Submitted: Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 16:32
Member - Roachie (SA)
I'm seriously considering installing a Davies Craig Electric
Water Pump into my bottom radiator hose before next summer comes.
As some of you know, I have installed a much larger aluminium radiator in an effort to keep the GU's temp down under 100 deg C. I figure with more
water to pump around, the Nissan's
water pump is probably not up to the task. It still gets pretty bloody warm when I'm towing, even at speeds around the 95k/h, especially if I'm going into a headwind. (Of course this wouldn't have anything to do with the all-up weight being around 4.5t and the frontal area of the rig being about the equivalent of a modest sized block of flats!!!hahaha).
Now, if i fit one of these whiz-bang leccy pumps, I don't necesarily want it to just be a case of on/off.......it's rated to pump 80 litres/minute @ 13.8 volts; and I probably don't always want that much flow.
So, does anybody have any clues on what brand/type of variable control (eg: potentimeter or rheostat.....spell-check please!!!!) I could use to vary the speed of one of these units. I don't want to go down the track of Davies Craig's full electronic management system....too much chance of something going wrong!!
Thanks for any feedback...
Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 16:38
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 16:38
with the thermostat in place you should'nt need to slow it down any...it will only pump as much as it can.....
centrifugal pumps are non-overloading
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 16:56
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 16:56
I think you have the wrong truck for your requirements.
4.5ton?
said it before theres squillions of others without the $100k cooling system yours has that are touring the country happily - infact group of 6 just set off from our club on weekend on their 2nd large trip of the season - none have the issues you do.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:11
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:11
4.5T is with the trailer attached. Trucks is around 3.3t fully loaded and camper trailer adds another 1200kg.
Nobody has still been able to answer the basic question......what temperature is considered TOO high. As I've said b4, now that I have an accurate VDO guage fitted in the top hose, I now know that I'm getting maximum temps of around 110deg C; but I'm still not sure whether this is time to start worrying or whether that sort of temp is considered "normal".
In a way, I hope I never solve this issue, otherwise I'll have to go searching for something else to worry about....:-(
How much shyte did you get out of your sump with that stuff I sent ya anyway?
Cya mate
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:46
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:46
That reminds me of another job to do
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:28
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:28
Ok... maybe i can answer that.....
I have a motorcycle... (Italian)...
The temperature is always getting up to 112degrees c when idling too long,,, sometimes 115.....
Constantly whilst riding 100c....
I emailed manufacturer and they said no probs...If it gets over 115c start to work on getting it down but at 118 to pull over and let it cool....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:22
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:22
I had an italian bike once, was the WORST 18 mths of my life - and by far the biggest hunk of bleep out of 34 odd bikes Ive owned...
22 warranty claims in that 18 mths... 18,000 klms - the
shop had it more than I did. Then when I went to trade it, "oh they arent worth anything"..
Swapped it for the VFR - lost thousands, gained a real bike... 60,000 in 2.5 yrs, never broke down once, and my fav was rounding up fools on their shi+catis down thru natio
park every weekend!
Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:18
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:18
Is shifting the
water through the radiator faster recommended by the experts . When I put a Chev 350 into my Jaguar the radiator specialist recommended triple core with a reversing cross flow . That is , the top half of the radiator flowed left to right , and the bottom half flowed right to left .The objective seemed to be to have the
water exposed to the radiator longer . The modification was relatively simple being a baffle half way down the left hand [ entry ] side and the exit hose shifted to the left . Ran very cool , but then so did every other car in
Ballarat .
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:07
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:07
true, but roachie has put in a much bigger radiator and it should be able to handle a larger
water flow to get same temp difference across radiator
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:40
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:40
Bill I wonder if maybe you need to refocus on your comment above as to weather 100 to 110 degrees (Or 90 or 150 for that matter) is the correct temperature, rather than continue spending $ on a problem that may not be there in the first place.
I don't know if it is or isn't high but surely that info must be available out there, Nissan itself won't give you the right info?
What about trying to speak to a couple of automotive engineers about operating temps?
Considering the variables that must apply to all of our various vehicles, I would think that the typical automotive engine must be capable of a wide temperature tolerance?
What that tolerance is I don't know, but someone must?
I know you love to stick more gadgets on the old girl and finding the answer to this question may just deny you that pleasure, but I'm sure you will find something else to tinker with. LOL.
