The price of parts
Submitted: Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:43
Willem
Last weekend we discovered that the idler pulley of the airconditioner had seized and had been chewed out by the belt. I removed it and cut the belt off. EO Member 4playfull said that he had contacts in
Adelaide and would try and source a pulley for me in
Adelaide. On Monday night I received an email from him saying that the regular price of the pulley alone was $350 from Nissan, but as he was buying it through his business, Nissan would let him have it for $300. Oh, how very magnanimous of them! More phone calls revealed a business in
Adelaide by name of Highgate. Yes they had the part and it was posted out to my mate who dropped it off here this arvo on his way to the
Flinders Ranges. $33.95!!!!!!
Thanks mate. EO friends to the rescue once again!!
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:48
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:48
thats awesome
Your EO household here has a room and top deck waiting for you all.
Ads
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:12
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:12
I have a Green Tree Frog 20g sitting here nest to my computer. I found it when I pulled the keyboard slide out. It is wrapped in such pretty paper it will be a shame to eat it LOL
Hopefully we will be in
Melbourne after mid September and looking forward a day of Top Deck only hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 17:33
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 17:33
Don't you blokes know that to much chocolate is bad for you.
Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:52
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:52
Willie,
That reminds me of a bloke I knew a few years back in
Cairns. He ran a 4wd hire company. A hand brake cable on one of his GQ Patrols broke. He rang the Nissan dealer, $210. He then rang the Ford dealer to get one for a Maverick (rebadged Patrol as you would know), $70.
When he collected it from the Ford dealer it was in Nissan packaging. If the Ford dealer could sell it at $70, you can bet they paid no more than $30 from Nissan. Therefore the Nissan dealer was selling an item that cost them $30 for $210. That's extortion.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:31
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:31
Jim
Funny that. I had a similar experience in
Cairns with an Oil sender unit. Was $100(in 1985) from Nissan and $18 from Repco.
Resellers must work on the principle that there is a sucker born every day.
Reply By: Flash - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 23:03
Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 23:03
Willem,
Just wondering what model Patrol/engine you have (for future reference)
I haven't had a problem YET.
Mine's a GQ 4.2 and ancient (15 years old, and owned since new) but so far so good. Cheers
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 17:28
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 17:28
Flash
Its a 94 GQ RX 4.2 Diesel with 299670 om the clock. Runs sweetly and is sooooooo comfortable especially in the bush. It has an OME 2"
suspension lift.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 17:32
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 17:32
"sooooooo comfortable especially in the bush"
Compared to the old Rosie. LOL
Follow Up By: Flash - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 22:44
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 22:44
Thanks Willem
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 08:44
Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 08:44
Indeed Willem - "oi shudders to think how some people are ripped off" - I have been too, but instances are reducing as I get older....which reminds me - I have a 4.4m tinny with forward control - 3 years after buying it new, the throttle cabling was seizing up - dealer said "its not serviceable mate - you just buy a new cable set and drop it in" - H'mmmm says I ...... I went home - pulled the lot to bits (nothing to lose) - took out the inner cable - filled the outer with oil, put it all back and 7 years later its still like new ! Two things: 1. Bull bleep from the agent. 2. Not lubricated properly in the factory !
Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 10:19
Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 10:19
Another thing to remember with idler pulleys isn that you can push the old bearing out and replace it with a new one pretty cheaply too.
Reply By: Boc1971 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 11:34
Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 11:34
Gday all - This is a general reply who the hope to help all-
Idler pulleys are very simple things - and SHOULD NOT cost $300 + and you would have to be crazy or lazy ( or loaded ) to buy at that price --
If there were flat spots on the outer pulley then you would have to replace - if your lucky enough to have a lathe or know someone with one , and the bearing surface is flogged out - then you can just rebush it or even just make a new one
for everyone else without engineer contacts - just contact your local pulley - v belt
shop ( usually a bearing
shop like cbc ) and they can point you in the correct direction to get one made up. With cnc lathe technology - it should not cost more than $50 - $80 - which is a better solution than $300 for a genuine part that does not need to be a precision part
Frank
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 17:32
Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 17:32
The interesting thing is that the stuffed pulley was a genuine Nissan part bought from am airconditioning poutlet for a 10th of the Nissan price!
BTW the bearing had seized and the belt had worn away the plastic pulley.