Generators

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 18:40
ThreadID: 25818 Views:2844 Replies:13 FollowUps:14
Hi all just a quik question am about to buy a genni want to know which is the best way to go a 4 stroke or 2 stroke only buying one of those cheapies but will only be using it on vary rare occasions one of those gmc/scorpian etc rated between 750/1000 watt missed out on the aldi one need one in 3 weeks time Thankyou

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 18:56

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 18:56
Gedday,

I went through this about 12 months ago. I figured that if I only wanted 850 odd watts then I would get the cheapie. If I wanted 2000 odd then I'd get the Honda or similar.

Ended up with the cheapie and it starts every time, runs on the smell of an oily rag and will run me toaster but not me jug. It was from repco and has twelve month warranty. Only thing you need to remember is to turn on the fuel tap. I did after about 20 minutes of cursing the purchase?
AnswerID: 126484

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 19:02

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 19:02
I got the cheapie 900 watts from Bunnings. Had it for just over 12 months and works great, starts every time. It even runs my 1200 watt fan heater but that is at it's limit, would not take a 60 watt globe in addittion to the heater, it cut out automatically. 1 tank of fuel runs it for 18 hours, this can vary depending on loading. It did actually run my engle fridge for just over 24 hrs
AnswerID: 126488

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:03

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:03
Hi there George, was the one you got a 4 stroke or 2 stroke ??? Regards Steve
FollowupID: 381125

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:39

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:39
Hi Steve,
It was a 2 stroke, not as quiet as a 4 stroke but a lot cheaper.
A long lead, 50 metres, and down wind you cannot hear it
FollowupID: 381132

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 09:40

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 09:40
Sorry George, but I beg to differ, you will find if you check the dba figures, unbelievably the 2 stroke is in fact quieter!
FollowupID: 381158

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:24

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:24
The best way by far is to get an inverter type 4 stroke. Very quiet and fuel efficient. I have a cheapy 2 stroke which does the job but if i had the cash i would grab the 4 stoke....you wouldn't even know it was on.
AnswerID: 126507

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:39

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:39
Hi there Brew 69(sa) excuse me for my ignorance on genertors but when you say inverter type is that like the gmc, etc ones or do I need to ask for the inverter type of another brand. Sorry but I know 3 parts of fu@@ all about generators Thanks Steve M Ps I worked out the rig pic shi@@y pic will need to get another one
FollowupID: 381114

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:45

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:45
Sorry Stephen i have re read your post and see u are after a cheap one too. The inverter 4 strokes are about $1400 lol. I have a GMC 2 stoke from bunnings which should do the job in my opinion.
FollowupID: 381115

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:50

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:50
Hi There brew 69, would I better to spend a few more $$$$ and get the 4 stroke dont want to be smeeling 2 stroke fumes and are the 4 strike any quiter??? Thankyou
FollowupID: 381122

Reply By: eerfree - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:04

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:04
Stephan

You can get a Kipor Inverter Generator (Chinese) 1KW this will charge batts and run a laptop for between $600 - $700 on EBAY

eerfree
AnswerID: 126520

Reply By: 4X4Treker - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:29

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:29
Nothing wrong with the cheap one,s the only thing that I would check on from time to time is the output voltage of what ever you buy as a friend of mine brought his to me to check (I'm a Sparky by Trade) and it was over voltage by plenty, a simple adjustmenmt of the speed on the machine fixed the problem, his is a two stroke and he has had no other problems.

