Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 12:32
Cruza Ute
Hi Everyone-
Was wondering if any of you guys/girls can help me with some Landcruiser Ute info.
It's time to update my 75 Series Cruza and I'm weighing up my options.
A new 79 Series seems the obvious replacement. I like all the updates from the 75 particularly the Turbo Diesel. This would also suit my plans for a heavy Tray-top Camper (I like what you've done with yours Phil G).
My only concern is the release of the 79 Series replacement. I've heard rumours it's due in 2006? Can anyone confirm this? As usual with new models, my friendly Toyota dealer is staying tight lipped. I am prepared to wait a year or so if it means a better truck that retains the robustness and offroad ability of the 78/79 Series. I dont want to wait if it's going to be anything like the new Hilux. Don't like the idea of spending a fortune on aftermarket
suspension and tyres to end up with a vehicle that's stil not as capable as my near standard 75 Series Cruza. The new model won't be an option if it's got IFS!
Any Info, Links or Pictures of the 79 Series Replacement would be much appreciated.
Cheers - Cruza Ute.
Reply By: age - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 16:11
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 16:11
Cruza Ute
I am in the same situation regarding the new cruiser wagon. All my research indicates that the new wagon and ute for Australia will be based on the next US Tundra platform. Some threads on the following
forum if you search for them
http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=16221 - these also lead to some other US base forums. Also have seen a spy shot of a Toyota ute that looked very much like the wagons in these shots. They indicate a late 2006 US release so would say sometime 2007 for Australia. Some pretty awesome diesels listed as
well. My guess is the front
suspension will be softened in them if they share the wagon platform. I also read on this
forum about 6 months ago from a guy claiming he saw the new engines at some kind of product display/reaction showing south of
Brisbane. Very hard to find any further info on these Toyota models.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 18:01
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 18:01
My grapevine which is dodgy to say the least, says "late 2006", which I interpret as being early 2007.
I shudder to think what "improvements" will be made :-((
The post 2002 TD 79series traytops are more frequently coming onto the 2nd hand market now. Costs about $36- 45k. If you go new, get the factory diff locks.
And the ytop group/a> is looking pretty healthy in its first week. Plenty of ideas surfacing there for the traytop people.
Fitting out a blank aluminium canopy has been good fun. Will keep me occupied for a couple more years yet :-))
phil
Follow Up By: Cruza Ute - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 00:35
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 00:35
Thanks for your reply Phil G
Interested in what you say about the factory diff locks. How do they compare to ARB. Do you recomend front rear or both. Think I'd like to have the LSD on road especially in the wet. What do you think?
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:14
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:14
Factory diff locks are electrically operated, but function essentially the same as the ARB.
If you buy new, and get the factory lockers then you don't have any warranty issues should you do some drivetrain damage. If you fit ARB, and then bust a diff or whatever, then you're largely on your own.
The factory lockers are about $2400 extra which is a bit cheaper than the ARB too. I haven't had lockers (bought
mine secondhand), so can't comment on the front vs rear - I'll leave that to others.
My vehicle has done 80,000k and despite the popular press, I believe my LSD still works pretty
well. Its had synthetic oils in the diff all its life though - don't know whether that makes a difference.
phil
Follow Up By: Wok - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:27
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:27
Phil,
What is 'ytop/a>' ? Is this a
forum dedicated to traybacks?
rgds....eng
Follow Up By: Wok - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 06:22
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 06:22
Thanks Phil
Reply By: wresat - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:57
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 12:57
Also pondering the same question. Looking at a troopie, dealers aren’t saying much about the future replacement. Going to be a slightly new 100 series coming out soon, so that might mean a change to the 78/78 series as a follow up.
Like wise about new hilux, if there is a new replacement for the 78/79 series, hope it doesn’t become one of those. Link to web site re mention of troopie in 2006.
http://carpoint.ninemsn.com.au/Tig/Minisite/Minisite.aspx?alias=carpointau&id=6584
Follow Up By: Cruza Ute - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 14:08
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 14:08
Thanks for the link wresat...
