Submitted: Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 23:41
darrenm
G'day,
I live in the sutherland shire (NSW) and wondered if any one knew of any tracks or
places within an hours drive or less? I'm aware of then blue mountains etc but thought there may be some closer for a quick spin?
Darren Middleton
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 09:24
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 09:24
Menai is only for club members who have done this jumped thru that hoop, and licked someones bum now.
THere is tracks down
Appin or Picton way that dudes wheel, but apart from that or the Joke of Kurnell sandflats, thats about it.
Follow Up By: darrenm - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 10:34
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 10:34
Thanks for the reply mate,
I take it there is a Menai 4wd club?
Oh
well looks like long trips to the blue mountains.
Thanks for the input,
Darren
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 10:50
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 10:50
Nope no menai club.. just other clubs in the state...
Basically you have to work to clean up the land before you can use it, and only then on a few club trips.
so once its all cleaned up etc the owners can sell it for billions... but people call me sarcastic.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:53
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:53
Hi Darren,
I am also a shire boy as was the truckster some time back.
I am also a member of the Patrol Club and yes they had to help the traditional owners clean up the bush for the right to wheel on the tracks.
There isn't much around here anymore without breaking the law and the traditional owners have sold off some major parcels of land for residential development already. So i guess it isn't hard to figure out why they want it cleaned up.
I believe Yalwal (is that right?) near Nowra is a good 4wd destination within a couple of hours of home, though i haven't used it yet, some mates with bikes reckon its tops.
Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:47
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:47
I was actually very disapointed with Yalwal- but if your into easy 4x4 ing ( and to be honest i didnt even need to go into 4x4 the whole weekend ) then this would be the place -- ie ideal for new prado owners ( ducks for cover )
Frank
Reply By: darrenm - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 10:55
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 10:55
Thanks Mate,
One get the impression us 4wders are not wanted!
Off to the blue mountains it is then.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 15:40
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 15:40
It's a couple of years since I was in the area but there used to be heaps of tracks around Menai. I used to go in off Heathcote Rd between Illawarra Rd and
Sandy Point. It was all Crown Land and I can't see how they would have fenced it all off, or why they would want to. Except just to be difficult. They talked about closing it off for years. I even heard a few reports that it had been done but nothing ever happened while I was living down that way. Most of the rumors came through a couple of the bigger clubs, maybe they were trying to drum up business.
Next time you are heading up Heathcote Rd just have a look into any of the tracks on the Georges River side. That's how I started. Found some interesting and challenging tracks.
Maybe Trucksters info is more up to date, but I'd be having a look anyway.
Dunccs
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 15:49
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 15:49
have a read here
Back in EARLY 80s the
St George Mcc wanted to hold motorcycle enduros on one area backing onto the OLD tip.. they were told no, as it would damage the environment.. less than 2 yr later they opened that area up for the newer tip..
Who did the damage?
Reply By: darrenm - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:53
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:53
I'll give em a go.
Reply By: Charlie - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 12:59
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 12:59
Menai is defintely owned by the traditional aboriginal owners nowdays,it would best to join a club or your risking some fines.
Regards Charlie