A mob of accidents waiing to happen

Submitted: Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 09:52
ThreadID: 25783 Views:3565 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
Have a look at this link.

http://www.tuff4wd.com/~spudda/gallery/index.php?imgdir=21-08-05%20Telephone%20Lane&page=5

Reply By: GUPatrol - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 10:08

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 10:08
Horrible!!

Look at these ones:
http://www.tuff4wd.com/~spudda/gallery/index.php?imgdir=19-06-05%20Kwinana%20Hack

And then we all ask ourselves why do 4wdrivers have a bad name and why do they close tracks....
AnswerID: 126260

Follow Up By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:24

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:24
Ok Maybe you need to get some facts straight...

1) that area you see in the Kwinana Area is actually a Licensed 4wd area. Made and set aside for Offroad Vehicles..

2) The Steps are part of the above 4wd area

3) they close tracks because people make up threads like this and have no idea or clue as to what they are talking about......

FollowupID: 381039

Reply By: gramps - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 10:13

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 10:13
Their recovery techniques may lead to an improvement in the gene pool. Pretty high price to pay though.
AnswerID: 126261

Reply By: fatz - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 12:32

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 12:32
Shows how bright they are, they scrub out the rego number on all the shots from the back, but the one from the front shows it plain as day..............
AnswerID: 126285

Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 13:47

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 13:47
Looks like the guy in the 80 series was taking the pics or he did not want to be in them. I will keep an eye out for them on the road. My son plays just like that, ....in his sand pit at 2 years old. We can only hope they grow up
Skinny
AnswerID: 126295

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 18:42

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 18:42
80 Series ??? must have missed that one, first link only shows a Nissan GU I think? and a Mitsubishi Van swimming for its life.

FollowupID: 380959

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 18:21

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 18:21
All i saw was some guys having fun in the mud with there 4 by's , Looks like a open padoc to me .

But i guess you would be happier if they were on drugs and robbing your house for crack money .

Apart from there own cars , I dont see them doing you or me any harm
AnswerID: 126324

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 20:30

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 20:30
I suppose if you call ripping up the road "no harm" then you're right.
No harm ;)

http://www.tuff4wd.com/~spudda/gallery/index.php?imgdir=21-08-05%20Telephone%20Lane&page=1

And of course they weren't driving up, what was obviously a set of steps!

Nope! No harm done! (as far as we can see!)
FollowupID: 380976

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 20:44

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 20:44
So you were there ?

you know were it is ?

very quick to judge people we dont know , or were they were ?

easy to look at the slinter in someone elses eye and not the log in ours

you all must have been angels in your younger days
FollowupID: 380978

Follow Up By: govo - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 21:11

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 21:11
Yes Rockcrawler..these young fellas should be at night clubs doing something constructive..like getting drunk and spiking drinks, not having a bit fun in thier 4wd's...ummmm ...just wondering how 4wd experts got to be experts ( could it be that they were once young and daring willing to have a go at the biggest mudhole or the steepest dune and then learning from thier mistakes..thus passing on imortant infomation to others )

Come on guys..there is enough do-gooders out there already and try to remember when you were young and dum and full of testosone.Every one of you has done something stupid at some time in your life..including me...I say live and learn and have a laugh when somebody else does excatly the same stupid things that you did when you were that age.

( foot note )..i take it that none of you have seen a mud derby or a winch challenge.
FollowupID: 380980

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 18:32

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 18:32
Intelligence Plus!!!!!!! Did you notice the point and method of attachment for the snatch strap?

AnswerID: 126328

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 22:46

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 22:46
Yes. As per the gene pool comment. :-)
FollowupID: 381001

Reply By: desray - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 00:11

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 00:11
stickers on the cars from www.perth4x4.net ????
AnswerID: 126387

Reply By: Johnny B Good - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 00:56

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 00:56
can I say from what i have seen it looks like they are in a wet land or swamp area very smart place to be when you have you rego on display as it is serious affence damage any wet area or land I also add being in any 4X4 CLUB that is the biggest no no even explor Oz would agree
AnswerID: 126389

Follow Up By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:30

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:30
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Really, You guys must have very reclusive lives over East...

That Area is actually a road, yes a road in a road map... There was no bashing in Paddocks. There was no destroying the enviroment..
The Recovery was a last ditch effort to help out that patrol.
There was no recovery point on the rear and the strap was wrapped around the rear chassis cross member. It was checked by 3 other people before a recovery was attempted..

Nothing was against the law in any of the photo's but thanks to your winging and crying the web server has decided to shut it down...

Shame Shame Shame...........
This is just like on ACA. You only every want to hear one side of the story... So come on then.. message me and give me crap.. or maybe do something contructive and ask questions or offer advice.. what could be done next time etc etc etc

FollowupID: 381042

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:31

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:31
"There was no recovery point on the rear"

Exactly my point Spudda. Not a great expense to remedy in the interests of safety. If my memory serves me correctly, one of the pictures showed substantial 'fatigue' of the attachment point used.
FollowupID: 381050

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 17:38

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 17:38
Well done for coming forwards spudda , takes a man to come forward and admit to what they did .

when your stuck , sometimes the brain goes out the window and you attempt silly things . Next time some says lets rap the strap around the bar , you will say , dont do that , i have seen what it can do . This is called experience .

