invitation to fuel saving device sellers
Submitted: Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:51
Diamond (Vic)
im putting out the chalenge to any one who sells fuel saving devices to basicaly put up or shut up.
we all see people trying to flog there so called fuel saving devices.
heres the chalange.
if there as good as you say i have a 3.2 v6 jack that loves to chew the juice.
my challenge is for you to offer me free of charge your device and lets do some real tests.
its easy for you people to say how good it is now lets prove it.
if it works i will pay you retail on what its worth and you will get great publicity here. how many 1000s of people per month read e/o.
i do the same basic driving week in week out so i will know if theres a diference.
i can be contacted at swingers at iprimus dot com au(is this the way jimbo lol).
so bring it on hiclone/vaporate/fitch ect.
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:01
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:01
G'day Diamond,
Your a bit late mate, F4phantom is already doing a test for us, we're just waiting for him to post some results.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:03
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:03
what product are you flogging.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:07
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:07
I just put up a similar challenge for bill on the other thread.
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:51
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:51
Diamond,
Not "flogging" anything, as you so 'politely' put it.
Phantom has put up a few posts a while back to tell us that he was testing the "fitch" product, and as I said, we are waiting for some results.
Haven't heard from him for a while so maybe he,s been busy, or maybe there's another story, who knows.
As for my
views on this product and the person promoting/selling it I suggest you do a search and/or read post 25155.
Pezza
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 15:15
Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 15:15
Diamond,
Read post 24333.
Pezza
Reply By: awill4x4 - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:31
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:31
Diamond I wish you luck. But, if it does happen do the testing over a 3-6 month period. These devices work on a placebo effect where people who buy them want them to work so convince themselves sub consciously that they do work. Their driving style subtly changes in the early phase of install to a more econonomic style even if they think they are driving the same way. Over a period of time they revert back to their more normal driving style hence the recommendation of a 3-6 month period. ( outside the "rose coloured glasses" stage).
Not one of these devices has ended up in a mass produced OEM vehicle. Does anyone seriously suggest that if a car company could reduce emissions and improve economy substantially with just a quick fix cheap solution instead of spending mega squillions on engine development. They would have beaten a path to these companies doors with cheque books too large to ignore and bought the process to use themselves. Instead we have companies like Peugeot, Citroen and VW spending huge amounts to bring us common rail diesel cars capable of 4-5litres/100 Kms. Car companies aren't stupid, far from it, they know these things don't work so that's why we get continual engine development rather than these fancy gizmo's.
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:48
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 22:48
thats why i posted.
it aint gonna happen.
Follow Up By: phil - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 10:49
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 10:49
And after the 3 months with the device installed, take it off and see what happens. That is the real test.
Phil I
Reply By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 23:14
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 23:14
Dear Diamond
Your not working for Amway are you.
Had the VAPORATE fitted last Tuesday By Northern ARB and will be keeping a very close watch on the figures for the next three mounths.The
simpson desert should test it out as to the economy gain.Some good coments here. Will be posting my figures in the first week of October.
Best regards
Johno
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 01:42
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 01:42
Gidday - wont you have to do the Simpson trip twice (at least) with same load, tyre pressures, track & weather conditions etc ie - once with device fitted and once without to obtain suitable data for comparison? Assume you already have done a trip..just asking...
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 11:10
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 11:10
Reading the blurb on the Vaporate it states that their collar installed over the injector nozzle tranfers the engine heat to the injector nozzle to increase fuel vaporisation , how much b_ll s_ite is required to buy one ???? the injectors are at the same temp as the engine already ,,,, blurb also states that must be fitted byauthorised fitters ,Kmart tyre and auto being one such,, not so ,QLD Kmart tyre and auto have refused to be associated with what their managers +mechanics deem to be a false product.
Reply By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 11:23
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 11:23
Hi guys. Im keen to give them a go.4.2 efi gq,if anyone wants to supply me.Im stuffed as Ive got 2 Hiclones ,Cooper tyres,Petrol patrol. So accordding to this
forum I can't go anywhere ,if I do my tyres will blow up
regards Stuffed Uppy
Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:51
Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:51
I agree with Explorer that the tests have to be an accurate comparison of similar conditions . This is very hard when you get to meteorological conditions because although it is reasonably easy to get similar temperatures and densities , it is hard to get similar winds . I would expect that a head or tail wind component change of only 5knots would change fuel use by about 4% . A good test would be a courier run over the same route for about three months with alternate weeks with/without the equipment . The results gained would be valid only for the particular vehicle type tested .
Reply By: at4x4 - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 08:45
Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 08:45
Diamond,
your post is assuming the
forum actually holds what you would have to say after testing such products in high regard, with statements like ".
if it works i will pay you retail on what its worth and you will get great publicity here."
where as, if "independent" testing and test methods arent made part of the procedure, then your reply on testing would be "heresay" like any other post, on any other
forum......
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 19:52
Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 19:52
well the thing is i consider my self to be honest.
unlike the crap they put on there web sites.
if it works ill say it works if it dosnt i will say it dosnt its simple as that.
cheers mate
Reply By: kev.h - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 17:34
Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 17:34
Hi Guys
The problem with all these tests is you cannot replicate the conditions on the road too many variables
The only way is stick it on a dyno run it for a set time check load,KW output, engine speed and fuel consumption then fit the device redo the tests at the same KW output and load either the engine speed or fuel consumption will change or both better or worse who knows but my guess is stuff all different
These tests can be done for a few hundred bucks but none of the suppliers do them maybe they have and didn,t get the answer they wanted? so have kept quite?
I have had several tests done to prove or disprove performance chip mods and engine enhansment on high performance cars worth every cent it proves where you should spend your money
I ask the supplier to agree to this test and if it works at the level they promote i pay if not they pay and take their goods back at no cost to me including fitting and removal if they are shonks thats when they hang up the phone
In the past i have had two suppliers agree then used the info in their adds both worked fine the rest i'll never know my philosophy is put up or shut up
Just a few ramblings from someone who sick of being ripped off
Regards Kev
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 19:55
Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 19:55
ive mentioned here before that i tried to get the hiclone man to do some dyno test before and after he said i dont have a dyno i said i do never heard back from him lol
Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 17:50
Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 17:50
My point exactly if they dont want to prove what they claim go find some other sucker
Regards Kev