Bridle Tracj and Camping

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:03
ThreadID: 25825 Views:2889 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
Guys & Girls

My wife and I will be doing a soft trip down the bridle track starting from Hill End through to Bathurst in Nov.

I am aware that there are a number of camping spots along the track but not sure what they are like as we haven't been this way before.

Does anyone know which are the better camping sites away from the general traffic where we could stay for a day or two and explore the area.

Cheers and thanks

Paul T

Reply By: SOX - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:17

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:17
G'day Paul,
My wife and Ifound Mary Flynn Reserve about the best for seclusion.A steep drive in and then opens out so you can choose any spot down the bottom.It's just over the river crossing,leaving Hill End heading toward Bathurst,on your right.You'll seea sign.Heaps of other spots to choose from.Take your pick really,and your own firewood.
Regards Ian.
AnswerID: 126505

Reply By: The Bigfella - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:34

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:34

I live in Eglinton which is not far from the Bridle Track and just out of Bathurst.

Many peolpe say you need a 4WD to do the Bridle Track but if you take care you can get a car thru with no worries. There are plenty of camping spots and I would reccommend any of them. Most have those new eco toilets, but that's it. Take firewood if you want to have a campfire as there is not much about if any.

Could be hot in Nov but knowing our weather around here it could also be bloody cold so you need to cater for all seasons.

As for traffic, I don't think the amount that travels the Bridle Track will worry you.

It is a great part of the world so enjoy.
AnswerID: 126530

Reply By: fatz - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:34

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:34
Paul, as mentioned above Mary flynn is probably about the best to get away from the road. It's not that busy at that time of year. Depending on how adventerous you are, go down the back of Mary flynn reserve, keep right at the fence,near the dunny block, go down to the first track on the right (about 50mts) and follow it along to the water. Nice quiet spots up there.
There are lots of great spots along the entire track.

Mick
AnswerID: 126664