Slightly OT - water pump question

Submitted: Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:03
ThreadID: 25627 Views:2569 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Hey all :)

My wife works for one of those Chinese power tool type places as the shipping manager. She recently wangled a deal with the Chinese factory over the road from theirs in China to stick a water pump into the next container coming over. It finally arrived and they said all it would cost us was US$100.00. This is for a 5.5HP 4-stroke pump that will lift to a 50 metre head. This is quite a serious little pump for a hundred bucks!!

Question is: I want to run the engine to see if it all works before I go and buy all the screw-on fittings and hoses, etc. Does anyone recognise the actual pump section itself? I'm sure it would be used on other brands - even if it is a copy. You might be able to tell me if I can just get away with priming the pump part so that I can idle the engine. How do you go about testing the thing if you aren't next to a majot water source?

I just need to know it runs before I lug it all the way to Omaroo....

The pump: [ View Image]
Another: [ View Image]

Cheers and thanks :)

Reply By: at4x4 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:11

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:11
Looks like an Onga fire pump copy.

AnswerID: 125320

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:12

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:12
Its unbelievable really, just like the bunnings generator. You can buy a container load of the bunnings generator for $50 each landed on our wharf.. It just defies our normal thinking of what things cost to manufacture. You could just put your garden hose on full flow into the inlet just to keep the seal wet while you run the engine. Michael.
AnswerID: 125321

Reply By: Barnray - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:14

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:14
Just stick a garden hose in the pickup and remove the front cap, you have to run some water into it to keep the seal cool and lubricated and don't run it for to long. Barnray
AnswerID: 125322

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:16

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:16
Yup - good idea fellas. Hose into the guts while she's idling. Thanks!
AnswerID: 125323

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:47

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:47
you can bleep a pump real fast with lack of water in it...

we had a new crew on our truck one night and couldnt prime the pump suckin out of a swimmin pool at Menai, pump was rooted. we had our main pump, but that was the portable used to fill the main tanks.
FollowupID: 380084

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:03

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 15:03
Chris,
Dont run it witha garden hose mate, you will damage it.
If you want to run it properly, is suggest you set up a bucket above the flow line. Have some pipes feeding the water into the pump, that way a bucket full of water will keep everything under pressure and less cahnce of doing damage.
FollowupID: 380172

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:22

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:22
It look’s like a Nock off of a Robin or possibly a Honda Pump.
You should be able to run it without water in it without a problem especially if it is just a minute or so to test the motor. I worried about it just fill the primer up.

First thing I would do is put some Quality Small Bore engine Oil in it, and possibly use a Valve/ upper cylinder lube in the fuel as well (Even thou it is a Unleaded motor) It is still Chinese.

In-fact almost positive that it is a copy of a Robin.
AnswerID: 125325

Reply By: Boc1971 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:30

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:30
HI there - as others have suggested - just keep the mechanical seal wet and it should be ok -- just make sure when you fit it all up - all fitting are air tight to help prevent air suction / cavatation

very similar to transfer pumps i sell ..... for $100 you can't go wrong

Frank
AnswerID: 125327

Reply By: Trekkie - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:20

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:20
Hey Chrispy, ask you wife to get a container load of 12v Air Compressors
They will sell like hot cakes at the right price
AnswerID: 125338

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:44

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:44
connect it up to your bath or a 44 gallon drum circulating the water within .....
use rigid pvc not flexible hose or you may flood the bath room

follow the directions ie Do Not Run Dry
AnswerID: 125359

Reply By: garthyguts - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:56

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 10:56
buy china crap wont last
buy australian made
this is why australia is going down hill,no jobs here
stop buying crap people
buy from companys that make things here
there will be no jobs here soon
AnswerID: 125386

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:58

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:58
I would if I could garthyguts - believe me!

How much do we pay here for an Aussie-made pump that lifts to a 50-metre head?

Well out of my means I'm afraid.

I still need a pump though....
FollowupID: 380156

Follow Up By: garthyguts - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 13:26

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 13:26
there are two companys that make them here now
if we sent our money out of australia it just kills more jobs
when we get paid $500/$800 per week
and over sea's get that if there lucky in 6 months
you will have no choice to buy australian made anything
i work for a company here that make pumps with over
500 people we pay with people in every state
thats just us not the other company
every dollar counts that stays here in australia
sorry but i think every one should buy australian made and owned
and the money stays here
FollowupID: 380166

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 07:55

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 07:55
aint too many oz 4wd cars....ones that are real anyway!
FollowupID: 380242

Reply By: Member - Tim - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:13
The reasons that they can make things so much cheaper is because of the lack of any workplace health and safety laws, low standard of living and low wages. The safety standards over there are completely non existant. As soon as any country starts to improve the standard of living of their workers and starts to worry about the environment that they work in then they can no longer compete against those that don't.

Sad way for things to be but it gets to a stage where we can no longer afford to buy our own products because of this. Look at the price difference between the home brands that are always overseas products and those that are Oz made. How many of us can afford to only buy Oz made?

And no, I have no idea how to go about solving this and I am not sure that any of the people who claim they do really know what they are talking about.

Tim.
AnswerID: 125389