By the way fitted the Poron last week, Really impressed with it, cleaned up the blind spot to the rear brilliantly.
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:48
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:48
Hmmmmm.... in my distant youth I recall noting that pressurised radiator caps were there to allow the
water to rise above 100 degs C without boiling. The pressure suppresses the ability to boil it seems (physics 101) - so maybe quite a few degrees above boiling is not an issue - its only the temperature at which pure
water boils at sea level -no ? Maybe engines made of certain metals and full of oil are happy to be many degrees above ? Anyway, those Nissan techs would know exactly how far it can go, but would they share that with us ? Not bloody likely !
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:54
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:54
spot on banjo
no point having a rad cap pressure rated if
water temp is kept below 100
they run hotter theses days to aid in lessening pollution dont they?
A decent diesel workshop should be able to give the info?.,..if not it should be able to be used as a guide?
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:34
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:34
110, is to hot I my book’s for long operation It should only be going up there when the car is working I.E Up hills. If you
water temp is 110 how hot do you think the engine oil is getting.
With a 40% mix Coolant+ Distilled
water gives me anti boil protection to 125c the
water should never even get close to that 102c
water temp is upper limit for continual operation in my book.
2 years ago I was towing a descent sized trailer loaded up in my dad’s Fairmont and on a 41c day with the Climate control set on 19c sitting on 110K/ph it was sitting on 106c coolant temp (On the diagnostic dash readout), The regular temp gage was close to the red. After 600k’s at that
water temp the engine was not happy I.E Idling ruff and unresponsive.
I told ford at what temp it was running at, There answer was even in those conditions it should not be going that high.
I think the electric
water pump is a good idea even if it fails to fix it, at least then you can completely rule out coolant flow and the radiator as the problem and look at other possibilities.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:16
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:16
Thanks for that response Exploder. I may have been a bit misleading....the motor is not running continually @ 100c +....only when pushing into a head wind with the camper or 8x5 tandem trailer in tow.
I have fitted both a oil temp gauge (sender in sump) and an exhaust temp gauge (thermocouple in exhaust manifold, just above turbo) and both of those read "normal"....The oil temp rarely gets above 70 degC and the exhaust gases have never reached 600 degC.
The other thing I have since realised is that all the indicators I been reading about say that something like the EWP is really beneficial in low speed or stop/start traffic on hot days. They seem to be saying that this is the time/s when a cooling system is most likely to be found wanting and when the electric pump would be most needed. The thing is, I've NEVER had any issues with the temp going up in slow slogging conditions when there is very little air flow through the radiator. Even crawling through the Simpson Deserts 1100
sand dunes recently in low range saw ALL the temp gauges keeping VERY low.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:45
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:45
Bill, now you are getting to be an old bloke like me, you may have to consider not pushing into those hot head winds and use the wind to aid the fuel consumption as I hear others do!
Actually I have been talking to guys in Nissans pulling a total of 5 tonnes with 4.2 litres turbo'd and otherwise, and also 3 litres. All rapt but love that bit more power. No overheating. One had his fuel pump advanced and that was a big plus in the 4.2T......
Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:54
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:54
It's a heat engine, so in terms of efficiency , the hotter the better . Three limits I can think of are ;
1 exhaust valves , the first part of the engine to be damaged ,
water boiling , can damage hoses or cause gas blockage ,
3 oil temperature , limited to 105 - 115 [ depending where measured ].
If you look after 2 and 3 I would expect No 1 to be OK . If so , how about a temp senser on your oil cooler ?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:21
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:21
Have my oil temp sender unit in the sump, about 2" above the bottom, at the back of the sump bowl. It never goes above 80 deg C (only rarely gets that hot).
I don't believe my
water is getting too hot (ie: not boiling), but I guess I just need to keep an eye on it.
The valves getting too hot would be indicated by the EGT, and the gauge I've fitted shows acceptable temps in the exhaust manifold, so I don't believe that is of any concern either.
Thanks for your response
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:00
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:00
i would have thought that if oil temp is satisfactory then all should be ok...providing you dont have a fault within the coolant circuit/system
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:55
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:55
Hmmmmm ..............just goes to show that when you over-engineer a 4by you end up with a monster. Flog the thing and go back to a GQ...hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:21
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:21
Okay Willie....is yours for sale???
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:16
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:16
No I say ....... tinkering is good therapy - Bill should follow this one through ! There must be someone who knows what the safe limit is - how about the oil companies ?
