Save 20 cents per litre.........

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 17:52
ThreadID: 25743 Views:3027 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
Just received my Coles cattledog which included an offer of 20 cents dicount per litre off fuel purchases when you buy 6 or more bottles of wine. I live in Brisbane but I would imagine that this style of promotion runs out across the country in Metro areas. Check

It is valid from Monday 22 August until Sunday 28 August.

It certainly beats the normal 10% discount off wine which, in my case only saves about $3 against around $25 when filling the Patrol.

The way SWMBO enjoys the odd tipple, I will be saving money for quite a while.

Patrick

Reply By: ACDC - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 18:36

Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 18:36
Fuel from these discount outlets is usually poor quality from overseas be careful!
AnswerID: 126048

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 10:20

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 10:20
These are Shell oulets.

Shell sells poor quality fuel?
FollowupID: 380779

Follow Up By: ACDC - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:12

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:12
Shell/Bp no problems
FollowupID: 380793

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 17:58

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 17:58
The fuel I have been getting the last 3 fills from Shell is returning far less mileage.

I agree that the quality has gone downhill lately.

BP is probably OK but they are all in the game to give us the poorest product they can get away with to maximise theire profits.

Oil companies have never been "Compassionate Capitalist" companies - these are companies who always value and respect their customers and never knowingly sell dodgy goods.

Gerhard
FollowupID: 380820

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 20:19
You are probably saving 20 cents on the 16 cents thay have inflated the price by to pay for it.

You don't REALLY think the oil companies would trim their profit margins by that much, do you???

You have paid for your discount at Coles. If you bought a "home brand" products and a loaf of bread and some meat from them then they have well and truly covered ther a**es. The profit margins on these "value added" products is frightening.
FollowupID: 380855

Reply By: snailbate - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 19:17

Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 19:17
if you buy from a CALTEX OR AMPOL YOU HAVE NO PROBS the idea that cheap or cheaper fuel is contaminated i snot a problem
SNAILBAIT
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 126053

Reply By: Redeye - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 19:23

Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 19:23
Go for it Patrick.

It will be a Shell servo supplied from the BP refinery in Brisbane. I use these when I can.

Ensure the wine is good.

Garry I
AnswerID: 126056

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 21:33

Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 21:33
Buying discounted voucher fuel is only a short term thing. What happens when the little guys go out of business, Up the prices go. I spent a few weeks in USA last year.. cheap fuel till we got to California. Thats wat happened there. It gonna happen here to. its not if ,, just when!! Michael.
AnswerID: 126074

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:27

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:27
Everything in California is more expensive - it's probably got the highest cost-of-living of any of the US states. Anyone earning less than $100k p.a. in San Francisco is considered a low income earner. Blaming the high gas prices there on discount fuel schemes and saying the same will happen here is a bit misleading.

On fuel prices in general, when I was living there (2001-2003) - gas was about $1.97USD a gallon. About 69c AUD a litre. The most expensive I saw was $2.37 a gallon, or 83 cents/litre in AUD. I saw it in parts of the country as low as $1.60/gal, or 56c AUD a litre. I just did a websearch, and it's about $2.79 USD a gallon in San Francisco right now - about 98 AUD cents a litre. Texans are still enjoying $2.37 USD/gal, or 83 cents/litre.They import most of theirs too. No reason it couldn't be that cheap in Australia.

$1.229 down the road from me today in Melbourne for regular ULP. 48% more expensive than in Texas. The US imports about 60% of it's oil.

Did you know we are currently importing over FIVE BILLION DOLLARS worth of fuel a year now? It's something like 28% of our total trade deficit.

Don't bitch at Coles about our high petrol prices - it's the taxes which makes our fuel so expensive here.

Another thing - paying by credit card at the servo? Probably more than half of all transactions - next time you fill up and there's a queue, see how many people pay by plastic. With credit card fees charged by the banks at around 1.5-2%, about 2c to 2.5c per litre of the fuel cost is just to cover the credit card fees.

