Hot Water Donkey

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 12:14
ThreadID: 25584 Views:6331 Replies:8 FollowUps:19
was chasing up info on hot water in camp and wanted to know if any one has a plan for a donkey, I think the overflow tube goes to the bottom of the tank and when cold water is poured in the top it comes out the overflow?? Anyway Ive seen them but never looked inside or used one, any help greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 12:25

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 12:25
We camp with a friend that has one absolutely brilliant, especially when your camping over a few days and really good with a large group.

I've let him know you're looking for details, hopefully he'll hop on soon and point you in the right direction!

AnswerID: 125097

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:01

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:01
Thanks Steve
FollowupID: 379885

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:38

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:38
Hi Foxer,

Mine is the one Steve refers - it is a cracker I must admit and has easily supported 13 vehicles for showers and washing water.

The theory.

Big metal container, with funnel to put water in at the top. The funnel needs to be connected to a pipe which goes all but, to the bottom.
Also at the top, have some sort of pipe to exit from - preferably a spout so that when you put a bucket under it, the water actually goes in the bucket... ;-)

Then..

Fill it full of water, and put it on the fire - when hot, you'll see steam.. For every bucket of cold that you put in the funnel, you'll get a bucket of hot out of the spout..

So, what sort of container - I would use a gas bottle of whichever size you want... Of course you'll need to use appropriate precautions until you are sure its empty (filling it full of water is a good way!!) - so you need one with two separate connections on the top (and into the actual container) and then you'll need to get threaded adapters to suit bottle, funnel and pipe...

I use one of those gas bottles you see horizontally on the back of a fork lift - it is good.... You can also use a keg. Beware of cheap imitations that use thin tin and won't last too long - beauty of mine, because its aluminium, it won't rust ;-)

Happy to answer any other questions..

FollowupID: 379914

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 17:57

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 17:57
Thanks Ivan

Foxer
FollowupID: 380187

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 12:48

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 12:48
They Sell them at Ray's amd most camping stores for about $50.
AnswerID: 125101

Reply By: Time - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 13:16

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 13:16
Look here

http://www.campingwithhillbilly.com/proddetail.asp?ID=20

AnswerID: 125103

Reply By: Nudenut - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 13:34

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 13:34
hot water rises right?
so the cold water is poured in through the lid which has a pipe to bottom of container allowing the water to go to the bottom. the added water increases the volume which displaces the hot water out the top overflow outlet!

i guess thats how it would work......would be simple enough to make also....
the one in the link above looks like a paint tin?
AnswerID: 125105

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:07

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:07
Thanks guys for replies. Hot water does rise Nudenut but like I said I havent looked inside one so am looking for help on how the pipes are placed ect. The ones for sale you mention look like a paint tin for sure. I can buy one no worries but I want a plan to see how they work.
FollowupID: 379887

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 16:20

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 16:20
down load the file from members swap file
FollowupID: 379893

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 16:58

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 16:58
thanks Nudenut,
fairly basic but until youve seen it.
Foxer
FollowupID: 379895

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:08

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:08
foxer...thats how they work
same as a domestic hot water service...solar gas or electricity,

cold in the bottom hot out the top.
FollowupID: 379920

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:36

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:36
Tahnk
I've spent a bit of time in the shed and got one organized. Thanks for your help
Foxer
FollowupID: 380057

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:37

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:37
First word there is Thanks
FollowupID: 380058

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:07

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:07
Foxer

Check the archives. This issus has been done a few times.

AnswerID: 125113

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:18

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:18
Thanks Rosco
tried but not much came up, will try again with different wording
FollowupID: 379888

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:25

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:25
Try 24893

FollowupID: 379889

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:27

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:27
Found it, thanks heaps for that Rosco, its out to the shed and get one ready for next weekend
Foxer
FollowupID: 379890

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:44

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:44
Not a bad bloke that Rosco,

Finds posts for people. Helpful as ever.
FollowupID: 379915

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 18:33

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 18:33
Our Easter camp up at Beveridges station, in the Buckland Valley, has had over 70 people in some years so our demand for hot water can be quite high. About 20 years ago we set up a beer keg with two pipes welded in the side at different heights, some steam hose and a coil of copper for the fire. We sit the keg on a log to provde a bit of height and to help flow. Now this thing is big and of no use to a couple of campers but for a large group it is a ripper. You only get out what you pour in from the top so no one gets to knock off the water. Keeps camp happy!!
AnswerID: 125125

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:31

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:31
thanks for the help
Foxer
FollowupID: 380053

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:19

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:19
Beer keg works well, already has a tube to the botton, just have to remove the ball valve and I welded a 3" to 1.5" pipe reducer to the top opening. 1" holesaw at the top of the side, weld on an extention tube about 100-150mm, weld on a 90 degree elbow and Bob's your uncle. Welded 3 legs onto mine so it site up over the coals in the fire. If you can get the keg, I can get the extra fittings from work... As long as you're local...
AnswerID: 125164

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:33

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:33
Good one Blue
I'm in the western districts of Vic, where are you
Foxer
FollowupID: 380055

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:38

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:38
Hi Foxer, I'm in Ferntree Gully... If you're not in a hurry i can grab the fittings and if you're coming to Melbourne or if we're coming your way, we can arrange to meet somewhere... We have 20 acres about 40 mins from Stawell, we are heading that way sometime in the next couple of months, could arrange to grab a coffee in Stawell if that's not too far for you to travel.
FollowupID: 380073

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:00

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:00
no worries Blue, I'll Msg you if we are heading to the big smoke ( 4 times in 45 years ) but would like to get down to the footy soon. If your coming up to Stawell can catch up
Foxer
FollowupID: 380188

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:00

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:00
I'll send you advanced warning via member message when next we venture that way.

Blue
FollowupID: 380221

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:53

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:53
we have one setup on the club property... works a treat too...
started building our second shower this weekend
AnswerID: 125174

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:35

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:35
Thanks Truckster and to all that helped it is much appreciated
Foxer
FollowupID: 380056