They would be very particular about their product performance re working limits in temperaturesetc - no ?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:28
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:28
That's a very good suggestion.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:24
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:24
G'day blokes,
Yeh I was thinking of maybe contacting a company like Tectalloy (the coolant people) as they should know what the safe operating temp of various cooling systems should max-out at.
John....glad the Poron is now fitted and that you are happy with result.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:29
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:29
It can't hurt to try the coolant people and maybe an email to an oil company or two asking the same sort of question of their tech people.
At the worst they will tell you to get stuffed at the best they may give you some piece of mind.
Cheers Mate
Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:33
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:33
roachie,
Just making sure i understand what your doing here ok....
You want to add an electric water pump onto your bottom radiator hose right?
My question is this, Are you removing the factory pump or running both ?
If you are running both, then wont you have a conflict between flow rates between them? My point is, If the genuine pump can only flow so much at one time, then wouldnt that defeat the purpose of having the electric one added. After all from what i understadn of this issue, it dont matter how much more water the electric one can push along because the original pump becomes a bottle neck with my way of thinking will cause you more problems than what you already have.
Sorry mate, not trying to add negatives but its like trying to push a watermelon through a 3 inch hole.
Just my opinion bro.
Ange
Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:49
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:49
Yes that is my understanding of them too, the mechanical pump becomes obsolete and is probably best if the impeller is removed from it.
Banjo,From post above> The flash point of most oil is around the 220c mark that is in no way in the recommended operating temperatures of the oil. Easy way to tell how hot is to hot. If the factory temp gage (No matter how bad it is) If that gage is sitting close to the red or out of the marked Normal range it is to HOT and you risk damaging stuff (Head’s, Gasket’s and internals).
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:35
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:35
G'day blokes,
According to their website (www.daviescraig.com.au) you can set it up in one of about 3 or 4 ways. One would be to indeed remove the impeller (or remove the belt that drives it if that belt does not drive anything else) and also the thermostat. If it drives the fan too, you could also move to electric cooling fans as well (but I wouldn't be keen on that idea as those leccy thermo fans don't like going swimming!!!). If you're gunna do it this way, you really need to fit their electronic control system which automatically sences the coolant temp and switches the pump on when the need arises......so the coolant wouldn't initially be circulating at all until the sensor (which is placed in the spot where the thermostat used to live) tells it that the temp is rising. Even then, the pump comes on only at a slow speed (4 volts)
The next way is to leave the existing set-up as it is and just use the pump to assist push the coolant around. This is controlled by a driver-operated switch (on or off but at full 12volts)....that's why I was asking about the variable switch.
The 3rd way is more for drag cars etc.....the pump is on whenever the motor is on.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:56
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:56
Pumps are rated to pump so much water at a particlar head....and generally have a maximum suction lift eg say 3 metres but may have a higher discharge lift say eg 10 metres ...the total, 13 metres, being the total head. The lower the head a greater flow will result.
can remember exactly how much increase happens.... when you run pumps in series, one is increasing the head at the suction of the other meaning an increased flow will result.....the pump does not have to suck so hard....
Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:43
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:43
In answer to the potentiometer (variable resistor) question, use a proper system of mofets which is a very good electric motor speed control, not a variable resistor. These have many advantages including more range, longer operation, reliability, efficiency etc.. you can get a kit from jaycar or from www.evehicle.com.au (i dont work at either of these
places). Just call em up and tell them what you want to do. I have built the jaycar kit before, it was easy and worked well but i think the other place has ready to go ones with twist throttles which are plug and play.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:37
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:37
Thanks mate, that's the type of info I was after....
Reply By: Flash - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:58
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:58
G'day Roachie
Not really answering your question... but I considered one of those pumps a few years ago, and was going to use an old "manual" electric brake controller to vary the voltage for the pump as required.
However I did a few "mods" to my cooling system and now have NO overheating issues at all- even towing my 2.5+ tonne van up to
Toowoomba on a stinking hot day, aircon running flat chat, etc. (Doesn't even LOOK like getting warm!)
1. Now runs on about 85% water , only 10% glycol and Redline "water wetter". (An engine will ALWAYS run cooler on straight water than a glycol mix as water needs more calories/BTU's/joules to raise a degree then glycol) Downside is not a lot of antifreeze protection.