Dammit! Should have bought the 3.2L Di-D instead.
FollowupID: 380757

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:28

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:28
Just read what I posted - should have waited until morning, it sounded a bit rant-like :-)
FollowupID: 380758

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:16

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:16
I actually read that in a business journal and then experienced it myself. I can only believe that it is true. Its a bit like privately owned coffee shops competing against Big business, although mostly franchised, the likes of Gloria Jeans. They set up next door with low prices until the private guy goes out of business and once he has gone, yep, slowly increase the prices. Its not new..
FollowupID: 380795

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 23:41

Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 23:41
Haven't heard about this in Vic yet. How much fuel can you buy with the discount? We are paying $128.90 for diesel in Traralgon Gippsland. Ouch!
AnswerID: 126090

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:48

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 00:48
Royce

Thats $9023 per 70 L tank. It doesn't do much for the diesel vs petrol debate!

Think you made a decimal point error.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 380760

Follow Up By: Patrick - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 08:01

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 08:01
From memory you are allowed 150 litres per discount coupon. I know trhat I have filled the Patrol with 115 litres at one time without a problem.

Happy discounting.

Patrick
FollowupID: 380767

Reply By: Member - Barry W (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 04:15

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 04:15
WHEN ARE THE MASSES going to learn ??????????????????????????
Look at the "OLD DONKEY" offer a carrot he will perform tricks !!!!
How much will we be paying in the future ????
Cut out compition now " The little bloke "
What happened to all the corner stores - SAFEWAY/COLES thats what !!!
Ask the Farmers/ Dairy people if we are getting cheap prices ???
Introduce "Plastic Money" - the masses said who needs this ???
THE BANKS SAID TRUST US THIS IS THE FUTURE
After time "who can live without PLASTIC MONEY !!!!
Guess what now we have charges, where did they come from ?????
It was "ONCE FREE" !!!
"WHEN ARE THE MASSES GOING TO LEARN THAT THE MULTI NATIONALS ARE PRAYING ON THAT ONE HUMAN WEAKNESS ????
" GREED "
A couple of cents now is false econnomy
" Because " Are we ever going to pay for it in the " FUTURE "
You may call me a " Pessimist " but I have been around for 50 + yrs now
AND THE ONE THING I HAVE LEARNT IS THAT YOU DO NOT GET
ANYTHING IS THIS WORLD FOR - " FREE"
Stay Safe
Enjoy Cruiz"n this " AUSSIE LAND "
Barry

AnswerID: 126103

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:18

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:18
I'm with you barry..
FollowupID: 380796

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 20:19
Good words Barry, I heard it said the other day that coles, woolworths and safeway own 14% of the fuel outlets and sell 56% of the fuel in this country, not sure this is a good way for us to be going, remember the corner store, now gone and swallowed up by the multinationals, and the corner servo is going the same way very fast, they will have us by the short and curlies on fuel soon, worse than we are now, just like they have us with food, funny how they pick on the things we cant do without???

FollowupID: 380854

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 20:46

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 20:46
Spot on Pesty, Everyone should forget the small saving on fuel and look at savings on their food like shopping elsewhere to keep WW and Coles in check.
FollowupID: 380859

Reply By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 09:13

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 09:13
How much we pay for petrol is determined totally by the government - 50% is taxes.

The government could easily reduce taxes and bring fuel down to $0.90 a litre again.
AnswerID: 126121

Follow Up By: Andy - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 10:03

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 10:03
Why should they, it's a guarenteed coffer filler.
Andy M
FollowupID: 380778

Follow Up By: Peter - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 11:44

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 11:44
Of course they could, BUT where are they going to make up the shortfall? increase income tax, increase GST, increase beer, wine, spirits, milk, bread. YOU WILL PAY, NO MATTER WHAT.
FollowupID: 380785

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:57

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:57
Instead of continuously slugging the indidvidual voter they could try to make companies and wealthy people pay - that would greatly increase their income - Steve Vizard and Alan Bond paid NO tax for may years.
FollowupID: 380799

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 14:20

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 14:20
"they could try to make companies and wealthy people pay"

