dissapionted with tjm store

Submitted: Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 22:48
ThreadID: 25802 Views:5973 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
when buying a subscription to a 4wd mag part of the offer was a $20 gift voucher at TJM shop.went to osborne park(w.a.)shop and found it to be a bloody mess and shelves messy and unstocked.no prices on anything and the guy was on the phone for 10 minutes organising his sunday bbq.left the shop with out spending voucher.was going to add some money and get a tree trunk protector but thought bugger it and left.not really a megastore.

Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 22:53

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 22:53
I have hassles just getting to one - for folks that work during the week, stores that are only open 9am-12pm on a Saturday are almost inaccessable. Twice I've tried to get to one on the weekend in Melbourne and arrived to find them just closed.
AnswerID: 126373

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:29

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:29
I suppose Alan has a family too (thats if your talkin about Outback Accessories in Seaford) that he likes to spend more than a day with..
FollowupID: 381003

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:29

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:29
Nope, that's the store we made it to while open :-)
FollowupID: 381004

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 00:02

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 00:02
It'd be great if all the caravan parks, petrol stations, pubs, buses, trains, tourist attractions, mine workers, farmers, airline pilots, fishermen, rangers, police, nurses, doctors, waitresses, chefs, etc etc could do that also. Generally its only people who live in the city who get that luxury when you think about it?! The point being that for a business that has more than one employee there are ways around that problem.
FollowupID: 381010

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:28

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:28
Scubaroo, you will always get fantastic service from Alan. Hes a great bloke, always willing to help out. He also owns a GQ :D
FollowupID: 381178

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:28

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:28
J.T.
I went to the above mentioned store a few years ago for the first time, I parked outside near the verge, there wasn't anybody around, the store wasn't busy I was just dropping in for a look. The guy in the store popped his head out and told me to move my vehicle a poofteenth because it wasn't allowed to be where it was, personally I couldn see any reason as to why I couldn't park where I was, I suppose I just found the manner rude, he didn't give a reason why either. Anyway I moved my vehicle to Osbourne Park to another 4X4 retailer and haven't been back since thousands of dollars later. His loss. Never got into the store so I can't comment on the inside. Mate had a similar experience, he hasn't been back either.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 126379

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:57

Monday, Aug 22, 2005 at 23:57
" His loss. Never got into the store so I can't comment......"

Maybe the stress of being so busy is taking it's toll!

Like you said it's his loss, and at the rate he's going, it looks like he's going to be a total loss!
FollowupID: 381009

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:12

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:12
It all comes down to liability insurance and council rangers -- they make it hard for the shop owners - and there the ones that are made to look like the bad guys , especially in your eyes.

I have a friend that owns a furniture shop up in the mountains - council wants to charge her $100 a square meter outside her shop ( footpath ) so she can put a few pine chairs valued at about $50 each ---- this is the type of things shop keeprs have to deal with , and you do not see or understand

Frank
FollowupID: 381046

Follow Up By: tjmcentral - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:49

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:49
Martyn
as owner of TJM Central I apologise for your unpleasant experience at my store.Unfortunately you would have not been aware of the problems regarding parking on our neighbours verge.We had several issues with him for many months after opening which resulted in threats by him of towing away vehicles parked on his property.If anyone has any queries with any matters please contact me personally on 9443 4848
Greg Thomas
FollowupID: 381053

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:37

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:37
gday greg.
i just noticed you answered martyns response but havnt comented on the initial post.
FollowupID: 381060

Follow Up By: tjmcentral - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 13:16

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 13:16
Sorry I've been busy with customers & phonecalls this morning to fully respond ,hence the offer to address any matters personally, however I have checked with the saleperson concerned & he was actually arranging items for the Megastore Fathers day $30 000 giveaway BBQ & claims he offered to help the person concerned when he entered the store , only to be told he was just looking.
FollowupID: 381063

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:23

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:23
Greg,
Appreciate the response, all the person had to do was take 30 seconds to explain why, I'm a reasonable person and if I knew there was a reason no problem, I would of understood. Could I ask how long you've been at TJM Central? I went to the other store I mentioned, offered a cup of tea, bit of social chit chat, what appeared to me to be a decent discount and I've shopped there for the last 8 years always with the same sort of courtesy, good warranty response for one item I had a slight issue with, to easy.
I'll drop in Greg, a truck load of water has passed under the bridge, I get good service when I purchase things from the TJM store over East on the internet, Outback Accessories, great service no problem at all. Maybe things have changed.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 381128

Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:16

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:16
I too found this 'megastore' pretty barren & asking questions about prices etc was like extracting teeth. In contrast there is a small TJM store in South Street (O'Connor) that is pretty well stocked and I found the staff there to be very friendly. I think most 4x4 accessories places in Perth could do with a bit more 'customer service' focus; they are fine if you know exactly what you want & just hand over your cash but advice seems to be something they are reluctant to part with (& before anyone says they don't make a profit from advice, I disagree. Often good advice leads to a sale if not on the item you wanted, then something else in store).
AnswerID: 126413

Follow Up By: Ando80 - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:40

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 10:40
Haven't been to the megastore, but have dealt with the guys at the South St store, I agree with Mike, they were great, and being from the country, they were easy to deal with over the phone and always friendly.

Just goes to show what difference a bit of politeness makes!
FollowupID: 381043

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:15

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:15
Mike I agree with the above...TJM in South St is a great little shop, very friendly and tries very hard to please. I got quotes from the head office in Geebung (used to live and shop there) and Michael in South St beat the price without even asking!!!