Cheer
Treker
AnswerID: 126529

Reply By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:14

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:14
Be carefull with the Bunnings cheapie,voltage can vary, check with engle fridge co think you will find warranty is void if you have a fridge failure if useing $98 genie
Maurie
AnswerID: 126540

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:27

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:27
Hi there Maurice, yes I will be intending to run an engel off it, are these things not regulated to run a permanent 240 volt, amps whatever, you will have to excuse me as I know stuff all about any of these generators, I know you get what you pay for but I cant see the point in spending $1000.00 plus on something that I wont use that much. My other half would kill me if I spend that sort of money on some thing that we will only use a handful of times, but yes I dont want to blow up a $1500.00 engel in the process. Confused which way to go.
FollowupID: 381131

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 15:33

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 15:33
When away, I leave my engle connected to the 2nd battery and use the cheepie generator to charge the battery via a battery charger which is plugged into the generator
FollowupID: 381210

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 23:08

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 23:08
Thanks for all the replies.
AnswerID: 126549

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 09:42

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 09:42
Repco are curerntly advertising Scorpion 'pure sine wave' gennies for $299.00.
AnswerID: 126587

Follow Up By: vitara - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 13:03

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 13:03
Hi there Shaker, are these the way to go ?, I presume that the (pure sine wave) genni is a special form of some sort or is it latest technology. Is this the type that will not be producing more watts/ volts etc so that it wont damage any electrical components EG engel fridge from blowing up. As I said before, you will have to excuse my ignorance on this subject as I know stuff all about them. But all help and comments appreciated. Thankyou. I still havn't chaged my work computer so this will come up as Vitara instead of Steve M. Take Care Steve m
FollowupID: 381193

Reply By: fourplayfull - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 15:38

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 15:38
Same old story - you get what you pay for , trouble is the Yamaha & Honda 1000 w inverter style are around $1500 .
I use the Yamaha , quiter & lighter than the Honda and will deliver 50 cycles right through the power range so safe as for "delicate" appliances .
The auto load sensitive throttle works a treat - will run a 40amp three stage batt. charger at 25 amps on idle or 44amps full throttle . Absolutely the quietest gen set going .
CYA John
AnswerID: 126632

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 23:54

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 23:54
I have a Yanmar 4 stroke which I bought second hand for $500 and it runs my waeco and lights in da camper with no trouble. I have put it on the aux battery for 12V charging and found it didn't work (so I thought) untill I realised the the battery was "terry the roo shooter" (roo ted).

My mate has the Bunnings special (2 stroke), his is quieter, runs a little longer on a tank and ran his engel and flouro's when on Dirk Hartog Island for a week no worries.
AnswerID: 126723

Follow Up By: Lunar - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 10:27

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 10:27
Hi guys,

I too am going through the nightmare of power self sufficiency while camping. I bought a CTC45 Waeco fridge that came with a fridgepower deep cycle battery a cranker (500 watts) for 199$ from Waeco's seconds shop, the fridgeshop.

I was going to get a 4 wheel drive and just use that to recharge as I'd be using it daily but my plans have now changed, and I now realise why it was so cheap, this battery will only run it for about 6 hours as it the fridge is 48 watts and the battery is only 24 A/H (if I have understood my research correctly, a=w/v = 4 amps, so 6 hrs on a 24 a/h battery).

So I need a battery with a greater a/h capacity, I think the fullriver agm 220 a/h will be the go as it means I wont discharge more than 50 percent if I recharge every 24 hours, so this I believe will enhance the battery's life.

I have looked at solar but the cost bad weather factor, and security as I have a paramount camper trailer has ruled that out. So I need a genny, but only want to use it for about 2 hours per day, around dinner time, to heat water for a shower and recharge my battey.

I have had a good look and the 850 watt GMC gennys run at about 60 db so are quiet, have a DC socket that runs at 14 volts to recharge the fullriver battery (the fridgepower will be in car as a cranker/spare/fridge power while driving via lighter socket if I need it), but my problem is I don't know how long I will need to run the genny to fully charge the fullriver battery.

I can get the genny for about 200 bucks on ebay, the battery will be just over 50% depleated (4*24=96 220 less 96=124). I have done the calculation that 850 watts at 14 volts gives approx 60 amps, but does this mean that it will recharge at 60 A/hrs, ie to get 60 amps into the battery it needs to run one hour?

