100 series

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 17:11
ThreadID: 25672 Views:2808 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
does anyone have any expirience with the 100 series landcruisers?
i have the option between a 2002 100 series GXL and a 83 fj40 for a trip across cape york.
i have used fj40s many times and feal they are an extreamly reliable vehicle, but if had mixed reviews about the newer cruisers, many people have told me that you would be lucky to get them further off the beaten track than driving on the nature strip. ive read some spec sheets aswell and allthough appearing impresive, a mechanicly minded friend has said they dont stand up nearly aswell as the pre 1990 vehicles.
are there any owners out there that could set me straight on this?

Macca

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 17:27

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 17:27
Are you serious?

AnswerID: 125594

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:55

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:55
I will second that.

Mate A FJ40 is old technology and if they were better Toyota would still be building them.

“People have told me that you would be lucky to get them further off the beaten track than driving on the nature strip”> Who are these lunatics. I’m sorry Yore mechanically minded friend is wrong how can something 20+years old be more reliable than a 3 year old Land cruiser.

FollowupID: 380319

Follow Up By: fig_jam - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:32
I’m sorry Yore mechanically minded friend is wrong how can something 20+years old be more reliable than a 3 year old Land cruiser.

the old girls were built to last, not to make ur ride comfortable, my old mans 67 valient is still running like a dream with its origional engine, the newer festiva lasted about 5 years.
FollowupID: 380345

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:57

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:57
They may have been built to last but it is still a mechanical machine and suffers from age wear and tear insufficient maintenance being treated badly.

If you are talking about reliability a new land cruiser is far more likely to get you there and back than a 20+ year old one.

Mechanical part’s wear out with use and martials weaken over time fact of life, a new one will be more reliable then a old one, and I know which one I would be taking.

I am not saying that the 40 would not be suitable, and I am not saying that the 100 would not have a problem, it’s bush travel and anything can happen but I would fell a lot better in a 3 year old truck than a 20+ year old one that probably has ½ a million k’s on it. They were built tuff not invincible.
FollowupID: 380354

Reply By: Spango - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 17:42

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 17:42
Macca i owned a 1998 100s Petrol for about 3 and half years, just recently sold it , had spent a lot of money on it mainly on extras and my opinion is that they dont stack up with the off road stuff, too bloody delicate, more at home in suburbia. Taking the family for a drive in comfort and room to spare no problems and great to drive on a sealed road.
I live in the North West of WA and its quite easy to get off road, all the after market bits and piece I had on it were to be honest a waste of money, they really are over priced and cant handle punishment. I am not one of these people who delibrately goes out to bash the vehicle around either, two many four wheel drive owners think they are bullet prove when it comes to driving off road. You only have to see the tourist around here at this time of the year.

Have now brought a 1994 DX Nissan Patrol Ute Diesel and economically its great and handles the off road stuff well. Take the advise of your mate reference the 100s mechanically, mine had done about 130,000ks and the gear box had to be rebuilt, I was the second owner of this vehicle, never towed in 5th gear, thats an example of how delicate they are. Sure there will probably be forumites who will say I dont know what I am talking about but these are my experiences over the last 3 and a bit years.

Spango
AnswerID: 125598

Reply By: nick riviera - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:34

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:34
Well if a HZJ105 cant handle the cape york development road you better start telling a few people and govt deparments, cape york land council ect.

Great wind up.

To let you in on a little secret, you can drive XF wagons on all of these tracks/roads. I would sugguest an early model VB commodore if you like pre 90 tech.

The 105's are great for their intended use.
AnswerID: 125608

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 19:44

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 19:44
Interesting subject. I have owned many Toyotas over the years and still continue to drive them mainly for thier size and seating capacity. Are they as tuff as they once were? no way. Are they more comfortable and better equiped? of course. Vehicles are always going to be a compromise between tuffness, reliability and comfort. Less than 1% of Toyota ownwers would do what I do with them, 6-8 Cape York Trips per year and the rest touring around Australia a total of over 100k klms per year. Less than 10% would do what most of you guys do, play with them in various degrees of dificulty at weekends. That leaves 89% of Toyota owners using them as big people movers for their families etc. Realistically and quite profitably Toyota are listening to and catering to their bulk puchasers. Will they make a really good strong reliable tuff 4x4 again, I hope so but in reality unlikely. I still think my 12HT 60 series was the best strongest and most reliable. But in my game you have to have modern gear or no work. The 80s were good, tho some much bette than others with big performance differences between varios 1HZ motors and some bodies much tighter than others.After having 2 the 100s they have been the most expensive to buy, run and maintain by a huge margin. Would I buy another 100, unlikely, but what else is there? I have always been anti Land Rover but the new Discovery 3 make the 100 Series seem like a dinosaur. Great seating and features, would I buy one? not until they have proven reliable in our tuff conditions for at least a year.
AnswerID: 125623