I was actually starting to warm to the new Hilux with that awesome new TDI donk and bigger size etc. untill I followed my mate down some fire
trails on the weekend. He just picked up his new SR Extra Cab TD last week. Passed me in the 75 like I was goin backwards on the Highway. Different story when we got in the bush though. I've seen 2WD utes get traction to the ground better than that thing! One
hill in particular took him 3 attempts till he hit it full noise with
wheels liftin off the deck all the way up to get to the top. The 75 and old mate's 15 year old Patrol crawled up with ease in 1st low range with both live axles firmly on the ground!
Horses For Courses I spose. New Hilux is a great truck if you stick mainly to the bitumen with the occasional venture on the sand or dirt roads. But I'd warn anyone not to expect too much offroad without at least forking out for new tyres, stiffer/higher springs and probably a diff locker or two.
Hope Toyota don't drop the live axle front end in the 79 Series replacement. Don't like the idea of spending a fortune on modifying a new IFS truck to end up with something that's not as capable as the old Stock 75 and prob void of insurance to boot.
Long Live the Live Axle Front!!!
Follow Up By: age - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:39
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:39
wresat
Noticed the 100 series update was released a couple of weeks ago. Appears very mild with the only noticeable thing on the outside being a new grill. Have not had the chance to see one up close. The 100 series sold poorly in he US (as a Lexus) and as such they are trying to get these new wagons and utes into the market to combat the awesome Nissan Titan, F series and Mitsubishi SUV. Not sure how Australia will fair out of all of this. As mentioned long live the live front end. My work IFS Hilux is a dog on and off road.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 13:03
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 13:03
People need to face facts, that the days of GENUINE TUFF 4wds is over.. they are becoming more and more soft by the week...
Less and less people that buy 4wds are actually using them as 4wds, so manufacturers are using smart marketing, doing things to make joe average wanna buy them. Rough riding utes or wagons are not what joe or dolly average wanna use to take the kids to tennis lessons...
I reckon you wait and see, worse case, save thousands buying a current model on runout. Then again you could just buy it now, and enjoy it now.
IFS - they will all have it within 4 yrs I reckon
Follow Up By: Cruza Ute - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 14:17
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 14:17
Good Advice Truckster.
If I can time it right I might get to choose between the two.
That's unless the new truck is a total piece of sh#t and every farmer from
Cairns to Condo comes out of the woodwork to snatch up the LAST OF THE REAL LANDCRUISERs.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 14:20
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 14:20
yea true... thats why I though you may as
well buy it now and enjoy it....
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:21
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:21
I tend to agree with your argument Truckster. It's a real pity.
HOWEVER......
There will always be the need by SOMEBODY out there in the country for trucks that conform to the tougher specification. I HOPE that after this turn-away by manufacturers towards softer machinery that eventually the need for the tough stuff will still ensure its return down the track. It may take a while, but one thing is always sure in the marketing world - if there's a gap - FILL IT.
This outlook is kind of cool.... because it also gives me hope that the number of people that go truly "out there" will diminish, and that visiting the real bush will become an adventure again.....
Well.... we can dream.....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:25
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:25
yea the outlook isnt really glowing, but as you say, it may happen.
then again, why havent car manufacturers gone back to designing cars with shape and style, like the mad lookin XY, or XP, or the FJ, or the EH.. with simple engines that you or I can work on at home.. although they can leave out the 55 series cruiser happily.
Thats my dream.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:27
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:27
LOL!! hehe.... the 55 is the only LandCruiser I actually like the look of...... but there you go.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 01:13
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 01:13
They would be mad to stuff them up too much they have been the vehicle of choice for mining, exploration, roo shooters and anyone else that uses their vehicle like that coz it isnt theirs. No namby pamby turbos, intercoolers or dashes that cant be used as a desk or coil springs that drag the towbar with 2 ton in the back, nice narrow bodys for fitting between trees and dent resistant panels you have to use them as a bulldozer to appreciate. Surly toyotas head honchos just need to drive into any mining companys
carpark at the start of shift to see all the tojo utes lined up to see they are onto a good thing