Dual Battery Systems

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:00
ThreadID: 25587 Views:2820 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
G'day, Just wondering if anyone has any experience with dual battery systems, I'm in the process of buying one. Can anyone recommend either ARB or piranha. Apart from the price difference (ARB cheaper) is piranha a better product for the extra money.

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:07

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:07
Andy,

Search the archives there is a plethora of information.

I'd recommend staying away from ARB or Pirahna, not because they do a bad job, it's just they are too expensive. You'll do a lot better with an auto elec.

Or you can go where I had mine done. Talk to Chris at Battery World, Wantirna. He's a terrific bloke and doesn't charge too much.

Jim
AnswerID: 125109

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 18:58

Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 18:58
G'day Jim, after many phone calls and questions the last person I spoke to was Chris at Battery World, he put me on the right track.
Actually went over to Wantirna today and he sorted a dual battery system for my GQ. For les than half the price of the Piranaha system I got everything I need, and more, included in the price was another cranking battery. I'm happy, now it's just a matter of putting it together....if it wasn't hissing down I'd be out finishing it of (I don't have undercover workshop yet)
andy
FollowupID: 380652

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:11

Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:11
Andy,

Glad you're happy with the deal. I should be on a commission for the number of people I've pointed in his direction LOL.

Chris is a top bloke, always helpful. I was away late last year and my aux batt wasn't getting charge. I checked the voltages with a multimeter and found the alternator was only putting about 13.6 volts to the start batt.

I rang Chris at about 5.30 on a Saturday afternoon and initially got the answering machine, and then he picked up. He suggested I had a charging problem and told me how to fool the system into putting charge into the aux batt. It worked, I kept my aux batt charged, and sure enough, I had a charging problem which was fixed under warranty by my car dealer.

That sort of service does not come along every day. Hence I recommend him.

And isn't he fair on price?

FollowupID: 380655

Reply By: jenko - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:35

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 14:35
G'Day Andy Q

Mate, you don't have to be a rocket scientist to do it yourself.......

1... Mount Battery,
2....Connect to main battery in Parrallel. (50 amp wiring at least)
3....Install continious Solenoid in Positive line operated by the ignition.

Thats it.
That way the Aux Batt will only be connected to the main battery when Ign on and will recieve charging from alternator when running, and thereby isolating the Aux Batt when Ign off , maintaining a fresh main battery at all times for starting.

Better than the fancy ones that stop when voltage gets to a certain level and cuts everything off. Just monitor the battery voltage,,,,Easy.
AnswerID: 125110

Follow Up By: PandJ - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:48

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 15:48
G'day Andy & jenko,

I agree with you jenko, what you have submitted is the way to go.
I have two of them and just purchased a new Redark for my 4x4. Probably a waste of $$.

My Continuos Soliniod is operated with an oil pressure switch.
FollowupID: 379891

Reply By: Member - Corey K (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 16:41

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 16:41
Hi Andy,

In all but one of my vehicles I have used the Piranha system and i have never had a problem with it.

In my first 4WD however, I used a system not unlike what Jenco has suggested, the only diference I had was to install an inline to be able to disconnect the second battery completely. I learnt the hard way, that just using the ignition as a switch was not enough. When the ignition is turned on, it parallels the two batteries, therefore, if the second battery is dead flat, you end up with two half flat batteries, this is not always enough to start the vehicle.

Finally, By using a smart solenoid system like the ARB or Piranha system, you are able to use to different batteries, ie: Starting and Deep Cycle etc.

Hope this helped.
AnswerID: 125116

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 17:40

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 17:40
a smart Solinoid does not do anything other than delay the switching of two batteries until theStarter has had a chance to charge. ie it waits for a couple of mins before switching. sometimes they also have an anti spike feature too, which doesn't really do much anyway. I just use a Smart Solinoid myself and don't have any dramas. You can get them for less than $100 now days and they are a peice of cake to intsall yourself.
FollowupID: 379898

Follow Up By: angler - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:30

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:30
Don't wire the solenoid coil to the ignition wire, put it to the accessory lead, that way when you turn the key to start the aux battery is are not connected. They paralel only when the key returns to the normal run/accessory position. This stops the second battery pulling the main start battery down to a possible lower voltage during starting.
FollowupID: 379911

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 17:55

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 17:55
Hey, thanks to all of you that replied, all good sound advice. I suppose it's just a matter of confidence when it comes to fitting ...I have just finished installing a top shelf and map reading lights, next is the Helton heating unit for the shower so a dual battery system can't be all that hard.
AnswerID: 125121

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:02

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:02
Andy

There's a view for every 4WD ever made I reckon! I only know I've had a Piranha on my 80s since 1998, and its worked all the time - no fuss, no problems.