How can you work out how many hours it will take to top up the charge on a battery from a GMC 850 Watt generator I spose is the real question?
FollowupID: 381700

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 13:14

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 13:14
Lunar, I dunno where you are but the GMC 850 gennie costs $98.00 at Bunnings. If you don't live within coooweee of a Bunnings, maybe next time someone does go into town they could get one for you.

Also, I would recommend getting a battery charger to charge your AGM from the gennie. I know the gennie has a 12v charger, but as others on here have suggested (and rightly so) that it may not be regulated properly and may cook your battey.

Also, the only way to find out how long it will take for recharging is to do a test at home !! Run your waeco at home with beer or something in it, running off the AGM battery for a few days, and charge it once a day as you said. After a couple of days you will know how long you will need to run the gennie for, and your holiday will be stress free.
FollowupID: 381713

Reply By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 13:34

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 13:34
Lunar

The Waeco uses 48 watts but only when the compressor is running - over the day it might only be running 1/3rd of the time so consumption would be 4 x 24 / 3 = 32 Amphours (its easier than using watts). This depends greatly ontemperature, what you put in it, extra insulation etc.

You are correct that you should never PLAN to use more than 50% of your batteries capacity before discharging. Most people use 100 Amphour for a fridge if recharging daily.

If you have a 10 Amp charger it wil take 3.5 hours to replace most of this charge. If you have an enormous charger, you can't safely charge a battery in less than 4 hours.

If you are going to buy a battery spend the extar on an AGM - it will charge faster and suffer less if overcharged.
AnswerID: 127184

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 13:38

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 13:38
As Muzzgit says avoid the "Chargers" on the cheap generators - they're hazardous to batteries.

This 12 Amp Charger is the best value around and is very small and efficient being switchmode.
www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MB3612
FollowupID: 381715

Reply By: Lunar - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:02

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:02
That's great guys, thanks heaps, I do have a Bunnings nearby so will rip down and grab one :),

One thing I didn't understand was this Mike

"If you have an enormous charger, you can't safely charge a battery in less than 4 hours. "

But all that info will save me heaps :)

Does anyone have an opinion on battery meters, I've read up and most don't give the correct Voltage under load or when charging, so u need to buy a "smart" meter, but these seem ridiculously expensive?
AnswerID: 127249

Reply By: Lunar - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:12

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 00:12
What I'm saying is if I get a 20amp charger then I should be able to recharge in about 2 hours yeah?
AnswerID: 127250

Follow Up By: Lunar - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 05:17

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 05:17
Hi guys, have done a bit more research and learnt more about the "staging" for recharging so I think I understand that answer now. Fact is I'm not going to get my battery fully charged in 2 hours no matter what I do due to t staging 3 stage chargers shouldn't be used while drawing a load, the switchmode can.

I think the answer will be Solar + generator, I'll grab an 80 Watt Solar panel and reg, hook it up to the 120 AGM (soz that was a typo of 220) run the fridge off that, buy the genny and charger u guys have suggested and that will do the trick. Still run the genny for a coupla hours to initially get the power up and run from the solar panel to furthur top her up during the day.

It also means I can use the panels at home to keep the batteries charged (help maintain them?) and run some lights for the shed and some 12v water pumps for the garden.

Should cost just over a grand but it will mean full self sufficiency for prolonged periods, and I'm not just using them a few times a year.

So once again thanks alot for the advice, and o'course, if I'm doing something REALLY stupid, please YELL, I can handle being told I'm an idiot more than spending a grand on something useless. :)

FollowupID: 381886

Follow Up By: Lunar - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 05:19

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 05:19
hmm hate ya can't edit on this forum :)

that last sentence in the first paragraph should read,

Fact is I'm not going to get my battery fully charged in 2 hours no matter what I do due and the multi-stage chargers shouldn't be used while drawing a load, the switchmode can.
FollowupID: 381887