Yeah, let's penalise the people that got off their fat arses and made something of their lives even more shall we!
You'd be surprised at how much these "wealthy people" already pay the government in fees and charges other than taxes.(Let alone the $millions they donate to charity for which most want no recognition)
Unfortunately there is no way of segregating the 'Visards' and 'Bonds' from other hardworking people that fall into that catagory, it's a big umbrella that covers a lot of people.
If they're good enough to make it, they should be allowed to keep it without criticism from those who haven't.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 380805

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 13:07

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 13:07
Guys - the tax on fuel is 38cents per litre or about 30% not 50%. Yeah the government could reduce this but then what....they would have to go somewhere else to get the money to run the country...increase income tax, introduce death duties, increase gst, tax per kilometre driven etc etc. Get used to it and to big companies having dominance in the market it's fact of life and simply not worth stressing about.
FollowupID: 380922

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 10:43

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 10:43
If the government reduce taxation of fuel they will just get it from elsewhere, they may as well tax the fuel as far as I am concerned.
We do need to look at the Coles/Woolies duopoly (sp), that is a bigger problem in my opinion than taxation. Competition is rapidly diminishing in supermarkets, fuel outlets and liqour outlets.
AnswerID: 126128

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:24

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:24
Agreed, save a few bucks on fuel but not many people look at the supermarket prices, just fill the trolley and say.."oh well, thats the cost of living", not really smart.. woolies and coles are taking a loss or maybe just breaking even on fuel and making a killing out of groceries.. sucking most people in...big time. Michael
FollowupID: 380798

Reply By: arthurking83 - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:44

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:44
People keep bleating on about reducing TAX on fuel.
Why?......................To make it cheaper! So every moron and his dog can go out and buy a ridiculously wasteful vehicle that just diminishes the limited oil reserves.
If you want to save MONEY!!! at the bowser, then buy a smaller/more efficient/LESS WASTEFUL vehicle!
The government HAS to keep taxes high to keep people from wasting more, and delay the inevitable situation of us being stranded without any energy reserves! At all!
Because my opinion is that 99.9% of the population is less thoughtfull about what we (our kids)are going to have, and ore wooried about what we have now!

Think about it for a moment...............
Petrol prices are high, because...............oil prices are through the roof!
Why??............................because there is more demand than supply...........
Eventually there will be such a greater disparity between supply and demand, that there will most likely be shortages. High prices reduce demand.
You are going to be lucky to be able to fill up at all.
So, yeah! Get the government to drop fuel taxes to zero, so we can have 30c/l fuel prices, so ever moron can afford to run a V8, so fuel consumption gets to ridiculous levels, so that we get to the situatiuon where there is no fuel at the bowsers!
Sounds like a great idea!
At least if there is no fuel at the bowser, you can't complain that it costs too much!
AnswerID: 126136

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 14:31

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 14:31
That's the biggest load of crap I've read for quite some time!

" so ever moron can afford to run a V8,"

I had fast V8's for many years, and am planning to put one in the nissan, does that make me a "moron", you twonk, (thanks Trucky)
and I suppose that makes landrover and toyota engineers all "morons" too, or is it just the thousnds of people that buy their vehicles?

Pezza
FollowupID: 380807

Follow Up By: andrewr - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 16:35

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 16:35
Problem with arthurking83's analysis is that the market for oil is international. Imposing high taxes in Australia, does nothing to curb demand in the rest of the world (such as Bangladesh for example where highly-subsidised diesel sells at the pump for about 10c a litre.)

A theory I was taught as part of an economics degree about 13 years ago was that in a free market oil should never run out completely because as reserves dry up suppliers will keep putting up the price having regard not just to present production capacity and demand but also the total reserves left. Why sell a barrel today for $60 when you know that in year's time it will be worth $100? This theory explains why prices are rising so fast now - suppliers are effectively thinking ahead and factoring future scarcity/price rises into today's pricing decisions.

As prices go up people will look more closely at alternative energy sources and the fourbys will spend more time in the garage. There is no need for the government to accelerate this process.

