Traytop camping
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:46
Member - Phil G (SA)
For those who like to roam the deserts and live out of their traytop canopies, campers or whatever,
Theres a specialist Traytop
camping group out there.
Just thought I'd post it if people were interested in hearing about other peoples setups etc
Reply By: ADM - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:12
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:12
Thanks for that.
I am in the middle of designing a canopy for my GU, this will no doubt have some great info from people who have done the same.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:58
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:58
Designing a canopy has taken me longer than I thought - there are unlimited options, and I keep changing my mind. And
camping can be so simple - just lift up the door and its all there looking at you. No effort required.
I've been taking it one step at a time - as soon as I think I'm happy with an idea, I'll build it or buy it. Reckon I'm about half way there at the moment. Its all good fun
phil
Follow Up By: ADM - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:10
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:10
I have made a simple canopy were I have a access both sides but am designing markII which I wont to incoporate a bed. I am sure this site will certainly help.
Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:25
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:25
Thanks for the info Phil,
I have just signed up.
I am considering a traytop camper or a converted troopy as our next
camping rig.
Regards, Mark
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:09
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:09
Hi Mark,
I think the popularity of traytops as a
camping option will continue to grow heaps.
They are built like a real truck, now come with the nice TD motors, have greater payloads, and you have a huge number of options in setting them up. Only catch is how much they cost to set up. I've been buying good stuff that I think will last - and I dare not add up the total cost :-))
phil
Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:19
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:19
Hi Phil,
Yes, I know what you mean about adding up the costs ( or not really wanting to ).
The costs seem out of proportion just for the base vehicle.
The Patrol and Cruiser trayback utes cost just as much as their wagon counterparts. You would think without the costs of the extra panels, windows, trim, seats etc. that they would be cheaper.
I know there are other tray tops out there but the Patrol and Cruiser are the only ones I am considering.
Reply By: DEANO WA - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:13
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 12:13
Cheers Phil, like you I'm in the middle of making and buying a t/top camper. there are heaps to choose from now and the ability to tow a boat is awsome. hope to find some good idea's from that site.
Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 13:55
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 13:55
We had the best fun
camping off the back of the ute - we adapted a weldmesh frame, and had a canvas top made for it - nothing sophisticated. It had a roof rack over the top of the canvas for spares and some luggage. Main drawback was we had to lift our gear off the back to roll out the swag - if we were going to use it more, underbed storage would have been a good idea. For long term travelling, luggage space was rather limited.
Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:14
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:14
Great stuff Phil G
Got a Lux Ttop and doing it up as I go. How can we get it right when we see someone has done it different/better?...... and then we want to change it again and ...... oh, what a great idea you've come up with!!!!! wish I had done that....
Andy
Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:24
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:24
gid'ay all
check out www.lowline-industries.com.au i've got one of thier canopies on my tray back,first class workmanship.
regards toohey
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 23:06
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 23:06
Andy,
Thats the fun of it all.
I had a beautifully setup Prado TD that took me all over the country. But there was nothing left to work on, nothing left to weld or make.
Reckon with the Traytop, I've got a few more years of quality shed time and trips to get this one right. Then I can change it all again hehehehe
Beats painting the house :-)))
Reply By: DEANO WA - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 10:30
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 10:30
has anyone had any trouble getting in to this site?????????????????
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 13:55
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 13:55
Hi Deano,
People seem to have been finding it OK. You need to go through the usual Yahoo stuff - you need to apply for a Yahoo ID, and once you have that, you apply to join the group.
Heres the link again:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/traytop_camping/
phil