2. Fitted a "Hi Flow" thermostat.
3.Fitted a Commodore heater valve in the heater line and now have an old heater core in series with my heater ie:There is now always water flowing thru the heater hose thru the heater core I got from the wreckers (It is mounted behind the 'roo bar)
4. Fixed my Viscous fan, both by bending the bi-metallic spring and adding more silicone fluid.
It's a TD 42, DTS Turbo with "power up" running 12 psi boost and mandrel bent exhaust. Outstanding power, outstanding fuel economy (way better than original) and absolutely not a hint of running too hot! Love it!
Follow Up By: Flash - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:01
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:01
PS.
Also have an additional oil cooler (Standard setup is an oil/water heat exchanger near the oil filters)
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:52
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:52
Thanks Flash,
I also changed to rain water and Redline Water Wetter (2 bottles) and no glycol about 4 months ago. I don't need to worry too much about anti freeze over here in SA....it doesn't get all that cold.
I'm curious about the "High Flow" thermostat.....do you have any more info please. I recently replaced my thermostat, but used a genuine Nissan jobbie. Before fitting it, I checked it in a large glass bowl of water with the original one in there too. I raised the temp of the water slowly over a gas flame, tried to ensure that both of the units were equally close to the centre of the bowl so they were getting the same amount of heat. They started to open at the same time, but the new one did open wider than the old one. I'd be prepared to try a high flow unit if I could get hold of one.
That's an interesting idea about the additional heater core. Something I've never heard of before and would be willing to try.....but I know that a lot of others would just say ...."something else to go wrong" !!! hahaha
I think my viscous fan is okay...I can now hear it working after I've been doing a bit of a hard run. It's been replaced by a 2nd (genuine) unit a year or so ago.
I have a full 3" mandrel bent exhaust system with a Glen Binskin dump pipe; so breathing is not a problem either. Mine runs 11.75 psi of boost.
Follow Up By: Flash - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:23
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:23
Picked it up thru Repco-
It was Tridon brand- sold most
places incl Supercheap though mine was ordered in...
In their catalogue they list standard and hi-flow- don't know if it's any better than standard Nissan one though....
Normally your heater shuts off the water flow when heater is off.
The Commodore heater valve diverts the water allowing it to flow continuously (ie: when heater is turned off) which then runs down to the additional heater core thus giving additional water capacity and Radiator capacity. (The second heater core sits nicely in my 'roo bar behind the flat section, whcih has holes drilled to allow air-flow thru the core.)
I did all these mods at once so I don't know which made the most difference- but it's beaut now.
BTW my radiator is getting old and a few corroded fins externally- but I think I'll get a bit longer out of it yet...
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:25
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:25
Flash, would like to talk to you about the DTS power-up if I can call you some time. email me on mvpartners at bigpond dot com please, so I can ring. cheers
Reply By: Member - Clive G (Int) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:31
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:31
Roachie.
Maybe you have an oil problem. Don't know much about the Nissan 4by more the Tojo's. Marine engineering is my game. Any temp that is slow but relentless to both rise and fall points to over heating oil giving up heat to the underside of the engine block. Does the Nissan have a sump guard?? these are bad at stopping air flow over the sump, even the factory ones. With the all up load you have I would think that an oil cooler behind the grill would be a good investment. Though don't be tempted to put a temp gauge in the sump as you will never get a good nights sleep again.
Clive.
PS. 100c for water temp is ok on continuous running for petrol or diesel marine engines, 110 is to high.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:34
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:34
Thanks for response Clive.
Oil temp sender is in the sump and shows that oil rarely gets as high as even 80degC. It does not have a sump guard as such, but does come with a plastic "air dam" which sits roughly under the radiator and points down/back at about 45 degrees; designed to "drag" hot air down and out of the engine bay. I've removed mine for the winter so I can more easily access the bottom/front of the motor. I'll re-install when the hot weather comes......although I'm convinced it makes no bloody difference anyway!!!
I don't think I need an extra oil cooler and as I said the sump temp is the least of my worries.....no worries at all in fact.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:33
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:33
Ditch the 4.2Td for a tidy sum while it's still in good nick and whack in a Chev 6.5 V8 diesel.
Better in every respect for what you're doing IMHO. 4.5T is a HUGE load for a small Jap motor to pull all day at speed I'd say. You're simply asking too much of it.