Some people in here think that you have to be born with it , but I bet that there scalitons in there closet will saY OTHER WISE IN SOME POINT IN TIME . Keep having fun mate , and you will learn something new every time you go out .
FollowupID: 381091

Reply By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:44

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:44
Ok when the trip was planned, and i wasn't the leader at all..

It was clearly expressed that both front and rear rated points were required..
Yes maybe each vehicle needed to be inspected but you kinda think you can rely on each owner to comply.
The recovery Vehicle refused many times to recover the stuck Patrol, the owner wanted to use the tow hitch..
So we tried to use the axle but couldn't get to it because of way to much mud..
Next we searched the vehilce for a decent spot.. we spent more than 20 mins trying from the front recovery point, we tried air jacks.

Basically there was nothing left to do.. Yes i posted the pictures on the internet but until now you never seen any of the other ones. They were intended to show what happend and why, and to be viewed by those on the trip.. Not for someone from Perth4x4 to go and tell the world so that he can feel important. I know who you are but unlike you i'm not going to name you and make something of it..

I learnt a lesson just like the owner of the patrol.........

Even in the 4wding community there are way to many people too quick to judge too quick to point out something to everyone else, just cause they don't like getting there School Bus Dirty........

My 2 cents
AnswerID: 126426

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:55

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:55
Thanks for the explanation Spudda. It's easy for us with our excellent 20/20 hindsight. I guess you know who not to trust in the future. The main thing, as far as I'm concerned, is no one was injured.
FollowupID: 381054

Follow Up By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:04

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:04
The Fact that no one was injured is a good result..

Yes we were careful the nearest person was at least 30 meters away.. the recovering Vehicle has dual wheel carriers for some kind of protection..
I guess a Pre Trip inspection will have to become mandatory on all trips now, but i do know someone who went today and bought a rear recovery hook.... :)
FollowupID: 381057

Follow Up By: Rod W - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:06

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:06
G'day Spudda,

Your points above are noted. Ya can name me (well I've named myself) I've got nothing to hide.

Maybe the person leading the trip should have reiterated (I know you expect people to do the right thing) and checked each vehicle before starting. I'm sure this will happen in the future.

I'm sure this, hopefully constructive comments is/are much more beneficial than trying to justify a death.
FollowupID: 381058

Reply By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:12

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:12
Well Rod if you remeber the amount of crap that started because people believed that the Trip Organiser was too strict in what he set as the minimum for the trip..

that blew out to 2 pages of crap and was very unfair..

The whole reason behind me not taking my vehicle was that i was not running mud terrains tyres.. I had everything else. I guess we just relyed on people being able to take care of there own requirements..

It definetly is a better outcome than trying to explain a death and that was why we took the precautions while the recovery was in progress..
There is no way i would have allowed a strap to be attached to anything other than the chassis its just s pitty that the strap had to wrap around the step too..

I'm not going to jusify the reason why the Person brought the patrol without recovery points but that is not my concern anymore, now my concern runs deeper into the fact that people just found it apon themselves to spread this around many forums and not really understand what happened
AnswerID: 126430

Follow Up By: vinh n - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 15:15

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 15:15
u state and i noticed in one of the pics that the patrol has a towbar. if its a class 3 reciever hitch, it's as good a recovery point as any other. in future u can remove the pin and tongue/tow ball assembly, stick the eye of the strap in its place and replace the pin to secure.
FollowupID: 381070

Follow Up By: timglobal - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 16:16

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 16:16
maybe not - that's a really good way to bend your pin and render the whole lot locked, requiring cutting the strap and/or drilling the pin.

Run the rated shackle into the pin-hole and attach strap to shackle. If feasible...
FollowupID: 381078

Reply By: andy & anne - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:25

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:25
Hats off to ya Spudda , I was a little surprised that it took so many replies to get it through to some of these people that have an interest in 4wding , as in " Offroading " that the unexpected does happen and that some situations need a different approach . As for the author of this post , Is your forum a little quiet ??? , felt the need to sling a little mud on our forum ??? . The 4wd community have enough slapping from the media etc , piss taking among friends while out in the blue yonder is acceptable , publicly on open forums is another thing , what hope do we have if this sort of crap continues

Andy . W

AnswerID: 126509

Follow Up By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:30

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:30
Cheers Andy,
FollowupID: 381111

Reply By: Spudda - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:28

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:28
Unfortunitly in this case the Tow ball and the reece was rusted into place..

We tried using an axe head to bash it loose but to no avail..

Was not the ideal recovery and yes we have all learnt something, in a worst case senario such a recovery is not advisable nor desirable but can at least save a 4wd
AnswerID: 126511