12 volt ARB light
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:42
Larry01
Hi Interested in feedback regarding 12 volt ARB light. Is it as good/better than the versalite or colite? Is there better. Going to Frasier next month sick of the gas light noise and my kids trying to swing off the pole
Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:53
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:53
Laurence,
The ARB is the same as the Versa, Pirahna and others. They all come out of the same factory and are an excellent product. Prices vary from $80 to $120. "Same horse, different jockey".
There is a cheaper alternative. The Arlec, available from Supercheap for $50 (but it doesn't have a switch. Get a switch from Middy's for $8 and fit it in 10 minutes).
The Arlec is brighter for the same amp draw. I took the Arlec to ARB and compared them side by side.
Another option.
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:33
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:33
Best value is the Primus, same as ARB & Versalite ... but cheaper!
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:32
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:32
I'll second that, I spent a lot of time (driving on the road for work and pulling into each camping/4wd
shop comparing prices) chasing up a good 12v light. The Primus was by far the best value (and is the same as all the others) and has proven to be a fantastic edition to the kit. The primus comes with the Canvas storage bag and velcro strip for tying the cables up too.
Well worth the $$$.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:36
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:36
Another vote for the primus here.........and at $59, what can u say?
Reply By: adsy - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:48
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:48
gday mate those lights are all over rated i honestly got a 12 volt light from the reject
shop for 5 bucks and its a beauty since buying one they seem to never have them in stock how ever i seen in a boat mag the same 12 volt light advertised but it was more expensive ill get more details 4 u
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:51
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:51
adsy,
If you can get a 12V fluoro that spits out light like a Versa or an Arlec for $5 I'm all ears.
I'm always open to suggestions.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:33
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:33
I had a cheap fluro (a couple actaully) and the light output compared to my primus was laughable.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:38
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:38
Yes show me the money.(or fluro) Most real cheapies suck more power and the light is pitiful.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:57
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:57
Go to Bunnings (or similar). Buy a 240V switched 'trouble light' with a 5 metre lead. Buy a 12 volt flouro globe (also available from Bunnings). Cut the 3 pin plug off and replace it with your choice of 12 V plugs.
You will have an excellent, low current draw 12V light for under $50. At least as good as the top brands. The 12V flouro globe is the most expensive part.
Follow Up By: Haza - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:07
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:07
Nice Norm, Good to c someone thinking outside the square. I personally use a cheap invertor I got for $100 and use a fluro ($30) I got from a hardware store. The brightness cant be matched. It leaves the 12V Fluro and gas lanturns for dead. Also a nice white light and easy to find my
camp when there are others around. Can also charge my phone and Batts for gps and camera, etc. I'll never go back. Just don't get
water on the invertor as I found out the hard way, (Fireworks.)
Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:26
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:26
I’m with Haza 240v All the way, I can connect a 250w Flood light to my 600w Pure Sine Inverter if I need too…... But to stay on Topic I have an ARB 12v Flouro for general use and it’s great!
HTH
Follow Up By: itisi - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 01:57
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 01:57
For anyone trying to copy Norm C's (and others) idea and living over here in the sate of confusion (er WA) will have to
shop around for the
Nelson 12Volt fluoro as Bunnings WA DON'T stock them, for some reason that they can't explain!!!
Most electrical shops should be able to get them tho.
They have a branch over here in Wangara, I think from memory, and they don't sell direct to the public.
Rod
Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 07:22
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 07:22
Like they Say Rod,
W.A. = Wait A-while!
Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:34
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:34
Agree Totally.
made one up myself, top stuff.
Widely used by the Campertrailer folks.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:39
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:39
Good one Norm, I like your style!! ;-)
Just out of interest though I paid $76 for the Primus and that came with the canvas carry bag etc complete. Probally not that much more than the DIY, however you just can't go past DIY when saving $20 IMHO!! $20 bucks is enough fuel to get you out'da city! LOL
Regarding running fluros off cheap
inverters, it may
well work, however you will find you get MUCH better efficiancy (longer run time) if you use a pure sinewave with fluro's. Just do a search on "Fluro on inverter" in google I'm sure something would come up to explain further.
Matt, I've often wondered about doing the same thing!! I ended up going the 12v Fluro and was totally knocked back by how good it was (it lights up a MASSIVE area) but I still reckon your method is a good'en!
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:53
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:53
Me
I'm a Versa light fan , have had one for over 10yrs and it is still as good as the day I got it.
Yes there are several on the market now all mout of the same factory.
Who would be silly enough to use a gas light when this sort of thing is available.
Reply By: Marko - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:24
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:24
Hello,
I have the ARB light and its excellent. My brother has the Versalite and also claims its excellence.
Marko
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:52
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:52
If you're in Brissy, have a look at this 12v LED "flouro" from Campmart.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:35
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:35
Bought 2 of them when on special last year , price was TOO good to refuse , trouble is both are slowly but surely dieing , better than 30% of the leds no longer "fire" up ,, great lights while they work though ,, gone the PRIMUS route ,same as versalite yet only $59 from all sports ,,$98 at campmart [now owned by supercheap] ,,,watch the x over of prices and "camping stock".
Reply By: ADM - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:04
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:04
I may be wrong but i think the ARB light is manufactured somewhere in Asia. The Versalite is manufactured Bayswater Victoria.
I have had the same versalite for over 10 years, returned it once because I broke the tube and they replaced it with a new wiring board and fluro for nothing. I am sure ARB wont do that.
Buy the Australian product.
Reply By: Grinner - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:46
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:46
I have both the ARB and the Versalite fluro's. I paid about $60 for the ARB and $100 for the versalite. They are definately NOT the same light, the ARB in my opinion is lesser quality and feels more "plasticy" compared to the Versalite. Having said that, the ARB is still a good light and is good value for money. Light output is about the same for both.
Grinner :)
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 15:03
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 15:03
Ask Crazie how good my versalite was on the woods weekend.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:33
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:33
ok...Crazie, how good was Truckster's Versalite on the
Woods Point weekend? :)
I also have a Versalite - excellent light - just bought a magnamount for it from www.discountcamping.com.au. Yep, $100 is a bit more expensive than some of the others - but I would buy another versalite before any of the others if I needed another.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:08
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 17:08
I'm going against the trend. I bought an ARB light under two years ago, and have had it replaced under warranty three times. When it works it's good, but unfortunately they don't appear to work often.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:12
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:12
We've got an ARB fluro and three other people we know have also got them.We all find them a good light.Ours came with a canvas bag and aligator to cigarette plug adaptor.
Originally we got a Supa Cheap $25 jobbie and on our first night it died.Put out a good light before hand though.
Reply By: bb - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 20:46
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 20:46
I have used a 240v 2 foot fluro through a 150 watt inverter untill the ballast failed.
Now i have converted the same light to 12v. You can buy a small electronic gismo to fit inside the light from any solar
shop. Ballast ect is removed. Still use standard 240v tubes. About $27.00 and 1/2 to fit. Same light output as 240v and a lot safer.
I use tubes worth about $6.00 as the give out better light than the cheaper ones.
you can also convert the 4 foot fluros the same way.