GU Headlight Bulb Replacement
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:15
Member - Algee (NSW)
Has anyone found a easy way to replace the bulbs on the GU Nissan without loosing all the skin of your knuckles. Passenger side is shocking.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:25
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:25
G'day Algee,
I'm just about to have a go at this myself mate. I just bought (off ebay for ONE CENT plus $11.50 postage!!!!) a pair of (supposedly) 130/110 watt blue H4 globes. They arrived today.
I've had a look at the situation with the lights and I reckon on the passenger's side it'll be a case of taking out the air cleaner box. Shouldn't be too big a job, cos the blokes who installed my
snorkel seem to have gone very easy on the use of any sealant around the flange where the housing meets the inner guard. There are 3 or 4 bolts pointing downwards in the wheel
well and if you remove the nuts off them and the 3" tubing on the other side of the housing, the whole thing should just lift out. I'm looking forward to getting it out to see what the condition of the
water trap/breather is like underneath too.
As for the driver's side, I reckon that could be a bit difficult too.....I can get my hand down there but the fitting on the back of the globe feels like it's be welded on!!! lol
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:35
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:35
Roachie I think they have some sort of release thing that locks into the holes in the globe terminals that needs to be released, twas a bugger of a job the twice I have done it, once with blue globes that turned out to be crap no matter how many times I told myself theyre good.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:44
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:44
Thanks for the info Bonz. Sounds like a shyte of a job that I better be sober when I attempt.....will leave til saturday. Looks like I won't be going away this coming weekend (2 of the boys are crook):-(
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:50
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:50
it sure is, when I fitted
mine I also fitted relays seperate to the Nissan ones (if there are any) for the 130w globes, Went down to the wrckers and cut off the headlight plugs from a XD Falcon, made up the rest of the loom, took the pickup from the existing headlight plugs and away I went, worked a treat and easoier to take off and replace than the originals, I wouldnt be too happy with 130 on the orig wiring looms, also have heard tyhat the higher wattage=more heat =headlight lens damage as theyre sposed to be a plastic composite.
Good luck old mate, if you have trouble don't call Muddy. Call me.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 02:09
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 02:09
Aw! s h i t BONZ , now you have gone and done it.
MORE HEAT to Roachies GU, the whole contraption will go into meltdown.
Just see it now, a glowing, vapourising lump, half way up a hummock that could be seen as far away as Blythe and Port Vincent.
Should be a good
forum story with the 'aussiechefs' son attending with the CFA/SES to attempt to extinguish/save 'pootrol'. Bet they just stand back and pee on it.
I should imagine that this will be the 'straw' that tips you over the edge Roachie that will drag you 'screaming' to MTQ for the one and only thing that is going to fix your O/heating problem.
Ok! I'll stop now. (much ROFLMAO)
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:10
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:10
What can I say Lucy??? Jealousy is a curse.......We all know you're a closet GU supporter...hahaha
I'll send you some photos of when it's goin' up in smoke.....better make sure my insurance policy is spot-on (agreed value of $150,000-)
Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:00
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:00
G'Day Algee and Roachie,
Have changed globes 5 times on my GU, (trying to find best compromise).
I have the 2.8 TD so it may be a bit different from yours.
On the drivers side just take it slowly, pull plug from rear of globe, turn dust seal and remove this and the rubber seal. Lower them slowly so they don't fall too far. Push two loops of wire together and open spring clip. Be very careful doing this as I have already broken one of the mounts on the passenger side loosing my cool. Carefully replace globe, you will need to hold the globe in place while replacing the spring clip, then a reverse of above.
If you have small hands, (a job for one of the rug rats Roachie??), you can replace the globe without removing the air box, (on the 2.8 at least), on the passenger side using the same method, however unbolting the three locating bolts in the wheel
well and lifting/pushing the box back slightly makes things much easier.
I still have some skin missing on one hand trying to get the globe in on the passenger side. Don't try it in a hurry as I mentioned once before, (especially at 10.30p.m. in a McDonald's car
park when one of the 90/130W globes blew)
Hope this helps. If I can be of more assistance just ask
Rolande
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:38
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:38
Why don't you just ask 'he' who dux'd his class at the college of anything and everything, the one and only - BONZ.
I know absolutely 100% that he knows how to do this , in particular the NISSAN approved method and the BONZ method.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:33
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:33
hahahaha I have done
mine twice, its a crap job
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:53
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:53
wonder if I can use my reciprocating saw or air chisel next time to make that job a tad easier
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:07
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:07
Ken,
Do you mean like the method he used to alter the outer size of his new battery? lolol
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:31
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:31
Pay Nissan, theyre a bastard of a thing to do, I have done
mine twice, lost lots of skin off the back of both right and left hands and also the cup didnt
seat right the secind time and dust got in, a crap design to be sure to be sure
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:05
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:05
Bonz,
Sounds like a job I might do when wearing my rigger's gloves!! hahaha
:-)
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:12
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:12
there isnt room mate, just tape them up with insulation tape and dont swear
Reply By: Tim (vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:16
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:16
Do these globes make a big difference and if they do what are a good type to get without having to upgrade any wiring
Tim
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:03
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:03
Tim
Go for the Philips blue or ultra white jobbies... about $50 from Autobarn etc.
Damn good light for the same power draw. Happy I made the choice.
Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:10
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:10
Absolutely correct again Rosco.
Best globes in same wattage Phillips +50%
Much whiter light, more depth, better spread.
Only thing to improve after this is a set of spotties
Rolande
Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 21:29
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 21:29
OK you experts, What is the wattage of the standard globes, I know now which ones to buy but not the size.
Pooley
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:11
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:11
As far as I know there's not much variation. Haven't looked up the specs but 65/45 ?? or something similar.
Easiest way ... check your handbook.
Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 07:37
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 07:37
60/55W I believe for standard, although I am using 100/90W at the moment in a "blue" globe - hard to beat in wet weather but no good in the dry, use the spotties to help then.
Rolande
Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 23:24
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 23:24
Did
mine a few months back. It's only a bugger if you're in a hurry. Take your time, have a good look to see the lugs you need to squeez with ur fingers and pull / wiggle gently.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:39
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:39
Hey muzzgit - I guess a lot of these guys are like me.....never could pull/wiggle gently LOL.