Max
AnswerID: 125134

Reply By: Ray Bates - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:52

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:52
Hi. I suggest that you read post ID 25021 dated on 25/7/05. The comments total over 13pages and I'm more confused than ever.
I personally use an 80 amp continuous rated solinoid and 18mm2 cable and do not have any problems. The solinoid cost me $40.00 from our local auto lecky
AnswerID: 125148

Follow Up By: gqpat - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:34

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:34
A word of warning when connecting cont duty solenoid to ignition point .
When and if your aux batt becomes completly flat and you turn the ignition on your main batt will start to discharge into the aux batt sometimes at a great rate at times ive seen up to 150-200 amps surge this can make your vehicle hard to start because the main batt has to supply starter and aux batt at same times just be carefull thats all ,all these systems should never be called batt isolators but batt conectors because that is all they do .You can purchase a true batt isolator which goes between the alternator and two batts it works buy splitting the alt output between the two batts therefore the batts are NEVER connected and both receive charge when alt is working .If you want to use a solenoid i recommend you get a autoelect to fit a output wire from the alt stator to power up sol at least this way solenoid will only join batts when running ,not when ignition tured on....
FollowupID: 379912

Reply By: lhall - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 22:49

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 22:49
Stay with something basic to hightec is no good can play up in the outback . Solinoid are good but can stuff up so carry a spare
AnswerID: 125183

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 23:48

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 23:48
You could count the amount of failed arb or tjm modules which have failed on the toes of Darryl Beatties right foot.....

Both units do virtually the same job but both have different benifits...

Pirahna isolates both batteries once car turned off and will let the aux batt flatten leaving the starter batt untouched ready for starting....

Smart solenoid does the same thing "BUT" once the aux batt is getting useless it will scab power out of the starting battery and will then stop scabbing once the starting battery is down to 12.7volts... So you may get another day of fridge using the Arb version using identical batts in both cases...And its no problem starting a car from 12.7volts...

Doing the cheap way and paralling the two batts can cause probs as much as if you flatten the aux batt then turn the ignition on you can get two pretty sad batts if not careful...

Pirahna comes with a 5yr warranty... Arb is one year....

We are trialing two cars with each system and happy with both....
AnswerID: 125191

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:37

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:37
hhmmm. One less "failed" could have done in the opening sentance...
FollowupID: 379946

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:17

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:17
Mr Voxon,

Redarc ' smart solenoid ' keeps the 2 batteries connected until they both get down to 12.7v and then isolates them .

Glenn
FollowupID: 380192

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 23:46

Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 23:46
I was close...lol
FollowupID: 380696

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:33

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:33
Jenko

The basic switched solenoid is, as you say, the simplest way of paralleling batteries. But there really are some very strong arguments for the Redarc approach (that delays switching until the starter battery is well up to charge - which takes about 1-2 minutes).

The first is where you turn the ignition key, note a king brown heading your way - or get distracted by the missus - and rethink your priorities. If you fail to turn off the ignition, the starter battery may discharge into the starter battery -leaving neither or b oth able to start the vehicle.

The second and increasing need is where an AGM battery is used as the auxiliary. These batteries have very low internal impedance. This causes them to grab most of the available charge current - and in the event that AGM is deeply discharged - will do so at the expense of the starter battery.

I really do recommend some form of voltage sensing relay. They are not a waste of money. I prefer the Redarc because it is ultra-simple to install. There are several good products in this area, but beware of cheapies.
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 125246

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:49

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:49
Andy
I started with a solenoid and experienced some of the problems mentioned above so I changed to the piranha DBE150S had it for about 7 years with out any hassles, however recently changed to a Rotronics system ~$240

Read the various manufacturers web sites and make a decision based on what they tell you there.
Some manufacturers actually do recommend different batteries are suitable to be used with their systems and some don't recommend different batteries, is horses for courses.