The golden rule is that you simply can't beat cubic inches - especially when towing (BTW Brunswick Diesels alone have done over 7,000 V8 conversions apparently)
On another note, the F250 is an amazing tow unit. I regularly drive in one that tows a 32' 3.5T offshore speed boat with twin big blocks in it and the F truck barely knows it's there. No fuss and comparitively cheap to run too.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 23:12
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 23:12
Good idea, then he can start with the gadgets all over again.
At least it will keep him busy for awhile. LOL. Sorry Bill.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:36
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:36
Maaattteeee.....I'd LOVE a 6.5 Chev donk for the trol. That is my ultimate dream machine!!!!! Just gotta keep saving.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 14:55
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 14:55
if you flogged 1/2 of the $24023984023984023984 gadgets and the 4.2 you could sit a 6.5 in there easily.
again, I dont think you have a problem, of course its going to get hot into a headwind, or working hard up
hill,but if its not gettin to 550 exhaust, and water not gettin to 100 normally, what else do you expect?
on a normal indash nissan gauge, upto red is fine. they are going to under quote so people dont go runnin into red...
i just think your wasting thousands you dont need to with gauges on everything but the spotlights.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 14:56
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 14:56
didnt some dude in a turbo or radiator place offer his
services free while back?
Been there yet?
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 16:22
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 16:22
keep saving????
havent you heard of borrowing it from a bank? like CBA...i'm sure theyll advance a loan to you at a fair % ............hehehe
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:48
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:48
your a cruel man nudie ROTF!!
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 07:39
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 07:39
Who!...
are you talking to me Truckster???
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:10
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:10
yes you Mr Innocent
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:26
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:26
but but...
maybe he wont notice eh? :-)
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:43
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:43
I think V8Diesel is right go the 6.5Chev.
At 4.5t all up can't betoo much of a strain on that 4.2, the Disco happerly tows our 1.3t camper, all up we're about 3.8t with a 2.5l diesel.
Gotta be something wrong mate the 4.2 is a great motor and that sorta weight shouldn't effect it really.
Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 23:28
Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 23:28
hita roachie, just a simple question mate.
what is the pressurerating on your radiator cap.?
i ask this because if it is too low, things will heat up, too high ahd things tend to pressurise to much, either way not good.
go back to a standard cap (new), then go up and down each way from there.
our truck,,the real one ran a 10 pound cap when i bought it, at the first service, the mechanic changed it to a 7 pounder and things got real hot, real quick.
now back at the 10 pounder and no more problems.
rick.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 03:25
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 03:25
The pressure rating wont make it run hotter or colder only make it boil higher or lower.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:05
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:05
right fisho...
a cap that has too low a pressure rating will let coolant escape eventually leading to overheating.....
a cap that wont let water escape will not directly cause overheating...but may rupture radiator or hoses
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:58
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:58
sort of, but not quite what I had in mind. the lower pressure rating cap wont let water out unless coolant gets pretty close to the temp that the pressure rating provides for (or you have a leaking head gasket)
I.E a 7psi cap may allow the coolant to boil at (say) 107degrees. But if your engine only gets to around 90 or so, it wouldnt make any difference. Pressure doesnt increase the efficiency of the heat transfer, only the boiling point. This points to possibly something else causing the engine to run hotter than normal. Like poor radiator, pump inefficient, fuel pump timing, or simply overloading.
Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 03:32
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 03:32
For my 2 cents, if your standard pump is in good nick, why change it? slowing down the water flow while under heavy load would be disasterous as the coolant will be heating up more as it flows thru the block, causing part of the engine to get much hotter before the coolant exits to the radiator. Its the job of the thermstat to regulate flow, not the pump.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:23
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:23
Umpteen thousand Nissans doing the same work as yours , funny that never hear of the same problems that yours has , whats that old saying ? something about if it aint
broke it dont need fixing ? or is the vehicle/owner a mechanical hypocondriac ? LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:37
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:37
Me thinks it's the latter!!!!! hahaha
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 16:18
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 16:18
i thinkthe rest of us are begining to think you are too lol
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:18
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:18
I'll put a $20 on it...
