Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:55
schervo
Banjo,Rigor,Gronk,Craigjackaroo,willykj,
nobby,jackablue,savras, jacked off,and all you other champs. Advice please if you have a minute.
Got a 97' SE petrol, LWB, good as gold. But I'm lending a 6m boat (what a mate
hay!)and
the springs are looking a touch tired to be putting 1.9T on the ar@#$ end.
Is it pretty simple to put in new springs or is there a better solution you have had sucess with? Any ideas greatly appreciated. thanks
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 22:06
Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 22:06
Ok, I'm not a jack owner, however they are a standard coil sprung rear end. You'll have no problems putting Heavy Duty springs in the back, you should be able to buy some for less than $200 and it yourself over a couple of beers. Very simple Job. If you are going to be carrying heavy loads (
camping gear, towing etc) alot then I'd also be looking at getting some Firestone Air Spring Helpers (similar to poly air bags) and slip them in at the same time, you should be able to pick them up from www.trucksprings.com (it's an american site so the Jackeroo will be called a Trooper) for less than $200 delivered. Those things are UNREAL.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:16
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:16
Jeff , slightly off topic , have been to the trucksprings site , how did you manage to set up an account ,will only accept usa zip codes and usa states , so how bar very exy phone do we manage to order ??
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:59
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:59
It was a fair while ago when I did it but I do remeber the post code issue, can't remeber how I got round it. I think I just chose a random USA zip code and state but then put in my address in Oz etc.. I think that's how I did it, I never had to call them, the gear got here in less than two weeks. (air freight). Was very good.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 11:45
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 11:45
I emailed them about a dozen times and got no reply. I think the Australian distributor has read your post and there are no more available to Aus, outside the ACCC scope I think.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 19:57
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 19:57
I've heard of people not getting replies to emails before, I never had to email them, I just ordered it and it was here less than two weeks later. They still supply Oz as far as I'm aware, there is nothing stopping them, if your order is less than $300 it's totally leagal and there is nothing the ACCC could or would do about it anyway. If ARB think it's fine to charge 200% markup then that's their business, but just because a company sells somthing at an acceptable price is no reason for the ACCC to intervein, even if they could.
Reply By: jackablue - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:18
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:18
schervo I put some Polyairs in to help when fully loaded and the CT on the back. I've just come back from a trip and they were great. I got them from Trucksprings in the US. Works out half the price and easy to install. A$138. Cheap fix if you are only borrowing the boat.
Jackablue
Reply By: Member - Nobby - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:02
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:02
Yep, I fitted Poly Airbags to my Jack for towing the CT and made all the difference.
Follow Up By: schervo - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:48
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:48
Nobby. great pics really takes me away from this desk. Just wondering why you had the need for the 12v genee and the 160w panels? do the panels keep the second battery topped up or are you finding a need for the gen. ?
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:37
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:37
Hi Schervo
I have just put some big rear coils in the rear to take the weight of the draw system, fridge, bbq and long range
tank. Very simple job. When we fist brought the jack we put polyairs in to tow our boat, now with the new rear coils we still have the polyairs in there, but hardly used.
Cheap option, new coils.
Crazie
Reply By: Rigor - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:46
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:46
Hi Schervo , can't really help as my r send is still standard , have used air helpers on vehicles in the past and found them OK. A question for
Nobby , do you still have the original shocks ? my question is I suppose do the polyairs upset the action of the shocks rebound rate and such , shocks should be matched to spring rate and if you change that spring rate with some form of aid (polyairs) does the
suspension still work OK? I have wondered about this for a while and at some stage (when my shocks are buggered ) I will either go for new springs or air assist.
what do you guys think.
Cheers Dave L.
Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 14:32
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 14:32
G'Day Rigor. Yes I still have the original shocks. The only difference I can feel (as Banjo says) is that they give a little bit harder ride when pumped up. When not towing I deflate them and all is back to normal.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:01
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:01
I have HD springs and air bags with stock shocks (toyota ones though as it's a surf not a jack) and have no problems. The stock springs were SO under rated the HD springs made it how it SHOULD have been to start with the and the air bags allow me to load all my crap in without the sag.
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 09:17
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 09:17
Seems the 1.9T is not the issue - its the ball weight (downforce at hitch) - what you can pull in spec, and what you can load down onto the ball are quite different - the Jack doesn't take a lot of ball weight - others in the class (or just up) can take heaps more - so you'd need to balance the boat in tow to achieve a ball weight in spec. THEN, if the rear sags a bit, air bags might be the go. Re-rated springs would be the go if you need to make up a lot of sag it seems - the air bags at 35psi max might provide the lift but end up making the rear all too firm. I only needed to firm the rear up a bit for my Campomatic. My post 17937 has a description of my air bag fitting process. With near on 2T in tow, advice from a proper industry expert (if you can find un-biased advice :-) could be a good move.
Reply By: schervo - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:44
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:44
Gee you lot are good blokes. thanks everyone. It seemed a bit daunting but now i'm armed with some knowledge from you,(and thanks to the
forum)I'm ready to have a crack. Take care fellas. thanks again.
Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:24
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:24
G'Day Schervo. Re the Christie. At the start of our set up (Some 5 years ago) we decided to go only 12v, and battery obviously is the only way to go. So how do you keep the batteries fully charged?- Solar or Gen. We first bought the Solar panels and then found out that the sun does not always shine. Went away for two weeks and had rain and wind for 12 days(great holiday). Thank christ for the Christie on that holiday. Ran it for two hours every two days and that kept the batteries full. Now the Christie is always packed but only as a back up. Went away a few weeks ago and did not need to run it at all but did so as it is a year since it had a run. Probably a bit of overkill on our part buying it, but now it serves the purpose.For the amount of space it takes up compared to always having power I think we made the right decision.
Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 09:32
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 09:32
Very dissapointed guys not one gave a link to the Jack
forum tisk, tisk, tisk.
Jackaroo
forum
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:49
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:49
I didnt want to take that away from you Baz, you have that link thing down pat..
lol
Ads