They didnt have my IBS battery system on the shelf and overnight freighted it for pick up the next day at no extra cost to me!

Credit where credit is due, they more than fulfilled any obligation of service and the parts speak for themselves.

I wil be going back again!!!

FollowupID: 381048

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:05

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:05
I subscribed to the same mag and got a voucher. But .. it had expired by the time I received it. So I didn't get to go and buy anything. Nice trick.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 126418

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:14

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:14
Is it just me , or are most 4x4 mags now about 10 pages of articles and 100 PAGES OF PAID ADDS ???

Frank

FollowupID: 381047

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:24

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:24
Hi Frank:

Gotta agree .. but I won't be renewing my subscription because I got sick of reading about a group of yobbos who seem incapable of driving out of their driveways or picking up a screwdriver without stopping to open a can of beer.

I don't mind a beer at the end of the day, but these guys either have a problem, or are obsessed, or think it makes them look like real adventurers. All a bit of a yawn as far as I am concerned.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 381049

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:10

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 11:10
Different company and other side ofthe country ,went into the new beaut ARB store on nudgee rd in Brisbane , not 1 item has prices marked , asked salesman how much for a snorkel for an 80series , answer was "dont know ,somwhere round $5/$6 hundred" ,,asked if that was fitted or unfitted ,answer was ?? " dont know" , asked if he could find out ,answer was after looking at his watch , "Im off on my lunch break ,can find out later if you like " ,,,
AnswerID: 126419

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 15:50

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 15:50
I reckon you should be congratulated for persevering as much as you did!!! I wouldn't have bothered asking a 2nd question if he'd treated me with such an answer to the 1st question....I'd have been straight out the door; never to be seen again.
FollowupID: 381075

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 16:02

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 16:02
I have patronised tjm coburg (melb) a number of times and found them very courteous and very enthusiastic. I redeemed my voucher no problems. The only thing I can fault, is that they need attention to detail. I had my cruiser lifted and on receipt of vehicle, they did not align the wheels and i was assured that my headlights did not need adjusting. Needless to say I was blinding cars with the lights, and the car steered like a dog. Fortunately I had arranged for new tyres at tyrepower essendon the next day, who aligned the suspension for free and my toyota did the lights for free too. I have no doubt tjm would have done this for me if i had asked, the only reason i didn't was cause i happened to have these guys already booked. I am very happy with all the tjm products so far (bullbar, siderail &steps, xgs supension) and would recomend to all.
AnswerID: 126452

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 01:04

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 01:04
On the subject of 4X4 stores, is it me, or are we getting ripped off????

As for the yobbo culture of the magazine, yeah, I just got the VIC high country DVD. What a bunch of childish w*nkers.
We had freinds over, whom we go 4WDriving with regularly and I put the dvd on for the first time. They left before it finished.

I can't say I'm looking forward to watching it again!
AnswerID: 126559

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:30

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:30
which DVD is it? made by? any more info? Would be interested, Im about to buy $300 of DVD's for our club library, that would have been on my list!
FollowupID: 381179

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:50

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:50
Truckster, tis got to be ROOTHY from 4wd monthly, did trip all round the dargo h/plains afew mths back[summer],, can remember when roothy was m/cycle tester for tv bris31 and even further back as tester for 2wheels , cant ride after a few ales so switched to 4x4.
FollowupID: 381184

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:53

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:53
Roothy - say no more.. Now I see where the VVanker bit comes from, every scene would have had slabs of XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX in it?

I cant believe in 2005 people still think they need a beer for everything they do from waking up, weeing, etc.
FollowupID: 381187

Reply By: cyclosporin - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 16:39

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 16:39
truckster,
everyone has good and bad stories about shops and retailers as do i and some friends of mine. my 100 series needed a lift so seaford tjm got the job.........
i went with full tanks and general gear....said i tow a van and still got the wrong rear springs....went to other 4wd shops and spring works to understand and all agreed the wrong sprins were in......the were not prepared to rectify this....but the great guys at the dandy store did for nothing to show customer service for tjm...
brilliant i am still spending money there and no one i know go to seaford........also trying to order lightforce light coverswith a gift voucher at duncans in north road took a month and three visit to then tell me it still has not been ordered.....when again explaining my prob to tjm in dandy where i bought the lightforce xgt they lent me one of there trucks so i could go to the high country and pick up my new cover next week for $25 not $32 plus $8 dollars freight..................brawn 4x4 are also great to deal with........one chane charlie cya cyclosporin
AnswerID: 126983

Reply By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:49

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:49
JT

I initially went to that other 4WD shop in Osb Park and gave them a $6,000 shopping list with a "please fax the quote".

5 days later, I rang asking why they hadn't faxed. A short time later, a faxed quote detailed equipment that I had not enquired about (eg. Warne vs blah blah winch etc). When asked to re-write the quote and re-fax I got no response even after a phone call to them some 7 days later.

So, down to TJM!

I have established a relationship with them that is great! They will even drop the truck home after the work is completed if I'm away. (Hi Greg!)

However, I did recommend a mate to visit them and he wasn't attended to (or acknowledged) within that "golden moment" and ended up walking out.

I just wish that white Astra would park somewhere else so the customers can park in the closest bay to the door!

Andy C
AnswerID: 128899