Reply By: vitara - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:37
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:37
Hi there Roachie, probably a stupid question but do you have an extra temp guage besides the factory one. If not maybe your guage on the dash is out of calibration, also have you had the viscious (hope spelt write) coupling checked out. I had problems with this on myn, would be ok at idle in hot weather sitting in traffic which you would think make the temp climb but it was fine but get out on the highway at 110klm and it would head for the red zone, took me a while to work out the problem as I would sit there idling the car waiting for the fan to lock in and it would at idle speed but as soon as you revved the motor the fan would slowly cut out again pain in the ar@e but that was the problem. My mate had the exact same problem with his navara cool at idle heat up when doing 100klm you would think at that speed you would be getting enough air without having the fan cut in but you don't so put a new coupling on his now doesn't go over half 40 c day with air on at 1ooklm. You probably have already checked this out but it might hopefully give you some help. Take Care Vitara/ Steve m
Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 09:09
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 09:09
Hello Roachie,
Can't offer any more advice than what you've been given, just a question.
I gather that looking at the Davies Craig pump means the "Waterpumpman" made some pretty vague references and then couldn't pump anymore so he evaporated.
Pity he didn't come through with the goods,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:21
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:21
I reckon he must've dried up!!! hahaha
Cya mate
Reply By: Coops (Kalgoorlie) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:34
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:34
wouldn't a greater water flow restrict the amount of time that you have for air cooling?
I'm no expert but this strikes me as what would happen and is why the bypass system is such a success mostly since the water runs through the tank twice
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:28
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:28
Yeh Coops , mate you could well be on to something there too.
My radiator has about double the liquid capacity of the normal one, so I'm thinking it probably has about the same ability to disipate heat as the dual flow unit.....cos that one still only has 2 x half size radiators in reality.
Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:18
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:18
Roachie --- I seem to recall that you had a problem with your radiator cowl not fitting properly after fitting the new radiator? -- you had a gap betweeen the cowl and the radiator ? If this is still the case this may have a bearing on your overheating. Just a thought, that`s all. Regards G.T.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:26
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:26
G'day GT
Mate, I've only been able to use the top few inches of the cowling. I decided to leave it off altogether at first but soon realised how dangerous the fan was to fingers, so I cut the bloody thing across about 3" down from the top and just secured it in place with the 3 bolts it's normally held by.
From my understanding of it's purpose, I don't reckon it not being there is a factor...... The cowling is there to act as a "funnel" so that when the fan is working flat out at very low road speed (ie: when there is no speed to force air through the radiator), the fan can drag air from all parts of the radiator. However, I'm not having any issues at all at low speeds, only when I'm hunting the rig along at good speed, when there is plenty of air coming across the radiator fins.
Thanks mate
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:52
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:52
As said before, the cowling is critical to the cooling.
Removing the bottom few inches that clips inplace on the GQ's when you do a body lift really bleep s up the cooling.
As said before - there lies your problem.
Its the only thing you have not tried, and before spending another $500k on the truck, maybe try that ...
Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:00
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:00
Roachie,
I haven't spoke with you for a while but I follow your dispear with interest as I went through the same thoughts before the turbo mods I had done.
Nissan told me in writing ( I think it is in with heaps of paperwork from them ) that the temps I was running were within their safe operting temp guidelines, direct from engineers in Japan. Now when the vehicle was running constantly at 110c and going to as high as 118c ( before I would pull over ) I, and dozens of radiator blokes thought this was too hot, but not Nissan. As you may recall I have now got 226 000 km, and rising by the day, on my speedo with no other problems to mention regarding engine or component failure so maybe there is some truth in what Nissan say. I personally believe 110c (constant driving temp) is too hot, but that is not from any technical background knowledge on this matter only research due to this matter. My running temps since the turbo mods are still down around 85 - 90c and rising to 95 - 100c max. This still means the Nissan temp gauge rarely moves a needle thickness.
I went down the airflow and cooling capacity track before I settled on the turbo mods. What swayed me was some ambo's up here use the 4.2 turbo GU as an emergency vehicle, the mob I talked to at
Oakey were having all sorts of probs with their trucks, (overheating bad) but fixed the overheating problems with the same modifications as I had done.
Maybe some ambulance stations near you are running the same vehicles, if they are talk with them and see their opinions, and solutions if any. I also spoke with fleet maintainance at QLD Railway as they always seem to load up their rigs as well but Q/Rail didn't get these overheating probs, as you said b4 you don't get o/heat when slow trail work (similar to rail blokes).