I like the look of this company, which is in the final stages of developing a compressed air car. Range 200 - 300km on a tank of air and runs at about 1/10th of the cost of petrol. In a few year's time this forum might be full of discussion on what sort of compressed air engine is best to retrofit to what 4wd: link text
FollowupID: 380812

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 18:01

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 18:01
Hey Andrew, that link... thats not a car. it's a blow fly with its wings removed.....
FollowupID: 380822

Follow Up By: andrewr - Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 18:07

Sunday, Aug 21, 2005 at 18:07
Fair comment - but my plan was to stick my wife in one so that I can afford to keep running a 4wd.

I was more interested in the engine than the cars - I think they say they have a version that buses run on.
FollowupID: 380825

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 00:25

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 00:25
Hey I'm one of those morons that OWN a V8 too (albeit really slow)!
The difference between my moron(ity) :) and 99% of other morons is that I'm at least (aware?? but mostly asleep) most of the time, to know that I don't need to drive a V8 4WD to go pick up the kids from school!!!!!!!!!!!!
I don't need a V8 4WD to get to work 7.5Klms up the road along a newly made bypass(I resisted the exclamation temptation)

My really slow '79 RR sits there gathering dust for 2 years at a time, while we commute in a 4 cyl turbo, that eats most V8's, and uses 1/3 of the fuel!

Some time ago I was trying to figure out "what car to get the missus"
I had 3 option, '86 Rangie, '89 Rangie, '92 Rangie!
I decided on the 4cyl turbo hatch....... and never looked back. :) :)
( I'm on our third version, they just get better with less age)

The other question!
Do we really need "fast V8's" ?
Are you really going to get there faster in a V8?
Maybe once! Just before you lose the license :)

I thought the current pricing was due to China, and the ongoing instability in Iraq as well??

But Andrew is right! Bangladesh is not helping oil reserves, but that just gives some smart Aussie, the incentive to find the alternative fuel, not some dumb Bangladeshi!

I remeber a friend of my sister, she just got a new 80series GXL. 4.5L I think etc, etc.
I ask her why they want the cruiser..........because she feels safer!
She really "didn't like the 25l/100kms" (her words).
I offered my opinion that a mid '80s Merc wagon was much safer, and more economical!
Dunno what she drives now?? The kids are bigger so I guess a V8 cruiser?? *sigh*. She moved to QLD, where fuel is cheaper :)
FollowupID: 380884

Reply By: techie - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 01:01

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 01:01
Boy oh boy - didn't this thread get off track.
Here is the inside goss:
Petrol purchases are approx 70% credit and 30% cash. (in usage, not amounts).
Drive offs have doubled in the last month. (Coles)

10c/l discount - marketing ploy.
Humans are creatures of habit - and we DON'T like to change, unless we think it's our idea, we buy the same items at the same places.

the cattledog says 20 c/l off - so we go to liquorland and buy wine -and we find that here is another place that has the scotch/ beer/ wine we like.
so now we find we have another place to obtain alcohol (and its close to the supermarket).
for Coles: short term - minimal gain -long term, new customers who would not normally buy alcohol at liquorland. Greater market share and it's our idea.

as an aside: Sydney now has a free afternoon paper.
why?

Young people are not interested in buying newspapers,they read from dad's paper. (and its boring with lots of ads and in b/w).
So along comes a free paper, so everyone reads it (gets hooked).
Then they sell for 20c or 50c, but we are so interested in the paper (it has fashion, in colour) we don't mind paying a bit of money for it.
End result- increase in market share.

Donk.
ps I notice that if I shop at Payless or frankling the amount of savings on $30 of food more than offsets the $2 I save on 50l of petrol.

AnswerID: 126240

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 20:40

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 20:40
"...ps I notice that if I shop at Payless or frankling the amount of savings on $30 of food more than offsets the $2 I save on 50l of petrol."

Even better, go to the markets, support the little fella!
You will save even more.
Just as an average comparison!
Safe/Woolies have tomatoes, on average @ $4/kg.
My Dad goes to the markets (lingers for hours (He's retired!))
. He buys a 10kg box of tomatoes @ $4. I would throw out 2 or 3 (they look bad), My mum would turn them into sauce/soup/stock.
Now we have to go to the big chains every now and then for some items??
If I had more time (and I could walk!), I reckon I could save at least 50% of the average supermarket bill($100/week) at the local markets/growers markets!
FollowupID: 380977