As mentioned above you should not use an AGM battery and a wet cell starter battery with a solenoid, for the reasons stated above, similar can be said for Deep Cycle batteries as well.
AnswerID: 125287

Reply By: jenko - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:12

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:12
Hey Andy

Everyone puts up a good point but I still go with the K.I.S.S. method. " Keep it simple stupid"

If you are confused go back to my recomendation and follow PandJ's advice and use an oil pressure switch to activate the continious soleniod. That way the solenoid will not engage the aux battery until the motor has built up oil pressure , saving your main battery for starting.

A good system is one you can understand, and thereby, fix if needed.

But in the end they all work, just some better than others. Listen to all the advice and then you can at least make an informed decision.
AnswerID: 125291

Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:27

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:27
Collyn has replied.

He has forgotten more than most of us have ever known.

Andy,

Take what Collyn has to say as gospel. The rest of us have varying degrees of knowledge, some good, some not so good.

I'm not bagging anyone here, a lot of good experience and a lot of people are happy with what they've got.

I followed Collyn's advice over a year ago and installed a Redarc and an AGM. I don't think there is a better dual battery setup available. Super fast charge, no chance of a flat start battery etc. If the start batt dies, flick a switch on the Redarc (if fitted) or link it with a screwdriver and you've got a big 100 a/h, 700 cca AGM to get you going.

Mine cost $700 as opposed to a Pirahna set up with a piddling 55 a/h wet cell deep cycle for $900. Admittedly my AGM is in car (and removeable) which makes it double as a portable power supply.
AnswerID: 125312

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:27

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:27
Pirahna module $290:00....
Deepcycle Trojon 115a/hour $190:00....
New battery tray $125:00....

Total $605:00..............................................................
FollowupID: 380079

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:49

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:49
Voxson Old Son,

Don't want to get into an argument.

But,

Redarc $110
AGM 100 a/h, $250 (which will make a Trojan look like a waste of space)

You'll get a far better setup IMO.

Whether you decide to mount it under the bonnet or in the car is your choice.

Anyway it's a matter of choice Mate.

FollowupID: 380085

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:33

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:33
Old Son hehehehe....

I agree,, its a matter choice...

Hey Jimbo,,, what do you know about the pros and cons of LOKKAS... I am deciding whether to go the air or mechanical difflock for the front...
The mechanical ones are very attractive...
FollowupID: 380091

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 12:08

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 12:08
Jimbo
Thank you for the compliment.

What I attempt to do is to suggest solutions that WILL work. They are not necessarily the only solutions however so i don't get offended if others say 'hey - here's another way'.

Re forgetting stuff - your right - but it's partially through getting older!

I do however take comfort in George Bernard Shaw's comment that: "as I get older I find I remember less and less - I find this very comforting".
Collyn
FollowupID: 380157

Follow Up By: NikNoff - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:27

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:27
Jimbo what brand AGM did you fit?

[quote]AGM 100 a/h, $250 (which will make a Trojan look like a waste of space) [/quote]

FollowupID: 381931

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:04

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:04
I got a Lifeline for $300. I see the Remco in the Whitworths catalogue for $279. Not sure about Fullriver but they are normally similar to Remco.

Bargain and you'll get one for $250 or less.
FollowupID: 381966

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 00:36

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 00:36
My two bobs worth. I have a redarc with a calcium starting battery and a wet cell deep cylce as the aux. The redarc is the best dual battery isolator I have had experience with. The satrting battery is charged before the aux is brought into line.
SIMPLE AS THAT.

My only regret is not listening to my auto sparkie who tried to talk me out of getting the wet cell deep cycle. It does run the fridge for as long as I usually need but the compressor runs slow unless I start the car and wait for the redard to cut in.
AnswerID: 125354

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:49

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:49
I use this system Traxide more than happy and Tim who runs it is very helpfull.

Simple to install and heaps cheaper than all the rest.

AnswerID: 125360

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:01

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:01
Thankyou to everybody, all your comments and suggestions have been noted. I will be soon making a decision on what, why, how I'm going to do with them all.
I'll let you all know and how it's gone when I'm finished.
Thanks again for all your help
andy
AnswerID: 125471