Switching from 265 to 245 tyre

Submitted: Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 17:48
ThreadID: 25624 Views:3246 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Saw on another forum that a guy was going to switch from 265/70R16 tyres to 245/75R16 - basically same rolling diameter, so no insurance issues, and a wider range of LT tyres available in this size.

Are there any general disadvantages to switching to a narrower tyre like this?

Reply By: arthurking83 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:13

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:13
You would reckon that the only disadvantage would be less grip, but that would be a moot point as the tyres will be new and therefore initially have more grip!
Advantages would be less drag resistance (better economy??) noise, cost???

I reckon, except in sand, narrower = better??

AnswerID: 125292

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:33

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:33
"I reckon, except in sand, narrower = better??"

Narrow tyres are not worse in sand than wider tyres - old "persons" tale.

FollowupID: 380054

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:59

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 19:59
Confuscius say ... "Wider tyres generally go well with one hand in pants"
FollowupID: 380061

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:33

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:33
Scubaroo there is no differance really in the diameter or width in these 2 tyre sizes 30.6 for the 265/70/16 and 30.5 for the 245/75/16, as for width can't see the differance from looking at them, i chose the 245/75/16 because of the wider range of tyres to select from.

AnswerID: 125358

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:10

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:10
If you look at the rubber on most rally cars, they run skinnier tyres than most recreational drivers. Must be something in it.... If wider gave better performance then they'd all use wide rubber.
AnswerID: 125363

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 09:49

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 09:49
Hey John hows things mate good i hope.

Have you got any pics from Birdsville, if you have can you email them to me.

redback8me@yahoo.com.au

FollowupID: 380139

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:43

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:43
From experience out West I can tell you that wider tyres like mine (31x10.5x15) are useless compared to narrow tyres when in the mud. The narrow tyre will cut through the mud & get down to hard ground quickly, where the wide tyre is all over the place like a mad women's sh--t. Still will keep the wide tyres though, as the 60 series looks horrible with narrow tyres.
AnswerID: 125382

Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:27

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:27
Check the tyre placard on your vehicle. It will tell you what rims and tyres you can legally fit to your vehicle.

There can be legal implications if you fit tyres that are not on your tyre placard.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 125417

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 16:35

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 16:35
My tyre placard states a single size - 265/70R16 - which is a bugger of a size to find LT tyres in. 245/75R16 are almost identical diameter, and are within the 15mm ADR restriction that VicRoads follow.
AnswerID: 125422

Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 12:54

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 12:54
Gday Scubaroo,
I reckon Ive spotted you over on the Paj forum.
If you want 265/70/16 in LT, youll have to go with BFG, only ones that do them, my choice but were unavailable last year. I went with P265/70/16 Bridgestone D694 AT.
Plenty use them with mostly good reports. They were getting a few bad raps a while ago, that seems to have settled down now. I think it must be Coopers turn now. Next week it will be someone else.
Dean
FollowupID: 380272