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:24

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:24
interesting your observation on the different 1hz as this has long been my observation in driving work utes. my No1 advice to people looking at these vehicles is get in them - hold them flat and make sure they go like they should, not all do. For tough conditions the 79 beats the 100 hands down especially in the area of "dent resistance" panels on the 100 are wider and seem more exposed and vulnarable
FollowupID: 380327

Reply By: warthog - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:28

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:28
This is good thread and I would have to agree that newer vehicles, 4wds included, are much more refined than they were. I have to agree with my dad though when he used to say more features = more to go wrong. Cars are better handling smoother to drive but they aint built to last, car companies are in business of selling cars. Each model is more refined but also weaker. I drive a patrol and I like it but its got its faults already had the diff housing welded up and apparently the chassis cracks near the rear spring mounts, dodgy welding on the spring mounts. 79 series tojos are also cracking diff housings where the older 75's didn't.
Just finished reading too long in the bush, I wonder how a gu patrol or 100 series would handle the punishment those old landies took.... reckon the air con would be appreciated though.
AnswerID: 125660

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:59

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:59
older 75s dont crack diff housings? wish somebody had told mine that
FollowupID: 380383

Follow Up By: warthog - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 13:36

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 13:36
Well I spose they do if you try hard enough, my point was that the diff housings in the 79 series are weaker than they were in the old 75. The older ones with the leaf springs in the front and larger diff centre were, I'm told by a mate who works on them, a bit tougher.
FollowupID: 380445

Reply By: nick riviera - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:34

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:34
why not buy a Tractor with 4wd if you want to be TUFF:)

Or perhaps a D9 would suffice. No panel damage problems there.
AnswerID: 125671

Follow Up By: fig_jam - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 00:06

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 00:06
dude, ur a fool lol
FollowupID: 380385

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 00:27

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 00:27
After speaking to several ppl who have had 80 and 100 series cruisers, I personally would not by a 100 series.

If my Patrol had a tail gate instead of barn doors it would be perfect.
AnswerID: 125685

Reply By: Jason M P - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:03

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:03
G'day fig jam. yes i have 01 100series std pack 1hz ,went up the cape last year this time. had no faults with it. had 150,000km at the time.Yes i chose a vehilce that didn't have all the gadgets and wanted it plain and simple if some thing goes wrong,that may/can be fix on the spot. But what i think is people talking about is the cruisers with IFS due to cracking and breaking away . Again no matter what vehicle you take i sure they all have there faults one way or another..
cheers ....
AnswerID: 125705

Reply By: ADM - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:26

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:26
I have recently changed to a Patrol cab chassis after owning Toyotas. My last was an 100 series GXL, the first real 4wd weekend I blew 4 teeth of the front crown wheel (diff), sold it after the gear box was recod after 90000 ks. IMO Toyotas are a soft tourer and not built any more for the harder stuff. They may be fine to tow the van around Australia but put it in the Vic high country for a period of time and see how it stands up.

I mate has a 03 GU and has done some hard 4 Wheeling for 2 years and it has never missed a beat.

Landcruisers have lost their reputation for being a tough truck.

Bring back the 60 series.

AnswerID: 125710

Reply By: chump_boy - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:54

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:54
I can see where your mechanic mate may have been coming from.

I drive a 98 105 NA Diesel, and love it. I have also owned an old series 2 landrover. While I do my own servicing on the landcruiser, and could do a few repairs (given a manual, tools and enough time), I am sure I could confidently fix 90% of what went wrong on the old landrover.

Being older and more mechanical, they were much easier to fix when something went wrong. The trouble was, things went wrong more often.