Dubbo Nissan had the Jap engineers out there trying to solve this problem as they have quite a few spray contractors that can't use their vehicles for what they bought them for. Last report from Western Plains Automotive (Dubbo Nissan) is no fix apart from standard replacement items like t/stat, a/c cutout sensor, rad cap ect ect.
Other than that I can't help, but the offer still stands if we ever catch up, you can use my vehicle to see the difference in running temps fully loaded as mine is constantly at or above your GCM anyway so 4.5T loaded shouldn't hurt it.
Kind Regards and hope you find a happy medium soon.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:21
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:21
G'day again and thanks for the post Trevor,
At the risk of sounding like a real mongrel, I'm looking forward to summer to hear back from you as to how your new set-up handles the hotter weather........If all continues to go well, then I might have to investigate the MTQ "fix".
However, the more stuff I read on here, the more I'm beginning to think that the temp I'm seeing (only as a maximum and only for relative short periods of time) is just something that these big old donks are re-knowned for and I've just got to accept it.
Thanks again mate and will look forward to shouting you a beer in due course.
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:07
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:07
Roachie,
I am probably inclined to agree with you regarding the engines proneness to getting hot for short periods.
I also am looking forward to summer as I still have the intercooler, from my first setup, still sitting in the shed. If all goes well this may also be added to give the old girl even more herbs. I will obviously keep you, and anyone else that is interested, up to speed with my vehicles goings on.
Will also look forward to that beer your talking about, but the shout will be returned a few times so it may turn into a long night.
Kind Regards
Trevor.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:07
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:07
Roachie, I know you've tried just about everything but perhaps give "all head services" @ 10 Tarnard Drive, Braeside
Victoria 3195 AUSTRALIA
Telephone (+613) 9587 3066 Fax (+613) 9587 3887 ...
a ring. I know that on the petrol Patrol heads they recondition they also supply a modified water pump with what looks like a stainless cage impeller which supposedly reduces cavitation in the pump. I don't know if they do one for a diesel though.
Check out their website and the page they have on "cooling system.
All Head
Services
cooling system
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:06
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:06
well done dude, you finally got them links working :P
Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 23:45
Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 23:45
One other thing to try is folding the rubber flaps on the inner guards up or better still, packing the trailing edge of the bonnet up an inch or two with longer bolts and some flat washers. No good having air going in if it can't flow out at the same rate.
Have you got your engine bay full of stuff that might be preventing air through flow?
Just a thought.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:50
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:50
Yeh mate,
engine bay is chockablock full of stuff. I have chopped a hole in the bonnet and fitted a scoop off a 3 litre patrol. Tried it facing both backwards and forwards....didn't seem to make any difference.
I have replaced the side rubber flaps as they had started to tear; I used tractor inner-tubing and have it bolted in place......I can easily remove if you reckon that might help.
Thanks for the idea.
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:42
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:42
I don't know if this has been mentioned but have you had the intercooler checked as this is part of the cooling system might be worth investigating.
Hope you get things sorted as this seems to be turning into a war & peace type saga.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:52
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:52
G'day baz,
No intercooler on my 2000 model mate; have thought about putting one on, but reckon that might have a worse effect on the heat.
I'm starting to think I'm worrying for no reason as all other indicators are quite okay (ie: EGT and oil temp/pressure) and the thing only ever gets as high as about 110 deg C anyway and that's only for short periods when I'm pushing it fairly hard.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:56
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:56
Baz , as I said earlier , Roachie is just a mechanical hypocondriac , thinks his truck may have a high temperature ,when all other indicators show normal ,,, better to follow the old saying , "Take two BECKS [beers] and have a little lay down." LOL.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:23
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:23
I know I'm late on this post but maybe I can answer some questions and ask some more
1/ check the temp rating on the thermostat,this should tell you what Nissan wanted the engine to run at?
2/ most late euro spec engines are designed to run hot e.g. 105 oC or hotter with GOOD coolant to help with combustion.
3/ the "Davies Craig Electric Water Pump" if fitted do you remove the old Nissan water pump? (if not how will more water pass through the old pump than the speed (RPM) or clearance allow)?
4/ the temp gauge is this reading input or output to the radiator?
5/ I have see and heared of times when too high a flow rate can cause more problems than slow e.g. liquid travels to fast throw the radiator not have time to transfer it heat to the fins, you need to do a Delta temp test a cross inlet and outlet of the radiator to see the temp drop.
