Wax to avoid scratches.

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:32
ThreadID: 25501 Views:3215 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
I was talking to a panel beater a while ago who said that he always waxes his car before going bush to avoid the scratches. He reckons that the wax helps prevent them because the wax gets scratched instead of the paint. I would imagine this would only work for the light scratches. Cant remember what product he used but anyone else heard of this and if so what product do they use?

Reply By: Coolman - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:46

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:46
I have tried the Autoskin product. There is another post in here somewhere about it. I have found it good provided it is put on thick, I am having 'fun' removing the parts that were spread too thin.

I was on some tight tracks and no scratches at all on my new paintwork. Very good but not cheap $150 for 4lt bottle. I think I will get 4 - 5 uses out of the bottle but I will only use on trips where I expect some scratching.

Duane
AnswerID: 124611

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:50

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:50
Was just looking for that post... found it. #24047.
FollowupID: 379508

Follow Up By: Jackman - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:52

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:52
Coolman,

I have heard that autoskin is a good product but thought that if wax works it could be a lot cheaper alternative.
FollowupID: 379509

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:35

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:35
wax does not work like the auto skin...wax is a very thin film covering the pores which makes it gleam
FollowupID: 379567

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:57

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:57
I use Nu-finish polish. Last a long time, easy to put on, and makes the paint eally slippery. I think it reduces scratching.
AnswerID: 124614

Follow Up By: lance2 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:19

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:19
Nu-finish is ok on cars that keep to the black stuff,or polishing your head if ya got no hair on it, but useless in the bush, it all depends how deep the scratch is. Lance
FollowupID: 379582

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 15:01

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 15:01
What? Why wouldn't you want scratching? I use those tight bush tracks to scrape all the mud off the car. Works a treat for me. LMAO!

I spose that's the difference between a $50-$80k vehicle and my 10 year old POS. ;-)
AnswerID: 124623

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 15:58

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 15:58
I have recently buffed the GQ after our three month WA trip and the scratches now seem to be part of the duco lol
FollowupID: 379522

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:17

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:17
It's worse when there has been a fire through in the previous year or too hey, cos then it's just NASTY! I was following my mate the other week along this old track (we were just doing a bit of exploring) and the track kind of got thicker and thicker until I realised I was going the wrong bloody way! He'd turned and I did'nt notice as it was that thick that I'd left the track!! I realised there was a problem when his UHF signal started to crackle....

Good laugh though. There's me driving over bloody fallen down branches and small trees and sh$t thinking, "Man this track hasn't been used for AGES!"
FollowupID: 379526

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:37

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:37
but willem, you went places no other sane thinking person would go
FollowupID: 379569

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 12:54

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 12:54
Jeff, I am starting to think that is the right idea too. My prado is the primary vehicle (the other one is a $1000 very real POS). Couldn't care about the POS, but actually do care about the other that could or will be going to the nasty places.
FollowupID: 379638

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:47

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:47
When I know i'm going bush I go down to the local car wash and just apply the wax only.
I do not wash the vehicle but just wax it . When finished in the bush the vehicle is washed by hand using a soft cloth and bingo it all comes up like new except for the dingles, wish it worked on them too.
This is only good for bushy brush marks.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 124640

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:02

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:02
That Maguires stuff is lovely. Easy to put on and buff off and nearly good enough to eat.
AnswerID: 124650

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 10:54

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 10:54
That's the one I use too....
FollowupID: 379630

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:43

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:43
Nah mate doest work When I got my 80 I lovingly used that T cut white polish and then finished it of with another coat of turtle wax beutiful!! . Only took One trip and my 10 year old vehicle looks 20 years old. I will give it onother T cut one day but i do alot of bush driving so cant see the point yet
AnswerID: 124688

Follow Up By: Jackman - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:54

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:54
Thats what i normally do Davoe but since getting new wheels thought I might be able to look after it a bit better. Reckon the novelty wear off soon and i wont give a s##t
FollowupID: 379578

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:59

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:59
don't know if you're referring to my lovely Maguires Davoe, but I didn't mean the T cut. The wax is b-e-a-u-t.
FollowupID: 379580

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:37

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:37
Nope never tried Maquires But I fintd it difficult to believe any wax would to much more than perhaps minimizing light sctatching. I have been down a few tracks pretty much overgrown with jam bushes as well as having tracks dissapear leaving the only option crosscountry I am not sure much will save your paint in those situations. On the bright side toyota paint seems pretty thick and some t cut and elbow grase seems to get most of them out
FollowupID: 379586

Follow Up By: Patrick - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 05:52

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 05:52
Well I new if I waited long enough I would hear "Toyota and pretty thick" in the one comment. Thanks Davoe LOL
FollowupID: 379609

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:01

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:01
yep. Obviously it only protects against the lightweight stuff. Saw this bloke around Mudgee in a near new Rangie havin kittens as his pride & joy screeched thru the bush. Most of it was light and probably would've been protected with a good coat of wax. I don't understand people spending 120 grand on a new motor and going bush. He could rustle up 10 grand in loose change and get an older GQ to bash around.
AnswerID: 124700

Follow Up By: vitara - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 10:48

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 10:48
Hi there Steve, I was actually at stockton beach last weekend there was a bloke with a brand new range rover top of the line stuff and here he was polishing his wheels I kid you not and he only just got on the beach, what a wank@r. All it was, was a bit of sand. Some people just have nothing better to do with there time, mind you he moved very quickly once the kids started to kick the ball around. Have a good day Take Care Steve M
FollowupID: 379628

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 08:18

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 08:18
G'day Jackman,

yep, Meguiar's Carnauba is very good stuff. I use it after applying their paint cleaner. About $23 for a bottle and it smells delicious...
AnswerID: 124737

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:43

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:43
told you it was good enough to eat;>). Glad somebody agrees. I get a bit worried about these flights of fancy, sometimes.
FollowupID: 379687

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:36

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:36
it's true, even the Wife gets jealous after i've been waxing the 4by, what with the sighs and wistful looks....."who's Carnauba?!"
FollowupID: 379696

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:16

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:16
well, just go easy on the ecstatic groans. Poor ole sheila thinks she's missing something.
AnswerID: 124837