So your mate, being a mechanic, was probably thinking along the lines of road-side repairs. Much easier to fix something with no ABS, Airbags, power steering, cruise control, air conditioning, turbo, etc.... BUT the vehicle will break down more often, and be less comfortable.

Depends on what you plan on doing, and how mechanically minded you are...
AnswerID: 125713

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:37

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:37
How much is a good back for a good nights sleep worth??? Take the 100 and get NRMA premium cover :-))
If it breaks down, you will be towed to the nearest repairer and put up in 5 startacc till its fixed!!
What else do u want???
AnswerID: 125725

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:54

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:54
Its hardly 5 star Dozer at Yulara i had to negotiate with the caravan park for a cabin awaiting repairs because the AA cover doesnt stretch as far as normal accomadation in areas like that to quote the AA girl when she thanked me from saving her the embarrasmrnt of telling me they couldnt cover accomadation " i do this sort of thing for people all the time and that is australias dearest accomadation"
FollowupID: 380488

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:31

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:31
Guys, some of the comments in here are a joke.
I can assure you that if every one of us in here had a 100 series cruiser, every one of us would encounter different problems (if any). I have worked in the auto industry for most of my life. I assure you, every car we repaired had different problems, it comes down to lots of things, maintainence, owner, the actual car, where its driven, how its driven...etc..the list is endless. No 2 cras are identical.

Without carrying on as i could, I'll end this by saying that its a whole heap of factors are behind how a vehicle survives. This battle we have between who has got the best vehicle is childish. I love my GQ, to me it does everything i want it to. Part of the reason why i love GQ's is all based due to the fact that a GQ was my first expierence offroad. It could just as easily have beena 80 series he had and id be driving one now. Personally i think they r both excellent vehicles. any one of them can break down at any time.
Just my shillings worth
Ange.
AnswerID: 125735

Reply By: ADM - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:32

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:32
So our own experience and thoughts are meant to be a joke.

You cant honestly tell me the new Landcruisers are as strong as the old 60 series ect.
AnswerID: 125742

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:35

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:35
You may have missed the point yea probably 60 series WERE tougher and SOME may still be but do you really reckon a 15 to 20+ year old vehicle is going to be consistently more reliable? personally i wouldnt get a 100 as if I was going later model i would go the ute but I reckon my 80 with 10 years on it suits me fine at the moment due to the age - price balance eg young enough not to be to old and costing heaps on upkeep and old enough not to have to wince when the branches cscrape down the side and a rock ledge bangs the floorpan
FollowupID: 380475

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 15:04

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 15:04
Mate i'm with you Fig-Jam buy a FJ40, much better vehicle than the 80 and 100 series, they fall apart to easy.

AnswerID: 125768

Follow Up By: Peter - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 22:03

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 22:03
Mate, what the hell are you smokin?????????????? Buy an FJ40, spend 20K on it to bring it up to condition, ra ra ra ra ra
FollowupID: 380519

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 23:22

Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 23:22
Macca. As the owner of a 100 series I'd suggest you take the fj40. When you get back let us know how the old bus with 300,000+ KM went. Let us know if the leaf springs broke your back in half, if the choking dust coming in through the holes in the floor annoyed you & if the 22 year old running gear held together. Of course you'll need a heap of jerry cans as the old girl doesn't carry 145litres like those new woosy 100 series & ya better take some ear plugs cos they're not as quiet either. Your mates memory of a bullet proof 40 series is far from reality as all I remember is blown diffs, broken springs & rough ride for your trouble. Sure you could modify the old bus to handle the rough stuff but you can equally do up 100 series the same.
Have a look at the continuous repairs on Otis the old green Cruiser in 4WD monthly to get an idea what's going to break next on your Cape trip:-))
Cheers Craig..........
HZJ105
AnswerID: 125844

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 00:41

Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 00:41
Ute ute ute!! I have seen to many times 100s boys trieng to do a Utes mans job. When working exploration the bosses vehicles would come back with panels caved in while following the utes in comparitively extremely light driving and we recently had the 100 series that was replaced by a ute towed away and sold for stuff all after a bit of underground work it died from multiple cases of drivetrain failure and smashed in panels - they are just to wide and too heavy
FollowupID: 380535