension travel seems to be the let down here, so expect some mods there.
I don't know how the newer model 3.5V6 goes but if they're an improvment, then go with the Rodeo!

good luck!
AnswerID: 124711

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:29

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:29
Thanks Arthur,
I am looking at buying a new Rodeo, I took a v6 4x4 Rodeo for a test run (from Ralph D'Silva Holden in Melb.) today and found it very responsive and comfortable to drive but am still reasonably confused as to which way to go ...Diesel or Petrol engine.
NOTE: it's hopeless listening to new car salesmen when trying to decide which way to go as they only want the sale, hence I will keep checking out the responses from the real experts...the ones in this forum who actually drive them.

FollowupID: 379798

Reply By: Hairy Wombat - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:52

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:52
I have the RA Rodeo Crew Cab, Diesel and does everything I want it to do. Got alot of comments from people who told me I should have bought 'a real 4wd' like the hilux, but I am so happy with the Rodeo.

Done a fair bit of 4wding around the blue mountains area - oberon way and it performed fine.

One of my work mates has the petrol and it chews fuel like you wouldnt believe, getting around 400k's to the tank whereas with my diesel I can get around 650- 700k's with city/highway combo.That said, I always fill up when there is still about 20litres left in the tank and I fill up at about 550k's.
I bought it new October last year, at around 3000km started to get a whine in the diff which was promptly replaced by holden under warranty with no worries and last weekend got the 20,000km service done and no more problems to date.

At the time that I bought it there was a special on (so I didnt pay the RRP) & went through a car broker who got even more off the special price so it was alot better value than the others and still think it's good value.

Regardless of what make/model you go for, you will still need to fork out some $$ to get it to the standard you want.

Hope this helped and didn't confuse you!
AnswerID: 124719

Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 11:08

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 11:08
Hi there jduckmanton, have you thought about going diesel/turbo diesel. Save you $1500/$2000 possibly more on conversion especially if your doing 100klm a day. Dont know about other owners of rodeo,s but my mate has the 3.2l v6 and reckons it's as thirsty as approx 400klm out of a tank round town I think he said it has a 67 litre tank possibly more. Maybe he's a bit of heavy foot. Anyway just a thought.Take Care Vitara
AnswerID: 124754

Reply By: Patcher - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:05

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:05
G'day John,

I have the RA Rodeo dual cab diesel LT Auto. I was hesitant to buy the auto but have not been let down yet. It tows a Jayco Dove outback with ease and has heaps of room with the canopy on. The Rodeo replaces a Discovery diesel and the difference was eye opening.

Fuel consumption is 8.5 litres / 100 kms and only goes to about 12.5 litres / 100 kms when towning.

We bought ours as a demo which was optioned up with everything that opens & shuts, right down to tow pack, CB radio and brake controller.

Haven't really done serious off road stuff, we didn't buy it for that, mainly towing, although the ground clearance is good.

So far have done 26K with no problems. The dealers will bargain with extras and try to get 5 years warranty if possible instead of 3 years.

Pat
AnswerID: 124810

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:55

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:55
Hi Pat,
Thanks for your info about the Rodeo and especially the info about fuel consumption with the diesel. One of my main concerns were around the price of diesel at the moment and hence my thoughts of going LPG, but with a lot of other people suggesting diesel over the cost of LPG conversion I may have to change my train of thought.
I'm still leaning towards the Rodeo though.

FollowupID: 379722

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 23:14

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 23:14
If I had a choice to do it over again, I would go with the diesel!
I used to get upto 9km/l and averaged about 7.5km/l (mainly around the Melbourne suburbs) on my 98 V6, then I converted to gas, as a courier would, and now valve recession is making the car almost undrivable at lower revs(flat-spotting) and it uses at least 1-2km/l more in fuel.
Best fuel consumption I got was 7.5km/l on gas on a gentle run up to Bendigo and back, and 9.1km/l(petrol) for a similar run.
Figure out how many Kms you do in a year, on top of the cost of a gas conversion, add in about $2-3K for head reconditioning, at about 300000km mark. The diesel will come in cheaper, unless you do more than 80000kms/year. It just seems to cost more at every fill.
Of course I don't have a diesel to directly compare, so I can't comment on pricing of diesel injector servicing, etc.
The V6 has been bulletproof, apart from the valve recession! But in all other aspects highly recomended.
With oil prices hitting $70/bbl I reckon petrol-diesel will hit $1.40/l, and gas will get to 60c/l, real soon! (city pricing)

My next chioce in 2 years time is the newer model (RA?) diesel though!
I reckon the best value for money is the Rodeo at the moment.
What budget are you on? New or second hand?
FollowupID: 379729

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:26

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:26
Hi JDuck,

I've got a 2004 RA LT Dual Cab V6. You've driven one so you know what they are like. I came out of a Commodore and I wanted something car like. Didn't get the Hilux as was told by someone I trusted that the diffs and gearboxes were not great. Also, the Hilux was way more truck like than the Rodeo.

I bought the Petrol for the responsiveness but it sucks like a .......... I've done 20,000 km's and I reliably get around 400kms out of a tank of about 65 litres. Doesn't seem to matter what driving I do, highway is not much better than city. Surprisingly, 4WD'ing in low range isn't much worse !!!!

Quite capable really even as standard and have had a few people comment on how well it's gone. Other comment is that my god it's bouncy !!!

Also, check out latest 4WD Monthly. Has 4WD UTE of the Year feature with 11 differemt trucks.

Smocky.
AnswerID: 125326

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:50

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:50
Thanks Smoky,
after reading all the members follow-ups, and also by doing some other research I have pretty much decided on getting a Rodeo twin cab 4x4 TD.
Diesel may be dearer than ULP but it seems the fuel consumption is better, so I guess there will be another 4x4 hitting the dirt soon.

FollowupID: 380086