SOX
G'day all Had a dodgey experience with wild dogs in Newnes
State forest NSW a little while ago{this winter}.We rolled into a
bush camp spot we had been to once before on saturday morning,planning to leave monday.This spot is about 6kms NW of Bungleboorie
campsite,nice spot,quiet and secluded.Saturday and that night were good as was Sunday.After dinner on sunday night,about 7 pm, we revved up the fire ready to kick back and take in the solitude.Shortly after we heard a definite howl come from the scrub directly north of us about 100m in the scrub.These howls became more frequent and seemed to be edging closer.We had our own two muts with us and decided to throw them in the ute rather than risk a confrontation and give us achance to sus the situation.Not wanting a midnight or wee hours fiasco we decided to pack up most of our gear while still keeping tabs on the dogs in the srub,hoping they might move on.Wishful thinking!Directly behind us and a damn sight closer answering howls came back.We shot through rather than run the risk instead.Seems to be a sunday night special for these dogs when the
main camp grounds are empty they go on the scavenge.Anyone with
young kids or their own pets in this area might want to keep a close eye on them after dark.Wefound out the dogs were checking us out since early sunday morning.Anyway we were planning a lazy loop around WhiteCliffs to QLD bourder and were wondering if anyone has had a dog problem in these or broader areas.Rather go prepared !
Thanks Ian.
Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 19:10
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 19:10
It it’s illegal in a Nat park/
state forest’s but if I cam across a wild/ big Red Dog I would asses the situation carefully and if I had the appropriate equipment on hand and safe to do so I would err… dispose of it it, they are a pest.
Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:09
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:09
In times gone past and less goverment control, you were able to carry a rifle or shotgun.
I always used to carry one and never had the need to use it, but it was comforting.
These days there are more and more feral animals in the bush, interfering with natural wildlife and us campers. Shooting a wild dog, or a feral cat, or a rabbit is a service to the bush.
Unfortunately some fools (minority) go hunting roos and wombats for fun; sick bastards that have ruined it for many.
I
well recall about 25 years ago when I was a lad and my old man's mate was a
ranger he would take us shooting in his National
Park. Rabbits and feral cats were an acknowledged problem and exterminating them was encouraged.
I would suggest if you choose to carry a firearm (keep it hidden) and use it responsibly you are doing the bush a good turn.
Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:46
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:46
Yup...... Just be damn careful and don't advertise the fact you have pest control onboard.
Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 00:44
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 00:44
After reading the thread and responses, the most logical comment I can think of is call the
ranger, call the local police, heck, call the local radio station.
I'd hate to think that another Azaria Chaimberlan could happen.
Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:19
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:19
did anyone notify parks and wildlife?
Reply By: Boc1971 - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:29
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:29
I
camp in Newnes quiet often , and have never seen or heard these dogs, Come to think of it - i have been going there for about 15 years now. Will be going up again in a few weeks , so will certainly be looking out for them now !
Frank
Follow Up By: SOX - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:25
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:25
G'day Frank,
Ive also done quite a few trips to Newnes and this has never happened in the past.Pretty cheesed off considering we found a top spot
and had planned to make it a regular
camp.The dogs could be" blow ins"
from elsewhere,who knows?Spoke to a fella{Feral animal control}and it sparked his interest.Not sure if it's gone further.
Regards Ian.
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:47
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:47
If you are licenced, you could consider packing some heatand telling nobody! Don't ask me what I do ...................