Please take this as you want but I would be looking for the problem first rather then trying to cure it
Ps the ansewer to the second Q a rheostat will do the job just have to size it
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:29
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:29
Had a look at site answer to No. 3 replaces old Nissan water pump
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:49
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:49
G'day Richard and thanks for the response. All input is greatly appreciated.
1. The thermostat (both original and the new one) are set at 76 deg C.
2. I am pleased if you are correct about newer engines being designed to run hotter, although I do realise that the 4.2 is not one of the new crop of European whiz-bang high-tech power-plants. I am warming (pardon the pun) to idea of accepting seeing the temp gauge climb a little.
3. I agree with you that for optimum operation, the original impeller should be removed, although the DC website seems to imply that it can be left in place if their pump is only intended to be used to supplement the standard pump......my concern then of course would be that the operational efficiency of the standard pump would be even more compromised when the electric unit was not switched on as the coolant would be slowed down by the action of the unpowered impeller.
4. The new VDO temp gauge is located in the top radiator hose. This subject raised it's own question several months ago when there was some confusion.......some members on here had long-held beliefs that coolant went into the radiator via the bottom hose and the cooled substance came out the top hose and back to the motor. We sorted that one out and proved that their beliefs were false. I have thought of putting another gauge sender unit into the bottom hose to see if the cooled 'water' has been significantly affected by the actions of the radiator. I am not sure what sort of temperature drop would be considered acceptable if this was to be done. It wouldn't be too difficult to use a spdt switch so that the same dashboard gauge could be used to check either/both temperatures at different times.
5. Too much flow causing a problem has also been mentioned on here before. I thinks a standard water pump would probably have the capacity to pump more than the electric one in any case.
Thanks again for the time you have taken to respond.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 01:30
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 01:30
When i said euro spec engines i didn't mean late models, 10 years ago I worked as a plant fitter (earthmoving) when the 1000 series Perkins engine came out. we had overheating problems????? how hot is hot???? we spent hours, weeks, months, with test probes every were inlet, outlet, exhaust, having the operator record all values, never did we see any signs of over heating or any failures.
We changed rads. flushed blocks etc. to only be told from JCB/Perkins they the engines were designed to run at 105oC to meet Euro spec (I only use Euro as I can not spell europion)LOL.(this does not mean that they should run there, 76oC as the thermostat is were the engine should start its cooling)
To fix the problem we fitted Resistors in line to the temp gauges so the they would read a lower value (this worked)
In my day we would be looking for a 5 (good)-10 (great) oC temp drop across the rad.(to test this place cardbord in front of rad till engine temp gauge reaches RED remove and test temp drop)
I now work as a service manager in Hydraulics and would want the same temp drop, in Hyd we design a systems cooling to be able to cool 25% of the input power as this is the max amount of loss we want, any more the system needs repairs......
The other problem we have in Hyd. is that oil is to slippery (when it flows through a cooler it can travel inside it's self and not pass any heat to the coolers fins, the same as have the wrong mix of coolant (to strong will cause the coolant to become to slippery and cause the same problem) coolant mix needs to be tested, you can buy testers from good spares outlets
And yes i understand the worm coolant goes in the top of the rad that was a trick Q
This new rad is it painted black?
Another problem we had with an old 4-236 Perkins is a long over heating problem (this time for real water out the overflow) it came down to the wrong thermostat being fitted the bypass valve had less travel than it should have and would not close the bypass port, leaving a 3mm gap allowing coolant to always bypass as a liquid will always travel the least line of resistance it would travel across the bypass around and around the block.
I could go on for ever but it,s 11.23pm wa time and i'm sure you (and all the restmay get bored)
Reply By: Mike DiD - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:40
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:40
It is standard practice to put two pumps in series to increase the pressure and therefore the flow through the Radiator and Block.
A centrifugal pump is quite open and won't restrict the flow when stopped.
You don't really need to vary the speed of the Electric Pump continuously - just Off, slow and Full speed would be enough.
To do this automatically get tw thermoswitches say 80 degrees and 90 degrees.
The 80 switch feeds power to the Electric Pump. In series with the Electric Pump you connect a light bulb (same power as the pump - 50 watts if its a 5 Amp pump) and across the light bulb you connect the 90 degree Thermoswitch. Under 90 the pump and the bulb get 6 volts each. Above 90 the Thermoswitch shorts out teh bulb applying full 12 volts to the Pump.